Can’t Miss Songs and Dances of 2015

If you haven’t really kept up with K-pop this year, fear not! Here is a list of the Must-Listen-To Songs and Must-Watch Dances of 2015.

Now that you know where I stand on the best music videos of the year, it’s time to get to the heart of K-pop: the songs and dances.

It’s always a shame to find an amazing song that has a…well, terrible music video. It’s even more of a shame when a song actually has an amazing dance, but no one will watch it because the artist is not very popular. I’m here to fix that!

Let’s start with the songs. THIS was the year I’ve been waiting for to redeem K-pop. There were some hits, and I mean hits that came out this year. I actually agonized a little bit when choosing songs to cut out to keep the list from being too long – something I had never had to do on this blog.

The first five are in order, starting with “Flower” as my favorite. After that I put the rest in alphabetical order. Here is the playlist, and below I have the songs listed out:

  1. XIA – Flower
  2. Jimin Park – Hopeless Love
  3. EXO – Sing For You
  4. Kim Dong Wan – Du Du Du
  5. INFINITE – Bad

What really makes K-pop different from mainstream Western music is the dances. In K-pop, simply singing doesn’t cut it. To be a real success in K-pop is to be able to perform truly amazing dances. I also had a hard time narrowing this list down. It’s not that we had a bunch of amazing dances – though there were a couple that surprisingly blew me away – but rather there were so many dances just below amazing that were hard to rate as better or worse than each other. VIXX’s Chained Up for example didn’t make the cut, but the difference in quality between that and some of the videos I did choose to include are so small.

Most unique this year compared to the past two is the number of girl group dances on this list. Girl groups tend to rarely impress me in choreography, resulting in my dance lists being male-dominated, however several girl groups really stepped it up this year. SM girls in particular delivered many really good dances this year.

Same as with the songs, I’ll have my top five favorites first, and then the rest in alphabetical order:

  1. UP10TION – So Dangerous
  2. XIA – Flower
  3. Romeo – Target
  4. Girls’ Generation – Catch Me If You Can 
  5. A6P – Face Off

Note: Ailee herself is not actually featured in the dance practice video, however that was simply due to her leg injury. She dances in the music video, so it is fair game in this list. Her backup dancers do an amazing job, and I am sure that if it weren’t for the injury, Ailee would have completed the dance and made it one of the best of the year.

So, goodbye 2015! It has been quite a ride and I look forward to what 2016 has in store for us. The scene is definitely changing in what music and choreography styles are considered popular, so it will be interesting to see how the industry adapts to these changes within the next couple of years.


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What were your top 5 songs of 2015?


#NowPlaying: Anthem by iKON. I wasn’t a fan when it first came out, but the more I listen to it, the more it is growing on me. iKON’s Welcome Back album is actually pretty good. It is hard to find one song that I like most, but this is definitely the one I am most interested in at the moment. Dumb and Dumber was also a contender for my Best of 2015 list above.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

