Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “U”

It’s baby Kyu’s debut! I can’t believe there was a time that Super Junior existed without Kyuhyun.

[Original Release Date: June 13, 2006]

Song

As one of Super Junior’s classics, I won’t say that this is an amazing or revolutionary song, though it is pretty catchy. The guitar in the instrumental gives it somewhat of a Spanish sound, which is refreshing for K-pop and sounds great with this melody. While the chorus does tend to get repetitive, the lines around it sound really good. I love those long, passionate lines leading up to the choruses, sung first by Ryeowook and then by Donghae.

I don’t have much else to say except that this is a pretty solid song.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

u2This video takes place from the perspective of Yoona, a beautiful girl who happens to stumble upon this lost video of Super Junior. They sing to her from a futuristic room, transition into a night-time outdoor scene, and then go back to another futuristic room. u3All of the rooms fit the song pretty well, however I don’t think they quite fit each other. The first and last rooms are too similar and the middle outdoor scene is just too different from the other two.

While I like the idea of Yoona watching them and the boys singing to her, it is not quite clear what her role is in this video. Is she just a silent observer of their dance? I thought so until the middle scene when we suddenly see her u1also outside staring at the camera alluringly, indicating that she is the one trying to attract them. If the producers were going to include a girl, I would have liked to see her given more of a direction as a character rather than simply a pretty girl to look at.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe

u5Yet again I am so surprised at how much fashion style in the entertainment world has changed in just ten years. Even if it would seem out of fashion today, I think all of Super Junior looks great in this video. We are given a funky version of the street concept, and it works wonders. From Eunhyuk’s asymmetrical striped shirt to Kangin’s mix between sporty and preppy, they all manage to find a unique style that suits their own personal look and adds to an interesting concept. My personal favorite outfits are Leeteuk, Sungmin, and Kibum, all in the first dance scene.

u4On the flip side, I can’t help but dislike most of the outfits in the middle outdoor scene. Amidst all of the black and white, olive green and brown just doesn’t go.

My thoughts on Heechul’s look? Surprisingly, I actually like it a lot. Of all of the cross-dressing he has done, I think his look in U actually appears the most natural. The clothes he wears is pretty gender neutral, which normalizes his hair and face.

Score: 4/5

Dance


Just look at that synchronicity! With a group of 13 members, it is so easy for a stage to look chaotic, but one of the most remarkable aspects to this dance is that is never once gets chaotic. There are moments when everyone is moving, but then they all get into position to give such a refreshing sense of clarity. I’m not sure quite how to express this idea other than saying that this dance is organized really well. The members balance the stage well and the formations change just enough to keep things interesting. My personal favorite part would be the dance during Eunhyuk’s rap, but that intro and closing is enough to take one’s breath away.

I don’t give this choreography full points because by the end the chorus can seem repetitive, and there are one or two dull moments that keep this dance from being perfect.

Score: 4.5/5

Overall, it may not be one of Super Junior’s best videos, but it is definitely one of the good ones. This dance is what made Super Junior stand out in my mind as a really great dance group. To coordinate such a large number of members and keep everyone unique while still fitting into one concept is done perfectly. I just wish there was more to this video to tie all of the different scenes together.

In all honesty, I think Super Junior-M’s version of the U music video is actually much better than this one.

Overall Final Score: 4/5


Question of the Day:

Thoughts on Kyuhyun’s debut?


#NowPlaying: Words to Say by VIXX’s Leo. If you know me, you know that I’m not a ballad person. However, this song nearly puts me to tears. It is really beautiful. (Personal bias moment: Every time I hear this, I can totally imagine Ken singing it with him and now I want nothing more than to see them perform this song together one day.)


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

