Blogging from A to Z Day 23: Wondaland

W is for Wondaland

W

MFBTY recently came back with a full-length album, and it is definitely one of my favorite albums of 2015.

The members of MFBTY, Yoon Mi Rae, Tiger JK, and Bizzy all have long histories in K-pop and K-hip-hop that go beyond my knowledge of K-pop. I first discovered them through Eat Your Kimchi’s interview with them when they were promoting Sweet Dream. Since then they have released a couple more music videos that I have really liked, and I was extremely excited and happy with this recent release.

They stated that this is a K-pop album (as opposed to hip hop), and while it is different from the typical K-pop album, it is pretty good. A lot of it reminds me of the Black Eyed Peas. There are a total of 17 songs on this album, so I will just be focusing on my few favorites. In my opinion however, every single song on this album is worth listening to.

Hello Happy


We all knew Yoon Mi Rae is an amazing singer and she outshines herself with this song. Of course, we get the amazing rapping alongside a soulful, uplifting chorus. As I said, this is not a sound we hear often in K-pop. It’s refreshing on this album.

부끄부끄 (BuckuBucku)


Hehe. 🙂 I like this a lot. This song appeals to everyone’s quirky side. I can’t get enough of the cute “bucku-bucku-buckuro” in the chorus. And it has Rapmon! I am also obsessed with Yoon Mi Rae’s rap in this. She just belongs on the top.

눈빛에 (In Your Eyes)


This is my favorite song on the album, and it’s probably the most similar to the typical K-pop sound. It has that sing-rapping that I love, a fun instrumental, and really nice melody in the chorus. The raps are a little slower, so I can actually sing along to this one. 😉

Rebel Music


This is another fun one. MFBTY is so talented at incorporating interesting raps with incredibly catchy choruses. There is a lot of English in this song, and the lyrics are pretty powerful. I really like the whole vibe of this song.

Bang Diggy Bang Bang


I already talked about this song on this blog, but I will just repeat that this is one fun song. I recently read in an interview that there is Indian influence in this song, and I can’t believe I didn’t identify it sooner! I knew when I first heard this song that there was something familiar about it, but I just couldn’t place it. Now it all makes sense. Maybe that’s why I love it so much…

Let It Go


This is the song that reminds me the most of the Black Eyed Peas. Regardless, I love this song. This is my favorite of Yoon Mi Rae’s raps on this album.

BizzyTigerYoonmirae (Smells & Reno Remix)


I can’t get enough of this song. I already loved the original version and this one just makes it even better. I love fast songs, so this remix is right up my alley, and I am really happy they included it in this album. “BizzyTigerYoonmirae” is one of the catchiest hooks I have ever heard. Then they add that “rum pa-pa-pum” in there and I am singing this song to myself for weeks. (Beware though, once you start listening to this version, the original is going to sound so slow.)

Sidenote: The more I see and and hear MFBTY in their songs and interviews, I realize just how much I love Yoon Mi Rae. She is becoming one of my favorite people in the world. She is a beautiful singer, but also a legitimate rapper. At the same time, she is a mom, a wife, and an overall genuinely nice and sweet person.

I guess she is one of my role models? Hmm…I never thought about that before but it’s true. Except for the fame, she really is the type of person I would like to be. Someone who is nice, caring, and talented, but also has that edge that no one can mess with. I just love everything about her.

If you’re interested in buying this album, it is only $10 on iTunes for all 17 songs. If that isn’t a steal, I don’t know what is.


Question of the Day:

What do you think of this album? Were you already a fan of MFBTY or is this your first time hearing their music?


#NowPlaying: Midnight Blues by Super Junior. Since there are so many songs in this post, I wasn’t going to include a #NP song, but this is my 250th post so I have to include Super Junior somehow on here. 😉 This is one of my favorite Suju songs. It’s definitely among their most unique.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

