October 2015 in Review

It may not be any match for the blood bath that will be November comebacks, but there were definitely quite a few comebacks I was very much looking forward to in October. My beloved BIGFLO finally came back with their third mini album (which I ADORE) and we got comebacks from Kyuhyun and BTOB, two other favorites of mine.

Lots of big names in this list. Here are all of the noteworthy comebacks from October:

Taeyeon “I” (ft. Verbal Jint)

oct_taeyeon

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5

Ever since Shake That Brass, I’ve been waiting for Taeyeon to make her solo debut. She definitely does not disappoint with I. The song is really nice and uplifting, as is the music video. It is really refreshing to see Taeyeon going for a freer, down-to-earth type video as opposed to gushing over a guy or trying to appear all glamorous. When singing “My life is a beauty,” we literally see just how beautiful the life around her is. I really like the whole concept of her free self trying to send hints to the hardworking self to quit the job. It is subtle, but very clear with that end scene. Of course the video itself is just beautiful.

One question: Did she really just steal her boss’s car?

Overall Final Score: 4.7/5

BIGFLO “Obliviate”

oct_bigflo

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5
  • Dance: 2.5/5

They are finally back! Fun fact: I have a secret obsession with BIGFLO. They haven’t given us much since their debut, but something about them made me an instant fan. This music video is so worth the wait. I absolutely love Yuseong, Junkyung, and Z-UK in this. They suit this concept perfectly. The sets are all so well done and the video is definitely one crazy Halloween-Harry Potter-inspired ride. There is also a really clever puppet-puppetmaster theme going on in this that I really wish they played up a little more! The dance is pretty dull compared to the rest of the video, but the way the dance scenes are weaved into the cinematography of the video makes up for it. Of BIGFLO’s three music videos, this one is definitely my favorite.

Sidenote: Since when did they add a new member?!

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

BTOB “Way Back Home”

oct_btob

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

Alright, someone is going to have to help me with this one. Ilhoon is training to fight, and somehow he, Changsub, and Hyunsik get caught up in a raid that ends up targeting a group that Ilhoon’s mom is a part of? But after getting beaten up and leaving his mom to the thugs, everyone is okay in the end? The story goes from normal to very dramatic, and then the next moment completely fine and happy. Am I missing something?

In terms of the song, this is sung absolutely beautifully. They have had better songs in my opinion, but Sungjae, Eunkwang, and Hyunsik sound undeniably amazing in this soft ballad. While this may not be my favorite comeback by BTOB, I am very happy that they finally got enough recognition to get their first win.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

Kyuhyun “A Million Pieces”

oct_kyu

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

Who knew Kyuhyun could act?! With a little stalking and a lot of charm, we follow Kyuhyun and his love interest around their adventure abroad together. The video shows beautiful landscapes of Switzerland alongside an adorable story. I am so shocked at how natural Kyuhyun’s acting is in this. He is all charisma and charm. Everything about the story was really cute and natural – that is until he pulls out a cliché spin hug and then they bring up a memory loss storyline out of nowhere. Starting with the hug, the video went downhill like a bad drama. I so badly wish this video just had the good ending we all expected it to have. The beginning is so amazing and unique, and it really is a shame that it had to go down like that. The song is course is beautiful as well, much better than At Gwanghwamun in my opinion.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

XIA “Yesterday”

oct_xia

  • Song: 3.9/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

I’m going to need some help with this one too. Here is what I got: We’re in a world where Earth’s inhabitants have started migrating to the moon, and the main actor in the video works for some part of that movement. He and his lover get into a fight and he angrily leaves for work. When there is an explosion, he hurries back to Earth only to find his lover apparently dead, though in reality she is fine. Meanwhile Xia silently observes all of this. Xia has consistently been one to involve deep and complex storylines in his music videos, but to be honest I think this one gets too complicated. The scenery is beautiful, and the song is really nice, but it was really hard for me to find meaning in this video.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

