Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry – Answer”

This series is probably my favorite thing I have ever done on this blog. It is such a beautiful walk down memory lane. Today’s moment of nostalgia will be focused on a Super Junior gem.

Song

Talk about ear candy. This is one of Super Junior’s masterpieces. It is so beautiful. It isn’t a remix of Sorry, Sorry; it is its own song. Yesung is so unbelievably talented and the three of them as a trio are outstanding. I absolutely love the soft raps at the end. The way Donghae and Eunhyuk start rapping together is a perfect way to build momentum and finish it off.

The harmonization at the bridge is beautiful. Heck, this whole song is beautiful. They change up the beat every so often to make the song seem nice and long.

Score: 5/5

Cinematography

sorrysorryans4This is a very classy video. It features the members in a black and white setting doing different “classy” things before gathering for a celebration. There doesn’t seem to be one single thread to this, so I’m not counting it as a whole story.

In addition to the black and white, all of the sets are very simplistic, which is perfect for such a slow and passionate song. sorrysorryans6The editing with the members singing is done beautifully. I love all of the fading effects and how quickly the scenes change from one member to the next. The editing with the ending rap is perfect with the split screen.

My favorite story would have to be Eunhyuk and Donghae’s dancing. It is an appropriate change from having a sorrysorryans3choreographed dance that the whole group does. To be honest though, it is their dance that keeps this video from being boring. I love all of the different “stories,” but nothing is really going on in any of them. The dance keeps the video from being totally dry, but I do wish there could have been a little bit more plot to the story points.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

Classy outfits for a classy song and classy video. Can you count how many times sorrysorryans7I’ve said the word “classy” so far?

They all look incredible. The suits and hair all are perfect in this video. Even though they are technically “at home” in most of the scenes, this video seems to take place in those final moments before going out somewhere sorrysorryans5fancy, so the suits still fit. To switch things up, I like that they have Leeteuk undressing a little bit to indicate that he is at the end of a long and stressful day.

The single outfit that could have been better is Yesung’s. Sleeveless shirts look okay in other videos, but not in this one. This concept requires a jacket.

I am trying very hard not to criticize Heechul’s hair. It would be different if it was the stylist’s choice, but he loves the long hair and the stylists really did the best they could with it.

Score: 4.9/5

Overall, to this day I am very impressed that this is a Super Junior video. They do not have a single one similar to it. I guess last year’s Evanesce came close, but I loved that one for the same reasons why I love this. They take what could be, in my opinion, a boring ballad, and spice it up with a little rap and dancing. Beautiful.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

Fun Fact: It was this video that made me start picking out Donghae and Eunhyuk as my biases of Super Junior and eventually my #1 and #2 ultimate biases. You don’t know how many times I watched this video and skipped to the end.

sorrysorryans


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on this gem? How does it compare to Evanesce?


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry – Answer”

What are your thoughts?

