Jimin Park “Hopeless Love” Music Video Review

Oh my gosh, Jimin. I knew she was a good singer, but oh my gosh. This just blew me away.

Song

This song is beautiful. Simply beautiful. I am so impressed with Jimin’s vocals in this. Every part of it is so strong and passionate. She conveys her emotions really well in this song, especially in the chorus. This is so different from her songs with 15&, and I love it.

Score: 5/5

Story

Two girls and one guy in a friendship, you know heartbreak is coming. This story features Jimin and her two friends. The three start out as friends as Jimin sings about how she has a one-sided love with the guy. Throughout the video, as she grows more and more disheartened at him refusing her love, the pain intensifies as he starts to grow close with their other female friend. Eventually, Jimin simply becomes the third wheel in the romance between her crush and her best friend. The story ends with Jimin ending her relationship with both of them.

hopelesslove7

Needless to say, this is an incredibly sad story, especially since it is one nearly everyone has experienced to some degree or another. While it does include the cliche triangle romance, I like that it is focused on Jimin’s relationship with the guy starting from before he had another girlfriend. It makes the story about more than simply jealousy.

Overall it is told nicely, though it would have been nice if there was more to it.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

hopelesslove9The colors in this video do a great job at portraying the sad feeling as well as the tension and coldness that Jimin feels. While the three friends are smiling, the monotone colors show us that while Jimin may appear happy, on the inside she is sad. The feeling is made even more vivid when we see images of her singing alone in the middle of nowhere. I really like the juxtaposition of the three friends having fun and Jimin singing by herself.

There was one moment however that really caught me off guard. About two thirds of the way through the video, there is a scene in which someone is in a swimming pool. Because the camera never focuses on exactly what is hopelesslove8happening, for a moment I thought that maybe it was implying that Jimin killed herself. However, watching the rest of the video, I doubt that is what that scene was trying to portray. After watching this several times, I still can’t figure out exactly what the point of that scene is.

Score: 4.5/5

Wardrobe

hopelesslove1I was really surprised at Jimin’s look in this. She looks so beautiful! That dress suits her so well. She also looks really cute in the story scenes. I love her whole lollipop look in the scene with the toy machine. I am not too crazy about the over-sized jacket she wears halfway through the video because it totally does not match the mature persona of the rest of the video.

After seeing her wear fun and youthful outfits on After School Club, it is really nice to see her looking so mature in her solo music video.

Score: 4.9/5

Overall, I was so happily surprised with this music video. From being introduced to Jimin by her super crazy personality on After School Club, I am just blown away at the quality of this song and video. My jaw literally dropped when I watched this for the first time. I am always so impressed when singers can do a complete 180 from their tv personality to their music videos, and Jimin totally did it with Hopeless Love.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

A third of the year is gone, and I finally added my “Best of 2015” page! At the top of my blog, under “The Best of K-pop” you can now find my list of the best that K-pop has given us in 2015, from songs to music videos to dances. Of course, I will be constantly keeping the list up to date as new music videos come out throughout the rest of 2015.

As always, if there are other music videos that have come out this year that you think I should check out, leave me a comment! I am always looking for new things to watch. 🙂


Question of the Day:

Does anyone know what the point of that pool scene was?


#NowPlaying: Storybook by NU’EST. As a reward for working really hard these past two semesters, I bought myself NU’EST’s Re:BIRTH album a couple of days ago. This is one of my favorite songs on it. It’s just one of those really nice feel-good songs. 🙂


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me in Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

