January 2016 in Review

If the beginning of 2016 flew past you as fast as it did for me, have no fear! I am here with my top 10 music video pics from January along with mini reviews.

Let’s get started.

Dalshabet “Someone Like U”

january2016dalshabet

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

A fun video for a fun song! When the ladies of Dalshabet find out that they are all dating the same guy, they work together to build their strength to pull off the ultimate scare. The song has a fun feel with some impressively catchy raps. I really love the wardrobe in all of this, the dance scenes showing off the ladies’ cool factor and the prom dresses that scream elegance and female power. Sidenote: Is no one going to comment on the fact that no school in the world would allow five girls on the property with those giant guns ?!

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

Park Yu Chun “How Much Do You Have In Your Wallet?”

januaryyoochun

  • Song: 3/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

Someone please teach this poor guy how to tie his shoes! Yu Chun really impressed me with how beautifully he sang this song. That being said, it is not the most exciting of songs. The story on the other hand is so heartwarming and unique. We follow a construction worker, who clearly appears to be struggling with money, demonstrated as such by the way he totally indulges when his friends offer to buy him a meal. The video ends with a sweet moment in which a dumpling stand owner offers the man free dumplings after seeing the little amount of money the man has in his wallet. Random acts of kindness make the world go round, and this video is such a sweet reminder of that.

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

Teen Top “Warning Sign”

januaryteentop

  • Song: 3.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

I am so torn when it comes to this video. Some parts of it are beautiful, but others simply lack the skill I know Teen Top has. The song and dance are just the same old tunes and moves that we have seen over and over again. Teen Top is known for having catchy songs and complex dances, and this both fall short of that reputation. As for the video – again I am torn. The colors and various props and images are so classy and chic. I would give the cinematography a perfect score if it weren’t for one thing: all of those scenes with the girl.

Let me go into a small rant for a second: One of my biggest pet peeves is when a video has numerous shots of a man and woman simply gazing at each other or subtly embracing. What emotion is that supposed to invoke? Where is the plot. There is sexual tension – alright – but how did it get to that point? What led up to that to make me root for the success of their relationship? From where I stand, these types of scenes seem only to invoke lust and desire over and real emotion, and I don’t need two emotionless individuals on a screen to bring that out in me.

(I don’t mean any negativity to Teen Top in particular. Countless other artists do this, and it’s really a problem I have with the industry as a whole.)

On the positive side: Changjo has officially become the bias-wrecker. He is working everything so well in this video, including that surprise nose piercing.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Cross Gene “Noona, You”

januarycrossgene

  • Song: 2/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 3.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 1.9/5

Ah, this song is such an anthem, and there is definitely value to that. However, I find that most of this song sounds more like simply shouting than actual singing. There are a lot of different sounds in this song, and I would have liked to see it more unified and together. The video is just…ridiculous, but I suspect that is exactly what they were going for. Cross Gene goes on a mission to save the girl who has been kidnapped, and as they spend the entire video going through all of these outrageous obstacles, she gets fed up and frees herself. The video ends with the silly scene of the girl scolding not only Cross Gene, but the guys who kidnapped her as well for wasting her time. It is funny, but at times the ridiculousness just got to be too much and I found myself relating to the girl, wondering what the actual point of all of this was.

Overall Final Score: 3/5

Crush “Don’t Forget” (ft. Taeyeon)

januarycrush

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

The song is simple and there is no plot to the story, but I can’t help but find this video mesmerizing. The producers picked some really nice spots to film this. The colors are so pretty and the scenery is just beautiful. I truly good video is one that will make the viewer come back to watch it again, and I don’t know that I would do that for this video, but they are almost there. If they had just picked up the pace a little bit or had Crush actually do something in all of the locations instead of simply walk through them, then the video would have been much more appealing.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Zico “I Am You, You Are Me”

january2015zico1

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

This song makes me suddenly want to see a collaboration between Zico and IU. It reminds me a lot of Twenty-Three. Zico’s singing voice is actually very mellow and sweet in this. Surprisingly, I find the rap parts to be the weakest parts of the song. However, the video completely makes up for that. This drug store cashier notices the similarities between herself and Zico, and after a few days of wondering if he notices as well, he reveals that he has been fully aware of their similarities. Their identical appearances reflect their interest in each other, and by the end of the video, the two of them nearly become mirror images of each other, indicating that they are now a couple. It is a really cute and unique way to portray the story of a budding relationship, and the wardrobe is used quite perfectly to do so. The concept of mirror-images is so evident without the cliche use of an actual mirror. Very nicely done, Zico.

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5

GFRIEND “Rough”

januarygfriend

  • Song: 3/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.9/5
  • Dance: 4.9/5

Wow, these girls look young. Something about this song gives me such a nostalgic feel of older K-pop, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. The instrumental is fun, but nothing else in the vocals particularly stand out for me. I have some trouble following the story considering a huge portion of it involves written notes in Korean, but from what I gather, the girls of GFRIEND are all lost, and find each other through the decoding of different notes. The real highlight of this video is the dance. Amazing. Honestly, even if it is not the most exciting of songs, this is one of the best girl group dances I have ever seen. It goes along with the beat perfectly and uses the number of members so well. As a first impression, GFRIEND definitely impressed me.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

Jung In “UUU”

januaryjungin

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

I’m still not totally sure who Jung In is, but I had to include this video simply because it is too cute. The video follows a couple through their highs and lows, and really captures the struggle of moving on. The most notable part is how natural the acting is. The scenes and concepts chosen to be included are not the same old romantically gazing into each other’s eyes and taking couple pictures. They do normal things, like washing the dishes or waking up together, like actual real couples. On the technical side, the colors and filters should have been more consistent, but aside from that this is a pretty strong song and video.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

Yezi “Cider”

januaryyezi

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

I have a thing for female rappers who just kill it, and Yezi kills it in this. The song is so catchy, and the video showcases what we all love about female rappers. Yezi spends the video strutting around, rebelling against all who try to control her. It makes frequent references to Unpretty Rapstar and the entertainment business as whole, showing that he is not going to let any entertainment demands hold her back from doing what she wants. I like the idea, but there is one part of this that I can’t stand for: the way she treats her staff. She can have whatever grudges she wants against producers and CEOs, but makeup artists and video directors do so much of the really hard work, and at times in this video Yezi is just plain rude to them. Of all the people to rebel against, her staff shouldn’t be it.

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

Winner “Sentimental”

januarywinner

  • Song: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

Of WINNER’s three January comebacks, this one was my personal favorite. It is cute, quirky, and overall very well-made. The bird’s eye view is such an interesting way to film the video, and combined with the fun sets and all of the bright colors, this video is just a joy to watch. WINNER clearly has their own musical style, and while I may prefer that of iKON, I am very relieved to see a difference between the two groups. Considering that they were both on the same survival show, I was afraid that they would just be two versions of the same group, but they are not. WINNER has a style, and it is perfect for those who are into that.

I just have one request: Mino, please don’t ever have this hair again.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

That’s it for January. There are a couple of comebacks that I have been saving for full reviews, and you should hopefully see that within the next week or so.


Question of the Day:

Thoughts on any of these comebacks?


#NowPlaying: B.B.B by Dalshabet. The only other Dalshabet MV I ever reviewed! I absolutely loved this song when it first came out. I didn’t even know two members left the group! I think one of them was my favorite member in this video. :/


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

