Kim Sung Kyu “The Answer” Music Video Review

So far, 2015 has been one amazing year for songs. This one made me realize that.

Song

This is one of my favorite songs of the year. It is not flashy or loud, but it is just composed perfectly and has such a nice melody. The background instrumental makes it really epic with a triumphant and inspiring feel towards the end.

I’d also like to point out how nice the use of English is. It isn’t in your face. It complements the song and gives the meaning more impact.

The song makes me feel nostalgic at times, especially during the chorus, and I’m not quite sure why. Maybe it reminds me of another song?

Score: 5/5

Cinematography

theanswer4A nice video to match a nice song. Even if there isn’t a full story, this is still an entertaining video to watch. All of the rooms are really beautiful. I love the care and creativity put into the main room that Sung Kyu sings in. That tree in the back is a really pretty touch. I also really like the whole concept of the floating diamonds that when touched bring the room into color.

Then we got beautiful camera angles like this one:

theanswer

The photographer in me is squealing with happiness at the perfect composition of this scene.

Of course, it would have been nice to know exactly what those floating diamonds were for or had that be an actual story, but hey, we can’t always get everything.

Score: 4.5/5

Wardrobe

theanswer3There are only three outfits in this video, and overall they all look really nice on Sung Kyu. The black leather look suits him the best of the three, especially with the whole singing into the mic in that scene. The two white outfits are great too. I love the simplicity of this video. Like everything else, nothing was so over the top that distracted you from the sound and meaning of the song.

Score: 4.5/5

Overall, I was so impressed with this video. There isn’t much to it, but it is easily one of my favorites of the year. The components that are included all fit each other so perfectly. It is simple, but by no means boring. I am really happy with Sung Kyu’s comeback.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

Gosh, INFINITE and I have come such a long way. Almost exactly a year ago I did not like them at all, and now here I am actually really excited about this comeback. I wouldn’t yet say they are one of my favorite groups, but at least now I am big fan of a few particular members, including Sung Kyu. 🙂

This was a short review because I’m currently on a time crunch. Sung Kyu’s Kontrol is coming next!

Random sidenote: What is it with K-pop soloists changing the English spelling of their name?! First Hyorin going to Hyolyn and now Sunggyu going to Sung Kyu! It just makes it that much more confusing to search for someone!


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on Sung Kyu’s video?


#NowPlaying: Just Tell Me by MYNAME. Oh my gosh I am obsessed with this song. I’m not going to be reviewing the music video, but you should all listen to this song. It’s great. (Ever since writing that post about Baby I’m Sorry I’ve been really digging MYNAME. I can see myself becoming a big fan of them in the near future.)


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

