#AtoZChallenge Day 3: Creepy Songs

C is for Creepy

C

I have a thing for creepy songs. This has stemmed from way before K-pop entered my life. I have always liked the villain songs in Disney movies. Some of my favorite songs are by Linkin Park and Disturbed.  There is something about songs that sound on the brink of insanity that intrigue me.

My sister has noticed this in me for a while, but I hadn’t really realized the extent to which I am drawn to this sound until the recent release of the song Heathens but Twenty One Pilots. Listen. In my seven years of being into K-pop, I have never heard a song that I love more than this. It incorporates everything about that creepy sound that I just eat up.

So, in homage to this creepy, addicting sound, I am here to share with you my favorite “creepy” songs in K-pop.

T-Ara – “Day by Day”

The eerie music. The whisper-singing. I feel like I’m listening to a coven of witches.

KNK – “Knock”

The chorus of this song is so powerful and aggressive, but in a chanting way. The lyrics sound like boulders crashing into each other.

Fiestar – “Apple Pie”

I listen to this song almost purely for the manic laugh after each chorus.

History – “Queen”

Who knew that a saxophone could sound creepy?

Narsha – “Bbi Ri Bba Bba”

One of the first K-pop songs I ever downloaded. I love every moment of this song.

Seo Tae Ji – “Christmalo.win”

Seo Tae Ji is the definition of underappreciated. This song was literally the highlight of 2014.

Song Ji Eun – “Bobby Doll”

A human-size Barbie doll mocking her master? YES PLEASE.

BIGFLO – “Obliviate”

I swear, these puppet vs. master concepts never go wrong. I wish more people knew BIGFLO to give this song a chance.

IU – “Glasses”

This one actually sounds like the female villain taking us along her journey to infamy.

VIXX – “What U Waiting For”

The mix of aggressive machinery sounds followed by Ken’s delicate lines gives me chills.

Honestly, I could compile an entire list of just VIXX songs. On and On. Desperate. Fantasy. Voodoo Doll. Memory. I could go on and on. This sound is part of why VIXX became one of my favorite artists.


So update for my regulars: Yes, the month for Blogging from A to Z is over; however, I had such exciting ideas that I didn’t get to post, so I will be spending the next few weeks going back and posting the themes that I missed in April. 🙂


Question of the Day:

What are your favorite creepy songs?

Seriously. I can’t get enough.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “#AtoZChallenge Day 3: Creepy Songs


  1. https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsHigh five! I love songs that give me creeps, it’s an awesome feeling. Another high five for being a fellow Linkin Park fan. 😏
    Have you heard ‘Eyes on Fire’ by Blue Foundation? It’s my absolute favourite creepy song. And if you’d like, listen to ‘Hide and Seek’, which is an English cover of a Japanese song by the YouTube singer, ‘Nucl3arw3ss3l’ (whose real name is Lizz Robinett). It’s a cool mix of creepy anime and Halloweenesque music. 👻

    Like

What are your thoughts?

