10 Years with Super Junior

Remember in my Magic fangirl post when I didn’t know the meaning of the numbers coming out of Yesung’s ear? Well, I finally figured it out.

01X-2005-116X = Their first ever performance (01) was in 2005 on the day of November 6th (116).

Ten years. Ten years Super Junior has been producing music and spreading K-pop.

An entire decade.

Ten years is a long time to be doing anything, and the fact that the members of Super Junior have been performing, and incredibly successfully at that, for that long among all of the other things they have done, is a pretty big deal.

And yet it seems like no one really cared last year.

Sadly, including me.

As I have mentioned multiple times recently, this past year has been the one of the busiest and toughest years of my life. I had so many plans for this blog, so much that I wanted to do for Super Junior’s 10th anniversary, but unfortunately, real life got in the way. Literally on the day of their anniversary I had some sort of exam or paper due, and in the midst of running around my university, I went on Twitter and saw a few people posting about SJ’s big day and realized with horror that I totally forgot. I quickly posted a little tweet with the hashtag – which to my dismay was barely even trending – and then had to forget about Super Junior and finish the rest of my day. By the time I finally had some free time, it was embarrassingly too late to post anything.

Heck, it’s still embarrassingly late, but I can’t let this time go by without celebrating. And fun fact: This is my 300th post on this blog. I had to make it about my ultimate bias group.

I spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out how to put this post together. Do I start from Super Junior’s debut and go chronologically? Do I focus on my own journey as an ELF? Do I simply paint a portrait of each member?

I have settled on a list of my personal favorite performances by Super Junior. While they are so much more than what is performed at music shows, they are one of the most popular singing groups in history and should be acknowledged at least for that. I kid you not when I say that I was debating between over thirty videos to include, but I now narrowed it down to their top 15 performances.

The performances I selected cover all that is Super Junior: fun, passionate, silly, meaningful, and memorable. If you don’t have time to watch all 15 videos and want to skip around, I’ll include the type of performance after each title.

Sorry Sorry | Premium Live in Japan | 090927

(Meaningful)

Let’s start with the basics. This is the song and dance that made them big, and it’s no question why.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Boom Boom | Inkigayo | 100516

(Memorable)

This is one of my all time favorite Super Junior songs and dances. It was when they were performing this song that I realized that this like of Super Junior was not a phase. I was officially a fan. This is also when Eunhyuk became one of my biases.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Evanesce | Inkigayo | 141026

(Passionate)

While Super Junior is known for these dance-focused performances, when it’s time to get serious, they can deliver beautifully composed and passionate vocal performances. This performance is simply beautiful. No words are needed. The dance at the end remains one of my personal favorite Super Junior moments in history.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Kangin, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Gee | Super Show 2 in Seoul | 090717

(Silly)

Of course, we can’t talk about Super Junior’s history without a little bit of cross-dressing. In this performances, the members of Super Junior recreate Gee, the most popular single from their sister group, Girls’ Generation.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Kangin, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

A Man in Love | Premium Live in Japan | 090927

(Fun)

This song is one of Super Junior’s hidden gems. They really put on such a show with this performance. It is performances like this one that make me so badly want to attend a Super Show sometime in my life.

P.s. Look at how alive Donghae is here. I have not seen him this confident since this tour.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

It’s You | Inkigayo | 090517

(Memorable)

If you want to know why Super Junior was the best of the best in their day, look no further. It just doesn’t get better than their It’s You performances. The choreography, the adlibs at the end, and the sheer number of members all slaying at the same time.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

From U | MCountdown | 120705

(Fun)

“This song is dedicated to the world’s biggest fanclub.” 🙂 This is just a sweet song and cute performance. SJ gets a little creative with this one having KRY sing the song behind SJ’s main dancers.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Twins | Inkigayo | 051106

(Meaningful)

This is where it all started. All of you new K-pop fans, can you believe this was Super Junior’s debut? Every ELF knows about this video, but I imagine that the majority of K-pop fans nowadays have probably never seen this. Sadly, this is the only video on my list that features Kibum. Even if he officially withdrew from the group after their third album, it is really hard to find performances with him from any era.

