Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Don’t Don”

There are a lot of mixed reviews of Don’t Don out there, but I can honestly say that this is one of my favorite Super Junior music videos out there.

[Original Release: September 21, 2007]

Song

The guitar. The violin. The overall epicness of it. I fell in love with this song the moment I heard it.

The singing. Oh my God, the singing. Siwon and Kangin’s passionate lines in the middle of all of the rapping and harsh vocals are very refreshing. Those parts in particular remind me a lot of Disturbed (a hard rock band that I’m guessing most of you have never heard of…).

I like that there is a variety of vocal sounds in this. The raps are spread out really nicely in this amongst Heechul’s angry cries and the vocalists’ normal singing parts. The addition of Henry’s violin solo in the middle is absolutely perfect and gives this song the unique touch to make it stand out even among the few rock-inspired K-pop songs.

It might shock some that a K-pop fan can love this song so much, but just like how I’m obsessed with EXO’s Wolf, I can’t help it. Scary and crazy is my style.

Score: 4.9/5

Cinematography

Fire and dirt to go with the harsh sound of the song. dontdon6The editing goes along really well to the beat of the song. I think as a whole, the cinematography is done pretty well, and the end with the blazing sun behind them is a perfect finale.

This video is giving me Fantastic feels. The whole concept of a mysterious violinist is so creative! I can’t believe that Henry got hate after this. I think his solo with Donghae and dontdon8Eunhyuk dancing around him is the coolest part of this video. I really like how his part in the song is introduced, with just him in the middle and then the dancers jumping out from behind him. I wish we had more scenes of Henry’s playing after his solo ends.

My burning question ever since I first saw this music video: what are they running from?! Those running scenes are a little too cliche for me.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

dontdon3

The wardrobe consists of the classic bad boy concept that I always appreciate. I mean, you see dontdon5one bad boy concept, you’ve seen them all. I would instead like to focus on the hair styling.

The bad: All of Kyuhyun and Hankyung’s blonde. No. I am also not a fan of Donghae’s and Kangin’s hairstyles. Donghae’s dual dontdon12colors doesn’t look that great and I don’t think Kangin’s short hair suits him very well.

The good: Kibum’s entire look. Heechul’s short style. Ryeowook’s styling and piercings. I am obsessed with Leeteuk’s blonde and his little samurai braid. It looks so good on him and really gives him the needed edgedontdon9 with this concept.

To this day, I can’t figure out if I love or hate Sungmin’s look. It looks strange on him, but it is so perfect for this concept.

Score: 4/5

Dance


This is, in my opinion, one of Super Junior’s best dances ever. All of the movement in the dontdon4beginning is so intricate and detailed. They use their numbers really well in this. There is always sometime interesting happening, and all of the movements and pacing matches the beat of the song perfectly.

This is also one of my dontdon11favorite of Super Junior’s dance breaks. It is perfect for this type of song. The end of the sequence has the members quite literally head-banging to the sound of the guitar.

I just can’t get over their impeccable synchronization in the beginning.

Score: 4.9/5

Overall, despite what others say, this is one pretty good music video. It may be different, but I like to see it as unique. It is definitely one of my personal favorite videos and one of the ones that pulled me into Super Junior in the first place.

Overall Final Score: 4.5/5


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on this crazy song and concept?


#NowPlaying: Delilah by BIGFLO. Another one of those rock-inspired K-pop songs. It was their debut song and it completely made me a fan of them. They need a comeback soon!


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

