Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s Happiness

Now I feel like I’m opening a time capsule. This song is so old! They performed a shortened version of this song at their most recent Super Show 6, but before that the last time they performed this song was back in their very first Super Show. What is more recent is actually a dance practice of SEVENTEEN performing this song. I found more hits on youtube for that than actual Super Junior performances.

Note: This music video was shot while Kyuhyun was in the hospital after their car accident, so he isn’t featured in the song or video.

[Original Release: July 6, 2007]

Song

This is quite the happy song for the happy video. All of the verses carry a really nice melody. For a group with so many different voices, the line distribution is done really well. All of the different parts of the song suit the voices very well. I think Donghae in particular sounds really good in this song. My only criticism would be that the instrumental in the beginning does not sound as much like the rest of the song as an introduction should.

Score: 4/5

Story

happiness3It took me this many years to realize that there is an actual story in here. Happiness follows Super Junior as they go about their mornings, preparing for a Hug Event later in the day. We watch them at the salon getting their makeup and hair done, buying their clothes at the store, making the posters, and then at the Hug Event itself. It is pretty straightforward, with a beginning, middle, and end. It’s a nice concept for a song like this. It’s nice to see that while the beginning of the video is focused on happiness1the members, in the end we realize that all of those efforts were a means to bringing happiness to all of the people around them.

The only scene that does not seem to fit is the gym scene. Why did they feel the need to work out before their event? We will never know.

Score: 3.5/5

Cinematography

happiness8The song is called “Happiness” and the video is literally just that. Everything about this screams fun and happy. It is impossible to watch this without a smile creeping onto your face. I love the scenes of the members fooling around and singing in front of those pink and white houses. That non-scripted interaction between the members is what makes this video truly happy.

I think they could have chosen a better location for the main dance scene. While the houses and bright blue sky are cheerful and happy, I feel that scene looks too fake compared to the natural acting.happiness7

Then there is that moment between Heechul and Shindong. It is consistent with their characters in real life, but I still don’t understand why they needed to include that in this video. I’m not saying it is necessarily bad, and I got a good laugh out of it, but just happiness9why? 😛

To this day, I am not sure if the Hug Event was an actual event or if the whole thing was acted, but from what is shown in this video, it all looks very genuine and real. All of those scenes at the end are really cute, especially with the members hugging not only young fans, but babies and even the security guards.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

This has to be a video sponsored by the makers of Charlie Brown. The entire wardrobe is focused on Snoopy. Regardless, I think it is a really cute idea. All of the outfits follow this same theme, and the members look great in it. It is simple, but happy, and focuses on a universally loved character. I am not a fan of the particular style in the main dance scene, but the concept is still nice.

happiness4

happiness6In terms of hair, I think Donghae, Leeteuk, and Heechul look the best. They embody their actual personalities, happiness2but in a styled and controlled way. Sungmin and Ryeowook on the other hand… I understand that they are going for the cute, flower boy look, but I can’t take those hair colors seriously. Ryeowook just can’t pull off the ginger look.

Score: 3.5/5

Dance


(I tried making my own dance version video, but I was running into too many copyright issues, so this off-center dance practice will have to do. At least in this one you get to hear Heechul’s beautiful singing at 2:40.)

Ah, a dance in which everyone is doing the exact same movements. We know how I feel about those. It is an older video, so I can’t expect the dances to include the creativity of today. With that in mind, this is a pretty good dance, as far as the actual choreography goes. It is very dynamic with a lot of very fast-paced movement. Of course, with a happy dance comes the cheesiness. Even Super Junior can’t avoid it.

I find this dance to be very fun and well-choreographed, but it lacks creativity and good use of the number of members in the group.

Score: 3/5

Overall, this is definitely a feel-good video. It isn’t the most innovative or creative, but it is definitely fun and will put a smile on your face. The faults really only lie in the effort to make it overly happy and cheesy.

As for this ELF, this remains one of my personal favorite music videos by Super Junior.

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

How sadly poetic. My Throwback Thursday post happens to fall on Kibum’s birthday, which also happens to be the day that he finally says goodbye to SM Entertainment for good. Yes, Kibum and SM both confirmed this morning that his contract has expired and he will be leaving SM Entertainment, bringing his hiatus from Super Junior to a permanent departure.

It is with a heavy heart that I bid Kibum a final goodbye. I have always had that tiny hope at the back of my mind that Kibum would come back and resume his position in Super Junior, but this I guess was the final step in really saying goodbye to Kibum. As hard as it is to say goodbye, I am actually really happy to finally have some closure. After years of his ambiguous “hiatus,” it is nice to finally know for sure what his plan is. I wish him all the best in his future career and life. He will always be such an important part of Super Junior’s history.

What a day. First I write this review. Then I hear about Kibum’s departure. Then I see this picture of Heechul and Hangeng, taken most likely this year. Judging from Heechul’s hair, it looks like it could be around the time M&D were promoting, which was just this past April. The Super Junior bond lives on. ^_^

CM1wbwMUwAAFvPb


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on the video? Overly happy or just the right amount of happiness?

P.S. Can you count how many times I used the words “happy” and “happiness” in this review? 😛


#NowPlaying: Simply Beautiful by Super Junior. I can’t even say that this is one of my favorites from their new album because in all honesty, half of the album I would consider my favorite song. I think this might possibly be my new favorite SJ album, maybe tied with Mamacita because that one was amazing. This specific song is particularly sweet and easy to listen to. Seriously though, check out the whole album because it is pretty special.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

