School, SuJu, and Sarg. (Personal Update #9)

I haven’t properly updated you all on what is going on in my life lately, and it’s about time I did. I write about new music videos and occasionally things that are going on in the K-pop news world, but rarely do I get a chance to tell you about what is going on in my K-pop life. This post isn’t about any one thing in particular, but if you’re interested in knowing what I’ve been up to, keep on reading. 🙂

My current obsessions in the K-pop world: VIXX, BTS, and Super Junior. VIXX and Suju are a given of course, but lately I can’t stop watching and listening to BTS. Their music just keeps getting better and better, and their newest Wings album simply took my breath away. I lost count of how many times I’ve played Blood, Sweat & Tears. It’s so good.

cvfe-kyw8ai8vqmVIXX is coming back next week with their final installment of the Conception series, and I can barely contain myself. I am so excited for this comeback, more excited than I have ever been for a VIXX comeback. This is the culmination of all of their music videos from 2016, and this one looks like it’s going to be focused on Ken. You can bet I will be fangirling all over the place in a couple of weeks. You have been warned.

Now for Super Junior. My loves. They have always been my favorite group, but lately I rediscovered just how much I love them and just how amazing of a group they are. I always feel like I need to remind everyone that even though I gush about so many K-pop groups on this blog, nothing and no one has topped my love for Super Junior.

Within the same couple of weeks, Ryeowook enlisted and Leeteuk held his final broadcast of Sukira. Both events had me in tears for days. I can’t believe we said our 12th goodbye to a Super Junior member. And I cannot believe Sukira has come to an end. Sukira was a huge part of how I learned about Super Junior back in the fetus days.

In addition to the feels of saying goodbye and the excitement of rediscovering their music, a new face has joined the Super Junior fandom that is getting everyone excited: Sarg Barz.

In the above video, he discovered Super Junior for the first time and instantly fell in love (with Kyuhyun in particular 😛 ). Since then, he has reacted to almost all of Super Junior’s music videos, a bunch of their live performances, and some of their songs as well. As an ELF, it has been so much fun watching someone fall into the same rabbit hole we all fell into. We haven’t had a Super Junior comeback in over a year. Sarg made being an ELF exciting again.

To make things even more unbelievable, Sarg actually reacted to one of my videos. And not just one video. Three.

Excuse the baby mask in that last one. It was a Halloween thing. The last video is actually my favorite because Sarg not only reacted to the video, but in the end he actually complimented how I put it together and FREAKING SUBSCRIBED TO ME. GUYS.

Definitely one of the most exciting moments of my internet life! I hadn’t posted anything on my channel in a while, but this made me all motivated to start making lyrics videos again.

When those videos will be made, I don’t know. This actually brings me to my last point of this post:

You may have noticed the lack of content on this blog as of late. If you’ve been with me since the beginning, you’ll notice that in 2016 I have been way less active than I was in the past. The reason for the change has nothing to do with my lack of interest in K-pop. Trust me, if anything I have become even more entrenched in the black hole of K-pop than ever before.

The reason for my lack of activity is pretty much because of school. In December of 2015 I graduated from college. Yay! Immediately afterwards I started working full time. Then just a couple of months ago, I quit my job and started graduate school, and that has taken up almost all of my time since then.

You won’t believe how intense grad school is. “Take care of yourself and keep reading.” Those were the words of advice my professor gave us the other day and that is literally all I’ve been doing for the past month and a half. Reading. Sleeping. Eating.

That is why my monthly review posts are posted so late and why my “K-pop Catch-Up” posts have disappeared completely. I have so little time nowadays to update this blog.

Now this isn’t some farewell post. I’m going to keep blogging. I love this blog. Every single day I think of new things I want to share with you all on here. While my posts may be sporadic and less frequent, you can bet that I am going to keep holding onto this blog for as long as I can.

That’s all I have for now. I am going to try to get my October in Review post up sooner rather than later. After that it’s time to get excited for VIXX!!!


Question of the Day:

Is there a type of post you particular enjoy seeing on this blog? My full  music video reviews? Month in Review? K-pop Catch-Up? Random K-pop thoughts?


#NowPlaying: Lie by Jimin of BTS. This song embodies my absolute favorite type of music. It’s unique for BTS, but it’s right up my alley and I just can’t get enough.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

 

3 thoughts on “School, SuJu, and Sarg. (Personal Update #9)

  1. Safiyyah! Long time no see. I was really missing your posts!
    Thanks for updating us about your personal life. I had a feeling you’d be busy with work or studies. 😅
    Also, I too am addicted to BTS’ Wings album. I just keep listening to ‘Blood, Sweat & Tears’ on loop. Can’t get enough of the dreamy pre-hook vocals~
    I’m so proud of them for reaching #26 on the Billboard 200, as well as breaking so many k-pop records. 😃 I hope and wish that their success continues. I hope they keep enjoying what they’re doing and take good care of themselves. ❤️
    And in response to your ‘Question of the Day’, the posts I like to read of this blog are your full-length MV reviews, track-by-track album reviews, month in review summaries, and even k-pop catch up! Specifically, I really am looking forward to you writing a track-by-track album review of Wings and a full MV review of ‘Blood, Sweat & Tears’, if I’m not asking too much. 😁🙏🏻 It’s just that I enjoy your posts so much, and being a fellow ARMY, I’d like to know your opinion of their epic comeback. 😄
    Thanks for updating us and hope to see you back here soon! 👋🏻😊

    P.S. Jimin really slayed in the MV, man. I couldn’t keep my eyes off him. 😍

    Like

    1. Umaima your comments always make my day ^.^ Thank you so much for answering the question! It’s always so helpful to get feedback. A Wings review sounds like a really great idea! I’ll do my best to put something like that together. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to do a full review of “Blood Sweat & Tears.” Half of the reason is because I don’t have the time to really give it justice, but the other half is because I honestly can’t fully explain the story. It’s so abstract and complicated. But I will include it in my “October in Review” post! (For me, J-Hope totally stole the show)

      Like

      1. Alright, I look forward to your ‘October in Review’ post. ^^
        I agree 100% – J-Hope, as well as Jimin, shined the most in Blood, Sweat & Tears. Their charisma and energy was amazing. I’m happy that J-Hope in particular got a lot of lines as well as screen time. 😃

        Like

What are your thoughts?