ToppDogg “The Beat”

oct_toppdogg

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

This was the ToppDogg comeback I’ve been waiting for since their debut. They took their unique style and fun personalities and brought it together in a near perfect combination with The Beat. I am obsessed with this song. I have usually found Jenissi’s raps to be out of place in ToppDogg’s singles, but I think it sounds perfect here. The instrumental is so unique and fun. The video is just as fun and colorful. I am very tempted to give the dance a perfect score as well, but there are certain parts that get a little too chaotic and disjointed, especially towards the end of the song. All in all though, this is a really well done video, and definitely my favorite ToppDogg music video to date.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

TWICE “Like OOH-AHH”

oct_twice

  • Song: 3/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 4/5

This song reminds me so strongly of the 2008-2009 days in K-pop, but I can’t quite put my finger on exactly what it is. It has a catchy tune, but I can’t help but notice that a lot of it sounds more like yelling than singing. I am very impressed with the choreography, especially during the dance break, and I like that they slowly brought in each member, but overall I found this to be a fairly weak debut video. The zombie concept came in with little explanation and has been done before in a very similar way with other groups. There is not anything incredibly unique about it from my perspective to grab my attention or make me like the group. In fact, if they were not so famous due to their label, I most likely would have skipped over this music video.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

IU “Twenty-Three”

oct_iu

  • Song: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 3.9/5

I have not kept up with IU very well since her debut, but this video definitely grabbed my attention. This is easily my favorite song by her. She has her usual sweet, juvenile voice, but there is a hint of sarcasm that really makes this song stand out from others in her career. The lyrics talk about how throughout her career she has had to juggle multiple concepts and “images”, and the video shows the difference between what the public sees and the chaos that really goes on in IU’s head. While she does not want others to pin personalities on her, she suggests through the imagery of the video that even she hasn’t totally decided on exactly who she has decided to be. The animation and sets reflect the whole multiple personality concept really well. I see this video as a sort of transition for IU from being a made up figure to really taking control over who she wants to be to the public.

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

f(X) “4 Walls”

oct_fx

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

4 Walls is like an Inception meets The Butterfly Effect. It follows a chain of events stemming from Amber dropping her teacup that leads the members of f(X) lost through a forest until Luna finally realizes what has happened and wakes her up in time to prevent Amber from dropping the cup. I admit, I had to stretch my creativity to find a real story in this, because so much of it is really abstract. I appreciate the creative aspect to this video, but I would have like to see something a little more concrete from f(X) in terms of plot. It might have helped to have one member go through the story rather than using all four members interchangeably. As far as the song goes, it’s alright. It is unique and has a nice instrumental, but I wouldn’t say it is amazing by any means. I’m sad to say that I am not as impressed with this comeback as most of my peers on the internet. It is different, but different doesn’t always equate interesting.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

Kim Dong Wan “Piece”

oct_dongwan

  • Song: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

This video is a fairly simple one, but I couldn’t pass over a member of Shinhwa. Also, I’m such a sucker for these blue/red/purple color schemes. Even if there is no plot or dance, the video is very nice visually. The lighting and sets look great and I love the whole cage scene. There is not a whole lot going on, which was disappointing, was the song is good and overall it is a nice video.

Overall Final Score: 4.2/5

Now that it’s all said and done, I still can’t decide which was my favorite comeback this month. My top three choices would have to be BIGFLO, Kyuhyun, and ToppDogg, but I couldn’t narrow it down further. They were all so unexpectedly good, each for different reasons. I didn’t have a lot of anticipation for October, so the videos that we were given were definitely very pleasant surprises.

There were a few videos on this list that I admit I may not have appreciated very much because I simply did not understand them, particularly those by BTOB, Xia, and f(X). More than ever, I would really appreciate hearing what you all thought of these videos, especially if your opinions differ from mine. I would love to see the different perspectives that are out there.

Now we’re on to November and I’m so not ready. Between BTS, B.A.P, and VIXX, I don’t know how I’m going to get through this month.


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on Any of these videos?


#NowPlaying친구들 다 불러 (Call Your Homie) by BIGFLO. Their entire album has been on constant replay for me, and this is one of my favorites on it. There’s something really epic about it. Parts of it remind me a lot of the Pokemon theme song. 😛


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “October 2015 in Review

What are your thoughts?

