The Top 10 K-pop Music Videos of 2015

It’s the last day of the End of the Year Countdown! Click Here to start from Day 1 (#50-41).

After watching and reviewing approximately 150 music videos, I have compiled a list of what are, in my opinion, the best K-pop music video to come out this year. This takes into account the song, story (if applicable), cinematography/appearance of the video, wardrobe, and dance (if applicable). The effectiveness of each factor in keeping a viewer entertained as well as how well the different factors balance each other out all equally contribute to my ranking of them in this list.

Every day, for the next five days, I will share with you ten music videos, in order, that I feel were put together with the best care, starting today with #50 and ending with the #1 best music video of 2015 on New Years Eve.

And finally, the top 10 music videos of 2015. Let me just say: I have so much love for every single one of these videos. I don’t think I’ve ever been this satisfied with my Top Ten list until now.

#10: Kyuhyun – A Million Pieces

oct_kyu

Who knew Kyuhyun could act?! With a little stalking and a lot of charm, we follow Kyuhyun and his love interest around their adventure abroad together. The video shows beautiful landscapes of Switzerland alongside an adorable story. Everything about the story was really cute and natural – that is until he pulls out a cliché spin hug and then they bring up a memory loss storyline out of nowhere. The song of course is beautiful as well, much better than At Gwanghwamun in my opinion. This video was such a pleasant surprise from our Super Junior maknae.

#9: Jimin Park – Hopeless Love

hopelesslovethumb

After only knowing Jimin from her fun and crazy personality on After School Club, I am just blown away at the quality of this song and video. My jaw literally dropped when I watched this for the first time. I am always so impressed when singers can do a complete 180 from their tv personality to their music videos, and Jimin totally did it with Hopeless Love. The song is breath-taking and the video is simply heartbreaking.

#8: VIXX LR – Beautiful Liar

beautifulliarthumb

I would argue that amongst all of the VIXX members, Leo’s and Ravi’s voices are the most different from each other. Despite that, they couldn’t sound better together in this song. For a side project, this video is hands down one of VIXX’s best. The story revolves around Leo’s struggle with in inner, evil self. What sets this video apart from others with the same story is the Ravi’s personification of Leo’s inner demon. The scenes at the end of Leo conquering the demon is portrayed in such a paradoxical and poetic way.

#7: Royal Pirates – Run Away

nov15royalpirates

All three members of Royal Pirates have gone through struggle in the past few years: Moon losing his brother, Sooyoon dealing with his mother’s illness, and James’s serious hand injury. This video shows the three of them bidding a final goodbye to their struggles and moving forward in a beautiful and poetic way. There is some context needed to understand the symbolism in the video, but even if you set the meaning aside, the video is still beautiful and captivating. Moon looks like he is holding on to his mic for dear life and the scenes of Moon and Sooyoon being slaves to their instruments are remarkable.

#6: Taeyeon – I

oct_taeyeon

Ever since Shake That Brass, we had all been waiting for Taeyeon to make her solo debut. She definitely does not disappoint with I. The song is really nice and uplifting, as is the music video. It is really refreshing to see Taeyeon going for a freer, down-to-earth type video as opposed to gushing over a guy or trying to appear all glamorous. When singing “My life is a beauty,” we literally see just how beautiful the life around her is. I really like the whole concept of her free self trying to send hints to the hardworking self to quit the job. It is subtle, but very clear with that end scene.

#5: B.A.P – Young, Wild & Free

ywf18

B.A.P’s comeback this year was definitely emotional for so many people in the K-pop fandom, and the scale of this video definitely matched the excitement. Everything about this demands attention. From the violins in the beginning setting the song up for something epic to Daehyun’s passionate notes during the chorus to the overall elaborateness of the sets, this video is the perfect way for B.A.P to come back to the K-pop world with a bang. They literally embody being young, wild and free through various scenes of them having fun with each other. Even if you were not following B.A.P’s drama with their company, you can still find something remarkable about this comeback.

#4: GOT7 – Just Right

july20153

I swear, I have never seen a more flirty group before. With an unbelievably cute and catchy song comes an adorable video with a really sweet and uplifting storyline. GOT7 are like the little mice in Cinderella, there to help the girl see for herself just how beautiful she is. She listens to their message and then learns to have fun and love herself. The dance that goes along with the video is just as cute as the song itself. The pointing move and the little bounces in the instrumental after the chorus are too precious. All in all this is entire comeback was put together so well.

#3: XIA – Flower

flower

This music video could really be extended into a full length movie. First off, the song and dance are both amazing, as most of XIA’s solos have been. The video is a story from a completely different world. The story could be interpreted in endless ways, and the beauty is that each interpretation is no better than the other. I see it as XIA reflecting on how he lost his humanity in his journey to becoming a king, but I have read other interpretations that involve his attitude towards entertainment, or a story involving dreams and alternate realities, that could all be legitimate. Watch it and you’re guaranteed to find a feature film-worthy plot in there.

#2: Roh Ji Hoon – If You Were Me

ifyouwereme

The song is beautiful and the story is cute. What more could you ask for?  It is the love story between Roh Ji Hoon and a blind girl who he meets, which is not unheard of in the world of K-pop plots, but it is definitely unique compared to the typical story. The way they show the buildup of their relationship really makes this video special, and the fact that is has a happy ending is all the more reason to love it. I have seen at least two videos now with a blind girl that ends tragically, so I was very happily surprised to see such a positive ending for this one.

#1: BTS – I Need U

ineeduthumb2

This is one special video. Every time I watch it I get emotional. I think one big reason why this video is making so many people so emotional is because it is so painfully relatable. It is easy to have fun and be carefree when you’re with your friends, but when it’s just you by yourself, that is when all the demons come out and you can feel completely terrible and alone. Everyone has their struggles that only come out behind closed doors. BTS portray this idea perfectly through their individual stories in this video. For a group who started out as school-hating rapping kids, this video is nothing short of ground-breaking from them.


That’s it! We did it! We made it! I hope you all enjoyed my list. If you were ever going to watch any K-pop this year, these are the ten videos I would recommend over and over again.

VIXX and B.A.P are now 3 for 3! They have made it on my Top 10 list all three years now. I swear, that wasn’t planned on my part. They have just done a really great job with their music videos and put time, creativity, and care into it in a way most producers do not. Also, congrats to BTS for making it to their second Top 10 post! They didn’t make it last year, but in 2013 I gave BTS 10th place for their video for N.O.

Honestly, if I were to give my own award for top artist of the year, it would definitely be BTS. They released three music videos this year, two of which I argue are part of the top 50 best music videos of the year, and what you all didn’t know is that the MV for Dope was very close to being included as well. On my list, I had it at #63. Their producers thought of an incredible set of characters and just ran with it all year, creating a hype and interest larger than I have ever seen in my five years in the K-pop world.

I hope you all have a happy (and safe!) new year! See you in 2016! ❤


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “The Top 10 K-pop Music Videos of 2015

  1. Okay, this is EXTREMELY late, but I finally read your Top 50 MVs of 2015. 😅
    I literally smiled at my phone screen when I saw BTS at number one. It’s my favourite BTS MV too. The Original Version of it, to be specific. The song, along with the heart-tugging scenes of the members having fun together but despairing in their loneliness, are all so touching. I too feel emotional every time I watch it. V’s acting is the absolute best. I get goosebumps each time during the part in which he kills his dad. The video mixes friendship, gloom, and aesthetic all so well. It is indeed a very special video to me. I just love it. ❤

    Like

What are your thoughts?

