November 2015 in Review

Hello, hello all! I may be a few days late, but here I am with my review of November’s comebacks! November 2015, probably the most exciting month for K-pop fans. There were so many highly anticipated comebacks this month, and I’m sure we all had trouble concentrating on real life with all of these exciting comebacks going on.

In the end, I gathered 26 music videos from the past month and narrowed it down to the 10 that were the most interesting for me. Disclaimer: BTS and VIXX are not included in this post. For VIXX, I really have a lot to say about their Chained Up video that I simply cannot fit into a quick review post like this one. So, expect a full review of Chained Up from me within the next week or so.

BTS is another story. Their music video for Run came out this month, which looks like a sort of sequel or prequel to I Need U. To be quite honest, I just don’t have the mental capacity right now to try to figure out what was going on in that video. Maybe down the road I’ll write a post on my thoughts about their whole story regarding the misfit characters, but right now I’ll have to leave this one to the more dedicated fans.

Romeo “Target”

nov15romeo

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5
  • Dance: 5/5

Hello Boyfriend 2.0. This song has such an old-school feel to it. With rap and hip-hop taking over the K-pop industry, it was really refreshing to get a more light-hearted, aegyo video. I’ve missed these. From what I gather from this video, the boys of Romeo stop time and go through his whole world just to stop the girl from getting hit by falling boxes. There could definitely have been more of a plot to the story. I’m not sure what the purpose of muting all of the colors were, but it does look nice to have one color scheme throughout the whole video. The real highlight f the video, and the reason why I am including it on this list, is the dance. This is definitely a group to be reckoned with. I think I spy a contender for best dance of 2015…

Overall Final Score: 4.2/5

M.A.P6 “Storm”

nov15map6

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

In every aspect, M.A.P6 are trying to combine two different concepts with this video: bad boys on the street and sad passionate heartbreak. It doesn’t fit well together in my opinion. If they had stuck with just one, the video would have been much better. Aside from that, the song is really nice. The soft singing and instrumental are both so beautiful.

Everything about this is really pretty, but some of it just seems too staged or cliche. These boys are clearly talented; they just need a more unified concept to really be recognized for their skills. P.S. Am I the only one getting a really strong CUBE vibe from this?

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

B.A.P “Young, Wild & Free”

ywf18

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5

Everything about this demands attention. From the violins in the beginning setting the song up for something epic to Daehyun’s passionate notes during the chorus to the overall elaborateness of the sets, this video is the perfect way for B.A.P to come back to the K-pop world with a bang. They literally embody being young, wild and free through various scenes of them having fun with each other. I particularly appreciate the attention Zelo was given in this video. While I don’t agree with the concept of showing skin as a means of demonstrating “manliness,” the fact that he did his rap on his own set without any of the other members was a great way to show everyone the new and mature Zelo.

Overall Final Score: 4.8/5

Lee Hong Gi “Insensible”

nov15hongki

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5

Technology Ruins Romances Part 2! After watching this video a couple of times, it looks to me that the girl thinks that Hong Gi is cheating on her and he is too distracted by his phone and outside life to realize how much pain his lover is in. In reality, all of the pictures in his phone are of her, but she is too paranoid – I think in a chronic sense – to realize it. It is unclear what she exactly does in the end, but I think she kills herself? To be honest, I had to go through several YouTube comments before even gathering this much. The song isn’t bad, and the story is intriguing, but the video would have had more of an impact if it was a little more focused in the cinematography.

