RP “Dangerous” Music Video Review

Better late than never, right?

I was so close to writing a fangirl post about this video. Literally out of nowhere I’ve become a huge fan of RP and I was majorly fangirling for this video.

I don’t care what you tell me about CN Blue and FT Island: No K-pop group rocks out more than RP:

Song

Moon has such a good voice. I cannot stress this enough. He can carry a tune so nicely, and it sounds effortless. This song is very hardcore, and he pulls it off very well. I really like how the filter behind the voices changes throughout the song (is “filter” the right word for that?). It makes the song interesting and gives it life. They all get very into rocking out at the end, which does get a little messy in my opinion, but I can appreciate the passion.

Score: 3.5/5

Cinematography

rpdangerous1Amid images of the members of RP rocking out like their lives depend on it, we see each of them acting like rebels: shaving their head, getting a tattoo, and splatter-painting shirts. It is an interesting concept, and by having the different scenes jump from one to another so quickly, it is easy to get wrapped up in their world. Even though the whole video appears to take place in only two rooms, nothing about this is boring. Only four members, two rooms, and no dance or story? rpdangerous3It takes skill to make that interesting from beginning to end, but RP manages to do it pretty well.

All of the scenes of the members fooling around in front of the camera are my favorite part in all of this. Moon and Exsy both work the camera particularly well in this video. I also really like the room they paint. The mural on the wall is just so cool.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

rpdangerous2

rpdangerous6They all look like rock stars. Simple as that. Black. Leather. Ripped jeans. They have the look perfected and they definitely work it.

The hair game is on point in this video. Exsy and Enik fit the concept perfectly with the mohawk-spiked hair. They said in an interview that Enik styles his hair himself, which is just mind-blowing to me.

Score: 5/5

Overall, despite its simplicity, this is one entertaining video. The energy and excitement RP has when performing this song definitely comes out to the audience. I am really happy RP decided to promote another song from their 3.3 album. It doesn’t beat Run Away, but I didn’t expect it too. Run Away is definitely going down as one of my favorite music videos of all time. Dangerous was a decent follow-up though.

Overall Final Score: 4.2/5

Poor Moon. He was my bias for like a week, but then I discovered Enik and it all went downhill from there. I so badly want Enik to be a permanent member of the group. I am really glad he was included in this music video. He does make a tiny appearance in Run Away, but got very clear screen-time in Dangerous, which made me happy. 🙂 Seriously guys, don’t ignore his talent.


Question of the Day:

This hardcore rock sound is rare to find in K-pop. Does anyone have any recommendations of other songs that sound like this? I NEED MORE.


#NowPlaying: VIXX’s Chained Up, remixed by Areia Creations. They made a whole new song with this remix, and it is so good. If you are all ever looking for quality remixes, check out Areia Creations. I love literally every single remix they release.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

2 thoughts on “RP “Dangerous” Music Video Review

  1. Oh god, I love Royal Pirates. Sometimes they take me back to the days when I only listened to JRock. I still occasionally listen to some jrock here and there but kpop has definitely taken over the majority of my music library. But as for songs with a similar nature, have you listened to any Day6 music? I feel like they have a similar style and sound and their single ‘Congratulations’ is definitely in my top 5 songs of 2015.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

