#AtoZChallenge Day 25: Yeeun (HA:TFELT)

Y is for Yeeun

Y

Yeeun, aka HA:TFELT, is a soloist you all should know. She is normally a member of Wonder Girls, but two years ago she released a solo album that I feel is one of the best album releases in K-pop.

A couple of months ago, I was looking for some new music to get into and I decided to give HA:TFELT a try. I had heard her song, Wherever Together, a couple of years ago and remembered liking it, so I decided to give the rest of the album a try.

And I am so glad I did. Yeeun’s ME? album is going down as one of my favorite albums of all time. For the rest of this post, I will share my personal favorites from the album.

Iron Girl

This is my favorite track on the album. The refrain of “I am Iron Girl” is so meaningful. Everything about this song is full of life and determination, and you can’t help but feel strong yourself after listening to it. The pace of the song is on the slower side, but the style of singing and mysterious instrumental gives this song an energy that makes the message of the song so impactful.

Ain’t Nobody

Talk about a good instrumental. Whereas normally the instrumental is meant to be complementary to the vocals, this song very flawlessly showcases both instrumental and vocal as equally important. The song is perfect for dancing, quietly listening to with headphones, or passionately headbanging to.

Wherever Together

Yes, this was the song that first drew me to Yeeun. It is one of the more unique ones on the album. The lyrics combined with the light and energetic instrumental will take you on such a ride. I was surprised to hear most of the song be in English. I feel this is the song that could be the most popular outside of the K-pop audience.

Peter Pan

Peter Pan is such a pretty song. Here, Yeeun shows off her beautiful vocals. You know I’m not one for ballads, but I can’t help but be captivated by this one. Put on some headphones, close your eyes, play this song, and you will so peacefully fall into Yeeun’s world.


I find it hard to believe that Yeeun is not fluent in English. There is a lot of English on this album, and she pronounces it all perfectly. I haven’t been able to find any information anywhere that says Yeeun was raised anywhere except Korea, which is especially impressive.

These were just my favorites on the album, but I really recommend checking out the whole thing. Every single song is so amazing.


Question of the Day:

Any other fans of Yeeun? What else should I check out by her?


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

