Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Bonamana”

Ah, the video that started the Super Junior craze. I wish I was here for real to share how special this video is with you, but alas this is a queued post. It is currently still May as I write this.

Song

The repetition, the beat, the chorus, the bridges… Everything about this song is perfect. That “bonamana” hook is so catchy and addicting, as is the rest of the song. It definitely has an intense beat, but the melody of the lyrics change ever so slightly to keep the song from getting monotonous.

I love the Ryeowook-Sungmin combination before each chorus. They are a good duo, and their lines are perfect transitions between the verses and chorus.

This is one of Super Junior’s best singles in my opinion.

Score: 5/5

Cinematography

Despite not having a story, I think the cinematography of this video is done really well. In between scenes of the fast-paced dance, which is interesting enough by itself, there are ominous images of the members singing the song. bonamana4Even though it is simple, the seriousness of it combined with the lighting and sheer number of members makes those scenes a nice complement to the energetic dance. I love how some of them are more expressive while others, particularly Heechul, keep stone-cold composure throughout the entire video.

bonamana3I love the effects that the editors used on the solo shots in the first half of the video and in the end. The timing matched the beat of the song perfectly. However, in the second chorus, when the images of the members come flashing onto the screen, something about the way that was edited looks more like an attention-grabbing commercial than a classy video.

Score: 4.5/5

Wardrobe

Again Super Junior pulls off a suit-that’s-not-really-a-suit suit look in this video. bonamana5They took typical suits and each added a unique twist. The look that they do in one of the dance scenes, with graphic t-shirts underneath sports jackets is unique and surprisingly stylish. They also all look fabulous in the completely sporty dance scene. I like that they keep a generally white and black theme with little subtle pops of blue and red here and there.

bonamana9I particularly like Eunhyuk’s look with that hat in this video. His whole look is very different from the others, yet it fits with no question.

Now if only Leeteuk knew that you’re supposed to wear a shirt under a jacket.

Personal bias time: Of all of Super Junior’s eras, this Bonamana era is my favorite look of theirs ever.

Score: 4.5/5

Dance


This dance just keeps going and going without a single dull moment. Everything about this is amazing. It has those large motions that are a whirlwind of stimulation, along with intricate and complicated moves, such as that in bonamana7Ryeowook’s first line, that are impossible to reconstruct. That little snapping-pushing the jacket back move in Yesung’s first line is one of my favorite choreography moments, and for years I have tried to imitate it without any success.

The dance break is energetic and creative. Like the rest of the dance, it requires dance skill that is pretty advanced, yet the Super Junior members pull it off flawlessly.

bonamana8Overall, I love how there is always something moving on the screen. Someone is always doing something, yet it is not a monotonous dance where everyone is constantly doing the exact same thing. The entire “rap” sequence for example is one of the best moments because while Leeteuk, Eunhyuk, Siwon, and Heechul are singing and dancing to their own parts, the rest of the members are doing a completely different dance that complements the others.

The only moment that had me shaking my head was the completely shameless hip thrusting in the beginning. Really, guys?

Score: 4.9/5

Overall, I absolutely love this music video. It is my favorite of Super Junior’s music videos and one of my favorite K-pop videos of all time. It is the one that pulled me into K-pop, but regardless of the sentimental meaning, this is just one amazing video. When I was rewatching it again so that I could write this review, D&E’s lyrics came into my head: “The beat goes on and it never ends.” That is the perfect description for Bonamana. Right from the very first seconds, it just keeps on going and going, never once letting you look away.

Overall Final Score: 4.7/5


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What did you think of Bonamana? How does it compare to their more recent dance tracks?


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Bonamana”

  1. Ah my first Super Junior video. This was the first song I ever heard from them, and it was quite early in my kpopping years. It’s still one of their best singles in my opinion, and I agree that this was probably their best era, styling wise.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

