Blogging from A to Z Day 22: Vocalists

V is for Vocalists

V

We’ve got rappers covered. Now for today I’ll cover my favorite vocalists in K-pop.

Of course everyone in K-pop can sing, but there are some people who are just ridiculously talented who could always use some more recognition. I’m really not a ballad person, but even I would listen to a boring slow song if one of these people were singing it:

EXO is often dismissed as a group of just pretty faces and dancers, but Baekhyun and Chen are really exceptional vocalists.


I was just blown away when I first listened to that. These two are real powerhouse vocals.

Obviously, I can’t talk about K-pop without mentioning my loves, Super Junior.  For as long as I have been into K-pop, Yesung has always been one of my favorite vocalists.


In fact, until these 2012 groups debuted, he was my #1 favorite. We’re down to the final weeks before he returns from the military and I can’t wait! The last Super Junior album just wasn’t the same without his ending adlibs.

When first putting this list together, my immediate thought went straight to B.A.P’s Daehyun. I am still recovering from seeing them in concert last year. Daehyun was just unbelievable live. He is an amazing and powerful vocalist. I don’t want to betray my bias Jongup, but I don’t know how much longer I can deny Daehyun the bias position. Every time I think about how much I miss B.A.P, Daehyun is almost always the first person I think of.


I am seriously living off of his instagram updates. I love that he is still singing and sharing his voice with us.

Time for the ultimate biases. No, Donghae and Eunhyuk are not on this list. I may love them, but they are by no means powerhouse vocals. No, that is for my ultimate female bias. Ailee. She is incredible. Her voice is unreal. I really could have used any of her songs to show just how unbelievably perfect she is, but I decided on the following video which also includes SISTAR’s Hyorin, another phenomenal female with a voice that can’t be beat.


I am so happy that Hyorin and Ailee found each other as duet partners. This is their most recent duet together, but in the past they have covered Let It Go from Frozen and Lady Gaga’s Telephone.

Now to end, the person who inspired me to create this list: VIXX’s Ken. Ultimate Bias #3. His following performance simply took my breath away:


I have never liked Adele, but Ken converted me. He completely owned that song.

Ken gets another video because his voice is like honey:


Years into the future, when VIXX gets older and they go their separate ways, I can imagine Ken staying in the music industry as a soloist. He would really be amazing. I now have a running list of songs that I want Ken to cover:

  • a full cover of Wildflower by Park Hyoshin
  • So Sick by Ne-Yo
  • Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars (I demand this happen after that little teaser he gave us)
  • Love Me Like You Do by Ellie Goulding
  • All of Me by John Legend

Question of the Day:

Who are your favorite vocalists? Leave me video links!


#NowPlaying: Someone Like You by BTS’s V. I didn’t get tickets to see BTS this July 😦 so I’m drowning out my sorrows with this song. It’s really impressive coming from V (my bias who I shall miss seeing terribly 😥 ). He isn’t known as a vocalist at all, but this cover isn’t half bad!


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

5 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 22: Vocalists

    1. Ok, it wasn’t until right after I posted this that I realized I forgot about him! I guess it’s because while he used to be one of my favorite vocalists all of these newer people came in and sucked up all of my attention. But I do still really love Jonghyun! His cover of “As Long As You Love Me” is amazing.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

