Blogging from A to Z Day 21: Underrated Music Videos

U is for Underrated

U

We all have some kind of list like this; those music videos that we just love and can’t understand why not everyone loves them as much as we do. For some, it may just be that their bias looked amazing in said video. For me, because I review videos, my list consists of music videos that I would have rated as some of the best of their year, but frankly have not been given an appropriate amount of attention. I have been holding on to this list pretty much since I started this blog, and now today, for U, I am ready to share. Below are, in my opinion, the top ten most underrated K-pop videos (in no particular order).

AKMU – Melted

(2014, 4M views)


It is possibly the most underrated music video on this list because it is one of the best music videos ever. It is a great song that could appeal to so many different people and the video tells a heartbreaking story that is so painfully true of this day and age. Everything about this is perfect. (Read my review here.)

BoA – The Shadow

(2012, 5M views)


BoA has had a long career of success, but this relatively recent music video is one of my favorite of hers ever. The song is great, but what sets this apart from other BoA video is the wardrobe, the dance, and the set. All put together very well, very entertaining, and really nice. I know this comeback was all about Only One but of the two The Shadow was definitely my favorite.

Jaejoong – Mine

(2013, 4M views)


This is the third music video I ever reviewed! That alone makes it a special video for me, but sentimental value aside, this is still one of the best music videos I have ever seen. It brings hard rock into K-pop, one of my favorite combinations EVER! But is also includes really cool costumes that suit Jaejoong perfectly.

Song Ji Eun – Don’t Look At Me Like That

(2014, 2M views)


This is probably my favorite music video by a female artist ever, which is a pretty big statement to make. Like Mine, this song brings in a bit of rock, and Ji Eun sings it beautifully. I also find this story to be captivating and symbolic on so many levels.

Park Jung Min – Not Alone

(2011, 700K views)


This one takes me back. Back when I was a newbie K-pop fan exploring outside of my Super Junior bubble. I am so glad I found this one because it is hard to miss. This video, performed by a member of the former legendary SS501, appeals to the misunderstood members of our race. It is a message to everyone telling them that they are not alone, and does so in such a raw way that is hard to find in K-pop.

Seungri – VVIP

(2011, 6M views)


🙂 This is one of my favorite music videos ever and actually what inspired me to make this list in the first place. It tells the story of Seungri, this high and mighty rich guy who lives in a mansion in Wonderland. As he sings about how great his life of luxury is, innocent Alice comes in and captivates him, making him realize that maybe there are things out there better than the superficiality of money and wealth.

Shinhwa – Venus

(2012, 6M views)


Another of my favorite music videos ever. Shinhwa is a pretty underrated group as a whole, especially to today’s K-pop fans. I know they used to be at the height of K-pop, but they took such a long break that newer K-pop fans don’t really know them at all, myself included. The highlight of this video for me is the dance. It is so classy and entertaining. They make use of their backup dancers amazingly. This is an example of when co-ed dancing looks good. The most amazing part: these are guys entering middle-agehood and still performing incredible dances like this one.

Sonamoo – Déjà vu

(2014, 400K views)


This is a relatively new video, coming out in December of last year, but the reason why I’m including it is because this is a group, similar to Red Velvet, who got blacklisted by a lot of fans the moment they debuted. The debuted right in the heat of B.A.P suing TS Entertainment, and while yes the do come from an abusive company, this was a pretty good video performed by some really talented girls. I wish more girls would do a concept like this. I absolutely love the song and the dance is so fun and entertaining.

Jang Woo Hyuk – Time is over

(2011, 600K views)


Another oldie but goodie. This one is a true dance video. While I may gush about how perfectly VIXX portrayed the cyborg concept with Error, Jang Woo Hyuk completely embodies robot in this music video. The dancing is just perfect, and I love how Jang Woo Hyuk keeps a blank expression for most of the dance, letting the choreography speak for itself. Jang Woo Hyuk is supposedly where Eunhyuk got his dancing inspiration from, and I have to say that if one was to be inspired by any dancer, Jang Woo Hyuk is a pretty appropriate way to go.

Bank Yong Guk (ft. BEAST’s Yoseob) – I Remember

(2011, 4M views)


Even though it isn’t technically a B.A.P music video, it is easily my favorite out of all of B.A.P’s activities. The song, a beautiful duet between Bang Yongguk and Yoseob, is one of my favorites ever. Of course, the story is the highlight. It is dramatic and emotional and at the end absolutely heart-breaking. I wish this video was recognized more as a B.A.P work because it is so good.

Super Junior M – Break Down

(2013, 24M views)


I have to include the most underrated video of my favorite group! Yes, 24 million views isn’t exactly “underrated” compared to the rest of the videos on this list, but compared to Super Junior’s other music videos, this is definitely the most underrated. Even within Super Junior M, this music video was never really given proper hype when it came out, which completely boggles my mind because I think it is the best of Super Junior M’s music videos. If it were Korean, I would have without a doubt included this in the list of best songs of 2013. This is also one of my favorite Super Junior dances. Not to mention the glorious wardrobe.

This was a really fun post for me to write. I have so much love for all of these videos. This was a nice walk down memory lane. 🙂


Question of the Day:

What would be on your list of most underrated music videos?


#NowPlaying: Koe Wo Kikasete by Big Bang. Yes, it’s in Japanese, but this is one of my favorite Big Bang songs ever. Let’s put this under the list of underrated songs.


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “Blogging from A to Z Day 21: Underrated Music Videos

  1. I think Suju M’s Breakdown was one of the first “kpop” songs I heard that got me into the whole K-world 😛

    My list of underrated music videos:
    K. Will’s “Please Don’t”
    BTS “We are Bulletproof Pt 2”
    Ailee “Heaven”

    Like

What are your thoughts?

