Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “A-CHA”

Most of these Throwback posts have been difficult for me to write due to trying to stay unbiased, but I had no problem writing this one. That’s because I didn’t really like this video all that much.

Song

I have such mixed feelings about this song. While the whole things has a really strong beat with a great intro and ending, I can’t honestly say that this is a good song. I don’t think the background instrumental fits the vocals. As for the vocals, some members sound great, such as Leeteuk and Heechul, and I love Shindong’s small rap, but a lot of the rest of the song just sounds like yelling to me.

I can’t decide if I love or hate how Donghae sounds in this.

Score: 3/5

Cinematography

This video was SM’s way of trying to disguise their lack of effort in Super Junior’s music videos by showcasing all of their new CGI tricks. Look, I can light fire. acha4Look, I can be a mirror image. Look, I can throw cards and make it look like slow motion.

This is not a concept. It’s just a bunch of hat tricks. There isn’t really anything going on in this video which is disappointing for any group, but especially one from such a big company.

As somewhat of a sidenote, Heechul really works the camera in this video. I love how he has so much of a presence even though he was technically serving his military duty by the time this video was made.

Score: 3/5

Wardrobe

As with most Super Junior music videos, the wardrobe is overall a nice concept with a few really odd outfits thrown in there. That is almost guaranteed to acha5happen with such a large group. However there is definitely more good than bad with this wardrobe.

The best dressed awards would have to go to Eunhyuk, Ryeowook, Siwon, and Heechul. In every scene these members looked great. I know it’s probably an unpopular opinion, but I think Eunhyuk looks really great with the raccoon hat. It suits him.

acha6Overall I really like the suits in the lighter scene. Except for that weird metallic armor that Leeteuk has on, they all look really sharp and chic.

The other dance scene however is a whole other story. Don’t even get me started on Donghae’s sweatpants-cape look. *shudders*

Score: 4/5

Dance


acha3Unfortunately, this is one of Super Junior’s weaker dances. The main “A-cha” move is fine, and I actually really like the bridge and Eunhyuk/Shindong rap part, but I don’t think the rest of the dance is all that memorable. The choreography isn’t sharp enough for the strong beat of the song. There is too much of all of the members doing the exact same thing, which makes for a dull picture.

Score: 3/5

Overall, this video was a disappointment. I think most would agree that this video definitely is not up to par with the rest of Super Junior’s music videos. This is what I call a filler video. It is one that SM put out simply because the timeline called for a new Super Junior video, but it is one that they quickly put together without a whole lot of real thought or effort.

Overall Final Score: 3.3/5


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on this music video?


#NowPlaying: Alibi by JJY Band. This is my favorite song from the JJY Band album. I am so obsessed with Jung Joon Young these days, and this is one great song. I love the chorus. This is one of those songs that I can listen to over and over again.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “A-CHA”

What are your thoughts?