If anyone is interested, while this is Super Junior’s debut, I also found a video (HERE) of Super Junior’s first performance in which they sang completely live. It’s interesting to watch and see how far they have come. It also showcases one of Super Junior’s darker memories, when Chinese member Hankyung was forced to cover his face on stage.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Kibum, Ryeowook]

Devil | MCountdown | 150716

(Fun)

After watching their debut, it’s just incredible to watch a performance from their most recent comeback period. Super Junior’s most recent comeback this past year reminded me why I stan Super Junior. After a couple years of unsure attempts at maintaining their streak on top, Devil finally hit the mark, at least for me. They all look like they’re actually having fun, as opposed to constantly trying to look cool as they have for so long.

If you want to compare their singing ability from debut to now, there is another performance of Devil (HERE) in which you can much more clearly hear their singing.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Kangin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Rokuko! | Super Show 3 in Seoul | 100814

(Silly)

Between Super Junior’s five subgroups, you’ll probably be surprised to find that my favorite one is Super Junior-T, the subgroup dedicated to Trot. I happen to have an explainable love of the whole trot sound, but there is the whole factor of silliness that is involved in SJ-T’s stages that is just so enjoyable. With each new tour, I always look forward to their Rokuko performances, and their different versions of it at SS3 are my favorite.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk]

So Cold | Super Show 5 in Japan | 130727

(Memorable)

Super Shows always contain those special stages you can’t find anywhere else except a Super Show, and this is one of Super Junior’s best. I so wish So Cold could have been made into an actual music video. The lyrics are written by Eunhyuk and the song is composed by Henry’s producing team. These four would really make an amazing subgroup. I propose the name Super Junior-E, since they are all the best English-speakers of the group. 😉 I’m serious though, I need this to be an official subgroup when EunSiHae returns from the military.

[MEMBERS: Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Henry]

How Am I Supposed to Live Without You | Super Show 5 in Seoul | 130323

(Passionate)

If we’re including Henry, of course we also have to have a performance with Gentleman-Mimi Zhoumi. This performance honestly rendered me speechless. Not only each member’s individual vocal performance, but the harmonization between all four is incredible.

[MEMBERS: Sungmin, Zhoumi, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Oppa Oppa | Music Core | 111224

(Silly)

And we’re back to silly. 😛 Super Junior D&E blew the world with their single Oppa Oppa, and in this performance had the other members of SuJu join them on stage. All in all, a really fun performance. As I have said before, Super Junior D&E is my favorite thing ever to happen ever.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Don’t Leave Me | Super Show 6 in Japan | 141029

(Passionate)

At their most recent Super Show, Super Junior performed another hidden gem. I didn’t even know this song existed until I looked up the tracklist for SS6 and now I don’t know how I went my whole life without it. As demonstrated with Evanesce and How Am I Supposed to Live Without You, when it’s time to settle down and perform a ballad, SJ definitely delivers. This is definitely going down as one of SJ’s more underrated songs.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Kangin, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]

Superman | Music Core | 110806

(Meaningful)

Finally, the song that makes Super Junior’s best stages, no matter how, where, or when it is performed. This is Super Junior’s anthem, their theme song. Not only does it explain why Super Junior is on top, but this particular performance showcases all of the stage talents SJ should be known for: rapping, singing, and dancing.

[MEMBERS: Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun]


And that’s it. My tribute post to Super Junior. They have been working hard for ten years, and have touched my life for the past six, and I have nothing better I can do than simply to thank them and share their talents with the world.

You guys don’t know how hard it was to remember which members were part of each performance. *wipes away blood, sweat, and tears* There has never been a group with more member changes than Super Junior and to be honest, it does get tiring to keep track of it all. It’ll be 2019 by the time we can see all remaining 11 members together again.

I will probably make a tribute video for all of their non-performance moments in the near future, but until then I leave you with two more videos. This was Super Junior’s message at their last Super Show, right before the enlistment of Eunhyuk, Donghae, and Siwon and their temporary halt of Super Show Tours. If you were ever a fan of the members of Super Junior, this is a must watch. For me at least, this is definitely a moment that I will hold close to my heart for the next two years.


Question of the Day:

What is your favorite Super Junior moment?


#NowPlaying: Just listen to any of the songs above. I am currently most obsessed with So Cold, but they are all pretty good songs that I listen to regularly. I am only slightly exaggerating when I say that half of the music I listen to is Super Junior and half is everyone else.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

 

 

What are your thoughts?

