Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Mr. Simple”

I remember staying up late with my sister waiting for this video to be released and fangirling with the other elfs in the comment section.

I have so many memories of this video: everyone suddenly starting to pay attention to Eunhyuk, replaying Donghae’s part over and over again, getting excited at Leeteuk’s rapping…

But I also remember at the end of the day being really disappointed with this comeback. After the thrill that was Sorry Sorry and Bonamana, this video was definitely two long strides backwards for Super Junior.

Song

This one was actually really hard for me to review from an objective standpoint. From a personal point of view, I don’t like this song and I never did. From an objective point of view, I guess it’s okay.

The intro is pretty good at building excitement for the rest of the song. The rest of the song is alright as well, however there are certain parts that take away from the quality of the song, particularly the repetition of “alright” in the lines leading up to the chorus and the entire “Blow your mind” refrain. The instrumental behind that particular part as well as the rap simply don’t fit with the rest of the song. The little bit of singing right after the rap doesn’t fit either, in melody or the background instrumental.

This song is very formulaic, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it doesn’t offer a whole lot new to the music world.

Score: 3/5

Cinematography

As usual, this is a pretty good video. The rooms are pretty standard for a dancing video. The main room with the flashing background looks nice. It’s unique and really fun.

mrsimple4

Editing and camera-wise, there are of course parts that are done really well, and others that really should have been changed. I really like how the dance break was edited, with the flashing images before Eunhyuk’s mrsimple8“Dance” and then focusing on the main dancers.

What should have been changed: the shaky camera used in some of the dance scenes. It looks like it was filmed on a GoPro, which is okay for the rap part, but mrsimple11just looks messy for the rest of the video.

Some members had particularly good stage presence in this video that is worth noting. Donghae, Eunhyuk, Heechul, and Ryeowook all really impressed me with their charisma in this video.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

One of the only uses I actually got out of the otherwise pointless intro is that I was able to get a good look at each of the main outfits! All in all, I like the concept of Mr. Simple‘s wardrobe. They put a creative spin on the whole suit concept by adding color.

Like I said, I like the concept, but a lot of the actual individual outfits I think aren’t the most flattering. For some reason, time and time again SM’s stylists give Kyuhyun those hanging dancer pants, and I just don’t think the look suits mrsimple6him, especially in this video when coupled with a formal jacket.

As for the very colorful scene with all of the ripped clothing, I am torn. One one hand, I like the color and how unique the whole thing looks, but on the other hand I can’t help but think that certain members (Eunhyuk, Siwon) look more homeless than mrsimple3stylish. As a side though, I think Donghae and Yesung look especially good in that scene (and notice that they are the some of the only members who don’t have pieces of fabric hanging off of them).

Even though this outfit was only shown for a brief second in the beginning, Heechul’s leather look is probably my favorite outfit in this entire video.

Score: 3/5

Dance


The good: All of the “Blow your mind” parts are done really well. The members mrsimple7move around a lot and the pacing is great. Sungmin’s part right after the chorus is also done well, especially with the center half of the members doing the choreography while the outside members are still.

The bad: The intro is so repetitive. The main “Mr. Simple” move is too…well, simple.mrsimple5 In general, too much of this dance is dedicated to the members walking around to change positions than actually executing choreography.

Unfortunately, this is definitely one of Super Junior’s weaker dances. A lot of it is really messy. So much of the choreography consists of moves that are not very sharp, causing the members to look out of sync a lot of the time. I can’t tell if the choreography is at fault, or if the members simply weren’t given enough time to practice the dance and get their synchronization right.

Score: 2/5

Overall, this video was a disappointment. Nothing is particularly bad about it, but at the same time nothing was done particularly well. If we are to pinpoint a single step in which the peak of Super Junior’s career started going back down, I think this video is it. I know, it sounds harsh, but I have to be honest. None of it is the members’ fault of course. I think it was just the company who took Super Junior’s fame for granted and stopped putting in as much effort into their music videos.

Overall Final Score: 3/5

There is one bright side to this comeback. We got this perfect meme from it:

29 (2)


Question of the Day:

What did you think of Mr. Simple? Was anyone there when it came out?


#NowPlaying: Trespass by Monsta X. I didn’t really pay attention to their debut, but I stumbled across this music video by accident today and I can’t believe I missed this! The song is so good and I really like the music video too! Part of me wonders if we really need yet another of these bad-boy concept groups, but then the other part reminds me that I love this concept. I can’t help it.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

