June 2013 in Review

I watch a lot more videos than I can write full reviews for, so here are the videos from June that I watched but didn’t have time to review.  At the end of each video are my different categories and the five point score I gave each one.

This seemed to be the month for girl groups because it felt like most of the videos I watched were by a female artist which is a change from my male-dominated K-pop videos.  As usual though, I wasn’t impressed by most of them.  It’s not that I have anything against girls; it’s just that more often than not, female artists seem to focus more on being seductive than actually telling a story or producing a really cool dance, which is what I look for in music videos.  There are only four music videos this month that I watched and didn’t have time to review, and they are by BTS (Bangtan Boys), Kye Bum Joo (video featuring Aron from Nu’est!), SunnyHill, and 4Minute.

BTS “No More Dream”

nomoredream(Note: I didn’t really like this video the first time watching it, but after watching it again with the English subtitles, my opinion completely changed.  When you know the lyrics, a lot of the sets and dance makes so much sense and the lyrics themselves are really powerful, so much so that I’m thinking about writing an entire blog post just on this song and the lyrics.)

  • Song: 3.9/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Kye Bum Joo “The Ceiling” (with Aron from Nu’est)

theceiling

  • Song: 1.5/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5

Overall Final Score: 3/5

SunnyHill “Darling of All Hearts”

darlingofallhearts

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 2/5
  • Cinematography: 2.5/5
  • Dance: 2/5

Overall Final Score: 2.5/5

4Minute “Is It Poppin’?”

BN2O5VYCUAANtWV.jpg large

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 2.5/5

Overall Final Score: 3.3/5

Looking back, I’m realizing that this seemed to be the month of misunderstandings.  For BTS, Kye Bum Joo, and SunnyHill, I didn’t understand their videos at all, but after watching it with the English subtitles, they made so much more sense.  I guess I should start watching the subtitled versions before reviewing these videos, but I don’t like to use subtitles at least during my first watch because they can be very distracting.

I have to say though, I absolutely LOVE BTS’s video now that I know what the lyrics mean.  For the first time ever, I really felt like they were speaking to me with their video and song.  I really recommend watching “No More Dream” with the subtitles.

So, what did you think of June’s videos? Agree or disagree with any of my opinions? What do you think of this new group, BTS?  I’m already starting to love them.

What are your thoughts?