Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Spy”

This is a new series I have been wanting to do for a couple of months now. Every Thursday I will be going back and reviewing Super Junior’s old music videos, using the same scale and standards that I currently use to review music videos.

I went through Super Junior’s videography and if you include subgroups, Super Junior has over 30 music videos in total, and that’s not even including their Japanese videos. I think for now I will just stick with the Korean videos that they did as a whole group, starting with Spy and ending with Twins. I will review these as objectively as possible, as if they were any ordinary music video I would review today. I firmly believe that part of being a true fan is acknowledging when your group makes a mistake and then moving past it. I love Super Junior with all of my heart, but they are by no means perfect. So, be prepared to read some criticism along with the loving praise.

The first video of this series is Spy, their most recent comeback before I made this blog. Here we go~

[Originally released 8/13/2012]

Song

I’m not a fan of the song and I never was, but I admit, there are some really good parts in this. I absolutely love the instrumental part after Shindong’s rap, and I wish there was more of that in the rest of the song. The raps are very unique, and Donghae and Ryeowook particularly impress me at how good they sound rapping in this style. I also really like how the end goes on for a while. This song doesn’t follow the typical formula, and the uniqueness is refreshing and makes the song interesting. There are a lot of different parts and they all flow in and out of each other really well.

However, even after three years, I still can’t take “Go kick it in the butt” seriously. It sounds so immature for a group of 20-30 year olds to be saying.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

For me, cinematography breaks down into two parts: the actual sets and the camerawork/editing. The former is done great, while the latter…could have been spy8better. Let’s start with the good.

The rooms they dance in look great. They are all very classy and fit this theme perfectly. I love all of the reflective surfaces, and my favorite set would have to be the one with a simple mirrored floor. I absolutely love the scene with the blood dripping around them as they dance.

However aside from the dancing, the rest of the video is pretty dull. We see image after image of the members of Super Junior shooting various guns at no apparent target with a silhouette of a girl dancing around them. It spy6is just a bunch of video editing without any real story or plot.

We get it. They shoot guns.

I really wish we could have seen more in the “story” scenes rather than all of them holding the exact same expression and having bullets explode from their guns.

Score: 3/5

Wardrobe

spy9

If there is one look Super Junior has mastered, it is suits. They all look fabulous in the dance scenes. They all have the James Bond look down pat. Eunhyuk, Ryeowook, Donghae, and Leeteuk look the best in my opinion.

spy3The only place where the wardrobe falls short is in the solo shots and the hair. Some of them have amazing hair: Siwon, Ryeowook, Donghae. Others are not so great: Sungmin, Kyuhyun, Shindong. Slicked hair just doesn’t look good on them, and definitely not with that hair length. As for solo shots, Eunhyuk’s, Ryeowook’s, and Sungmin’s outfits in particular do not fit with this concept.

Score: 4.5/5

Dance


The video may not be very special, but the dance is amazing. There are so many different formations and domino effects; there is always something interesting to look at. The dance break as well as the intro and end sequence are all really fun and fit the sneaky James Bond concept perfectly. I love how Kangin actually looks like a spy sneaking around a crowd during his rap part.

spy5

spy7My only complaint (and it is really nit-picky but I have to point it out): While Super Junior’s synchronization is nearly always on point, they really lose it during that move where they all take off their jackets and dust their feet. Not a single member does it the same way and that just doesn’t look nice. It is a very small part though. The rest of the dance is really great and definitely one of my favorites from Super Junior.

Score: 4.9/5

Overall, this video was a disappointment when it first came out. However, now looking back, there are a lot of parts of it that I really like and have grown to appreciate. It is by no means Super Junior’s best music video, but they definitely pull off this concept very well. I am pretty confident that if they had added actual story scenes, the video would have been much more interesting.

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What do you think of this new series?


#NowPlaying: Evil by SHINee. One of my favorite SHINee songs ever. It reminds me so much of Bollywood. Even the Korean lyrics sometimes sound like Hindi in this song. If you’re looking for an upbeat dance song, look no further.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Super Junior’s “Spy”

What are your thoughts?

