Top 50 K-pop Music Videos of 2015: #20-11

It’s Day 4 of the End of the Year Countdown! Click Here to start from Day 1 (#50-41).

After watching and reviewing approximately 150 music videos, I have compiled a list of what are, in my opinion, the best K-pop music video to come out this year. This takes into account the song, story (if applicable), cinematography/appearance of the video, wardrobe, and dance (if applicable). The effectiveness of each factor in keeping a viewer entertained as well as how well the different factors balance each other out all equally contribute to my ranking of them in this list.

Every day, for the next five days, I will share with you ten music videos, in order, that I feel were put together with the best care, starting today with #50 and ending with the #1 best music video of 2015 on New Years Eve.

Here are #20-11 of the Top 50 Music Videos of 2015!

#20: BTS – Run

run2

BTS took over the K-pop scene this year with their The Most Beautiful Moment in Life story of the misfit kids. Run is a sort of sequel/prequel to I Need U, in which the characters are stuck in a sort of dreamlike reality. The video shows images of the members enjoying life and parties together interspersed with images of some of them alone in the same rooms, trying to figure out which version of the story is actually reality. There is plenty of meaning and symbolism in this for every viewer to have a slightly different interpretation.

#19: Super Junior D&E – Growing Pains

growingpains21

Coming in at #19 is my personal favorite song and video of the year, because of course it has my two ultimate biases. Personal preferences aside, this is one solid video. I am even venturing to say that it is one of Super Junior’s best. The song is perfect, the dance is interesting, and the video has one completely developed story with a really interesting set up. Donghae really impressed me with such a good self-composed song. For all of the times that the Super Junior members goof around, it is so gratifying to see just how well they come together and produce good music when it’s time to be serious.

#18: Girls’ Generation – You Think

youthink

Another surprisingly well-done video by SM. The strengths that this video has, such as the confidence of the girls, the passion, and the overall catchiness of the song, make it easy to forget the small moments here and there where the video falls. Every time I watch this, I find myself completely drawn into Girls’ Generation’s “cool” world right through to the end. I think this is one of Girls’ Generation’s best music videos to date. If you’re looking for a quality girl group dance, look no further.

#17: INFINITE – Bad

july20152

I think this is INFINITE’s best music video of their career, and one of my favorite songs of the year. The song is about the boys feeling as though they are losing themselves while in a relationship with a “bad” girl, and the video shows Sunggyu literally running away from himself as well as other images of the members watching themselves in the mirror. The colors are imagery are beautiful. By the end of the video, we see the girl haunting their images and distracting them from working through their identity crises. There is so much poetry and imagery in the video that really makes this one of the best videos of the year.

#16: GOT7 – If You Do

septgot7

Impressive. That is the most appropriate way to describe this video. GOT7 amazed me with such a strong comeback. The song has a very nice beat, and I found myself blown away at just how much these boys have improved since their debut two years ago, especially Yugyeom, Bambam, and Junior. The story portrayed each member lashing out in their own ways as a result of their relationship frustrations, and I couldn’t help but feel their pain with them. The acting is incredible in this, especially from Junior. I’d be lying if I said I don’t still tear up during his part.

#15: TVXQ! – Rise As One

july20157

This is end of the year montage music. There is something really uplifting and inspirational about this video. I have seen a few theories thrown around about the meaning of this video, and I have my own interpretation which you can read in my short review, but all in all the video shows an inspirational story of two kids working toward a better tomorrow. This is one song I really would have loved to see performed at these end of the year shows. It is such a shame that we most likely won’t hear this song performed live for at least another two years, if even at all.

#14: Kim Sung Kyu – The Answer

theanswerthumb2

It is really hard for me to decide which of Sung Kyu’s two solo music videos of 2015 was better, and it is simply due to my scoring system that this one came out on top. There is no story, but that doesn’t at all take away from the beauty of this video. The sets are put together with such creativity and care and the camera angles are just right. Plus, we have a great song to accompany such a nice video. This is a perfect example of a video that is simple, but by no means boring.

#13: Big Bang – Sober

june20159

Out of all of Big Bang’s comebacks this year, I think Sober is tied with Bang Bang Bang as my favorite. This is a really good video. The song is reminiscent of G-Dragon’s Crooked in both sound and meaning. The colors and imagery in the video are just beautiful. The song is about the members not being able to handle soberness, and the video shows images of them suffering while sober next to images of the carefree world they wish they could be in. I would have never expected Big Bang to give us such a visually appealing music video like this one.

#12: Rap Monster – Do You

doyou

The moment I heard this song, I knew it would be one of my personal favorites of the year. A beat just doesn’t get much catchier than this one. I don’t usually include rap songs on this blog, simply because it is tough to find a rap done in a foreign language interesting for me, but Rap Monster’s style and delivery makes this one captivating from beginning to end. The video does not have one story, but rather various images to complement the lyrics. There is a sleekness and cohesiveness of the editing that makes even a simpler video like this interesting. It really allows the song to speak for itself.

#11: Jung Yong Hwa – Checkmate

januaryyonghwa

Capping off today’s list is Jung Yong Hwa’s third music video of this year. The song offers more of a rock style than is usually produced in K-pop, and is so refreshing to hear. This is the song I have been waiting to hear from Yong Hwa. The way they mixed Korean and Mandarin is especially impressive. Again, we have a story that could be interpreted in multiple ways. I see it as both Yong Hwa and JJ Lin breaking away from their jobs and liberating from the lives of their other co-workers who are still stuck in the life of robotically following orders.This song and video are both hands down my favorite of Yong Hwa’s solo debut.


How are you all liking the countdown so far?

Tomorrow is the big day! I will finally be sharing with you all what my Top 10 videos of the year are! I can’t wait!


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