Sidepoint: OMG – Park Shinhye is so pretty. I was never really a fan of her until this music video.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

GOT7 “Confession Song”

nov15got7

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 4.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

Cute, cute, CUTE! The boys of GOT7 are using this music video to help various high schoolers confess to their crushes through an elaborate surprise serenade. From what I can tell, this was all real – as in actual high schoolers surprising their crushes for real – which only makes this even cuter. The song is a little cheesy, and the video does get slightly repetitive with the same set shown over and over again, but the progression of the story makes up for it. I like that we got to watch the story unfold for several different couples rather than just one. The only reason why I can’t say I totally love this story is because I always see these types of confessions as so awkward for the people singing. GOT7 are just a bunch of third-wheels in this video. 😛

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5

Kim Dong Wan “Du Du Du”

nov15dongwan

  • Song: 5/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

Another really cute song and story. The song sounds like water flowing down a creek with a rainbow and the Teletubbies Baby-Sun in the background. It is just so smooth and pleasant to listen to. The story is also cute. Dong Wan is putting together a video confession for his suspicious “girlfriend,” when in reality it is actually meant for the girl helping him with the video. I will admit though, the way he goes about this, involving two girls, is a little shadier than I would be comfortable with if  it were my own relationship. I also wish they would have shown Pink Girl’s face at the end, considering that the whole ordeal was for her.

Overall Final Score: 4.5/5

UP10TION “Catch Me”

nov15up10tion

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

I was honestly going to skip over this video, but then I heard the beginning of the song and knew I had to share it. It’s not the best song in the world, but it does have a nice instrumental. I love the Arab influence in the beginning. There is also some really nice singing in the chorus. The video shows all of the members hiding from the red-haired member, but there is no context given at all for why this is happening. And I just cannot take that ending seriously. Story aside, I wish we could have seen more of the dance because what was shown looks pretty good.

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

Royal Pirates “Run Away”

nov15royalpirates

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

This song surprised me by being my favorite of all of the November comebacks! The instrumental is really nice and the song is sung beautifully. The video is also one of the more emotional ones released this month. All three members of Royal Pirates have gone through struggle in the past few years: Moon losing his brother, Sooyoon dealing with his mother’s illness, and James’s serious hand injury. This video shows the three of them bidding a final goodbye to their struggles and moving forward in a beautiful and poetic way. There is some context needed to understand the symbolism in the video, but even putting the meaning aside, the video is still beautiful and captivating. Moon looks like he is holding on to his mic for dear life and the scenes of Moon and Sooyoon being slaves to their instruments are remarkable.

Overall Final Score: 4.7/5

Psy “Daddy”

nov15daddy

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

Okay. It took me a couple of tries to get through this entire video. Once you get past the intense…weirdness… of it all, it is actually a pretty funny video, and so classically Psy. This is definitely one catchy song, despite the lyrics being so silly. We see three generations of Psy, living the high lives that they apparently inherited from each other. The kid is impressing all of the girls, the grandpa is the coolest old guy on the block, and Psy is, well, Psy. It is still probably one of the weirdest videos I will watch this year, but it was a complete concept that was pulled off by one of the few people who actually can pull it off.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Psy “Napal Baji”

nov15napalbaji

  • Song: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

Of Psy’s two comebacks this month, I definitely prefer this one. This one seemed more like Psy in terms of musical style. I really like that the lyrics are almost entirely in Korean. That and the fact that the whole concept is paying tribute to the Korean 80s shows that Psy didn’t completely sell out to the English-speaking world. The cinematography is really great in that much of this video has the illusion of being done in a continuous take. With all of the colors and dancing, it is overall a very fun video.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

That’s it for November! I apologize for being a few days late. My semester is just about to end, so I’ve just been trying to keep up with all of my final assignments. Keep an eye out for my next Catch-Up post and review for VIXX’s Chained up within the next few days. To all of you having finals these next couple of weeks, good luck! Don’t let yourself get too distracted by all of this K-pop 😉


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Whose comeback were you the most excited for this month? Did they live up to expectations?


#NowPlaying: Lightsaber by EXO. I can’t believe this is just a project song because OH MY GOD I think this is one of my favorite EXO songs ever. EVER. I love the buildup of Chen’s voice as the chorus approaches and all of the fast rapping. EXO plus Star Wars is probably almost as strange as them doing a football concept, but it produced such an amazing song so I’m not complaining at all.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

