Ciao for Now! (Personal Update #5)

Hello lovely followers. I am here to bid you all adieu…

Don’t worry. It’s just for a month.

Tomorrow is the first day of Ramadan, which is a very special month for Muslims. You’ve probably heard that it’s the month in which we don’t eat or drink anything while the sun is up, but it is so much more than that.

In addition to fasting, I use this month as my one time throughout the year to really focus on who I am as a person and how I can improve myself. I always struggled with how to explain this concept to those who are unfamiliar with Islam, and recently I heard a speaker put it quite perfectly: During Ramadan, we also fast from things that “can be outwardly permissible things but are distractions from our inward journey.”

K-pop for me, as I’m sure it is for many of you, is something I use to distract myself from real life. I spend so much of my day listening to K-pop, watching variety and music shows, and, well, blogging about K-pop.

So, during Ramadan, I stop all of that. I spend these 30 days completely K-pop free (as well as free from all music and TV), so that I can spend my time focusing on becoming closer to God and my religion – and really, my life. I will not be watching any shows or new comebacks, thus I won’t have anything to review.

I will still have my Throwback Thursday reviews posted every week. I made sure to write them ahead of time and have them queued so that I can stay on schedule without having to spend time writing them during Ramadan. So, you will still see my weekly posts. I just won’t be doing anything new or live.

With that being said, I’ll see you all at the end of July. If you’ve been keeping up with today’s news, you’ll know that I’ll be missing Ultimate Bias #3 Ken’s solo debut 😥 . I’ll be crying on the inside, but don’t worry. I’ll make sure that is the first music video I review once I’m back.

One more thing: If any of you are interested, I have a second blog in which I post daily about my Ramadan experiences. If you want to get to know another side of me, or if you were interested in seeing what Ramadan is like on a day to day basis for an actual Muslim, come on over!

Of course, I am always on Twitter if you want to talk! Although I’m not sure how I’ll handle seeing everyone tweeting about K-pop while I won’t be watching any. I might just have to fast from Twitter as well the days following Ken’s debut.

Happy Ramadan to my fellow Muslims! If you are also celebrating, let me know in the comments! I always get so excited to find other Muslims in my social networks. Until then…

waving

2 thoughts on “Ciao for Now! (Personal Update #5)

  1. Oh my… You’re muslim too… Then happy fasting! I swear, sometimes in the early morning when the sun isn’t even up yet in my country, when I wake up to eat that early, I just sleep eat XD Then the morning prayers and sleep until, like what? 1 PM? But we all got used to it, so it’s just np big deal though

    Like

    1. Haha I’m right there with you. Sometimes I stay up until Fajr and then just sleep until the middle of the day.
      Thank you for commenting. 🙂 Nice to meet you. Ramadan Mubarak!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

