4Minute “Hate” Music Video Review

4Minute is finally turning around. šŸ™‚

Song

Let’s start with what we can all agree on: there is some beautiful singing in this song. For once, Cube finally utilized Jihyun’s voice. Her parts sound so pretty.

Now for the controversial chorus: I kind of love it. It’s edgy, it’s intense, and it’s catchy. It takes you by surprise. I admit, the first time I heard it, I found the instrument choice odd, but by the end of the song, I can’t get enough of the beat drop.

The main problem is that it just does not fit in with the rest of the song. The chorus sounds amazing, and the rest of the song sounds amazing, but they sound like two different songs. The chorus has this rawness and anger while the rest of the song is pretty and somber. They attempt to bring it together in the end by having the chorus beat behind Hyuna’s rap, but besides that there needs to be more incorporation of the two sounds.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

hatethumbThe cinematography for this video is nearly perfect. The whole thing is very clean and polished. There are a lot of scene changes, but with the coordinated colors, it all works. There is an emphasis on red, which reflects anger in the dance scenes, but appropriately reflects formality and sophistication in the softer scenes. hate1

It is a very nice touch to give each member her own scene and character. Even if there isn’t a solid plot, it is still clear that each character has her own independent struggles and reasons to hate. Gayoon’s story is my personal favorite. It reflects beauty and sadness so well, in a way that is rare to see in a K-pop video.

I am not giving this a perfect score, because while each scene reflects its part of the song perfectly, due to the song’s unusualness, the different parts of the video do not really go with each other.

Score: 4.5/5

Wardrobe

hate3All around, the outfits in this video match their respective sets and scenes perfectly. The dance scene outfits are so cute. The girls definitely look tough, but the hair and simpleness of the outfits keep that pretty and cute image there. It takes some of the edge off of the outfits from Crazy and reminds everyone that 4Minute is still a girl group just like everyone else. hate2In my opinion Sohyun suits this concept the best.

There is one single outfit that I am not a fan of, and I hate to say that it is my bias Jiyoon. There is a fine line between classy and trashy, and unfortunately her solo shot borders into trashy.

Score: 4.9/5

Dance

The dance suits the song very well. The girls show off their toughness and realness in an intimidating chorus. hate7All of Sohyun’s parts are also done well. However, I feel that this video lacked anything really special. A lot of the choreography seems pretty monotonous. The ending chorus is done well, with lots of hand movements involved, and I wish that the rest of the choreography could have been as interesting.

Score: 3.5/5

Overall, this is a pretty good comeback. Yes, the beat drop does take one for a surprise, but if you can get over that, this is one of 4Minute’s better music videos. It definitely restores my faith in them as a group. They used to be one of my favorite girl groups, but 2011-2014 were not good years for them. Just when I started giving up on them, they caught my attention again with Crazy, and now solidified my interest again with this video. This is really starting to change my mind about them and I am so happy! My girls are coming back!

Overall Final Score: 4.2/5


Question of the Day:

What has been your favorite 4Minute comeback so far?


#NowPlaying: Play by Jolin Tsai. She is not a K-pop singer, but she totally stole the show at the this past year’s MAMAs. She is such a fierce performer, and I wish South Korea had a female soloist like her.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “4Minute “Hate” Music Video Review

  1. “The main problem is that it just does not fit in with the rest of the song. The chorus sounds amazing, and the rest of the song sounds amazing, but they sound like two different songs. The chorus has this rawness and anger while the rest of the song is pretty and somber. They attempt to bring it together in the end by having the chorus beat behind Hyuna’s rap, but besides that there needs to be more incorporation of the two sounds.”

    I totally agree! When the song started, their singing was just beautiful and I wanted it to go on. But then the loud and pompous chorus began, and I was like “Um, wait what?” It totally ruined the delicateness of the first part of the song. They really do sound like two different songs, two different genres. Could’ve been better off as separate, but whatever. After I was done listening, I couldn’t help but go back to Crazy and enjoy it. It’s just a better-flowing song comparatively.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

