EXO “Call Me Baby” Music Video Review

Okay. Remember, as you’re reading this, that I am a fan of them. I love them. I know how talented they are. And this music video definitely does not do them justice.

Song

Well, I definitely like this song much more when separated from the video. The verses flow very smoothly in and out of the chorus. While I am not a fan of the repetition of “Call Me Baby,” I like the general melody of the song.

However, the second the rap starts, everything seems to go downhill. The raps themselves are done pretty well, but the background music is so chaotic and distracting. Then after that, the song just takes too long to end. If they had just done the rap a little better, this would have been a really good song.

callmebaby9

                          Our only two Chinese members left…

One of the most commendable aspects of this song is how evenly-distributed the lines are amongst the ten members. While Chen did get an overwhelming majority, I am happy to see how much attention Lay, Tao, and Xiumin got in this song, especially considering it is the Korean version. While Sehun only seems to get a small portion of the rap, even his voice is clearly heard in the “Call Me Baby” repetitions.

Now can we all stop and appreciate that beautiful moment of harmonization between Chen and D.O. during the bridge. That is one thing EXO consistently does really well in their songs.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

I was really surprised upon watching this video, especially after all of those teasers we got hinting at a supernatural story. Regardless of the teasers, I still find myself disappointed. As a whole, the video is really callmebaby2empty. Similar to Growl, it is literally just the dance, which is entertaining, but not enough for an official music video.

Where Call Me Baby does better than Growl is the transitions. There are some really nice and creative transitions in this music video. I love the beginning with Xiumin, Suho, Sehun, and Baekhyun popping up behind Kai in the car, and then D.O.’s first line leading the camera from the couches to the callmebaby7table with Sehun and Lay. It’s also nice that we got many scenes with only a few of the members. I really like that moment before the rap with the four members moving side to side.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe

What. The. Hell.

callmebaby5

Excuse my language, but what were the stylists thinking? Poor Xiumin probably got the worst outfit choices in this video, but nearly everyone in that final dance scene could have looked better.

callmebaby8

callmebaby1Don’t even get me started on the hair. Lay and Sehun look alright, but as for the rest of them, I don’t think this is anyone’s best look. Chen and Kai are just plain bad. It is such a shame what they do to Kai in these comebacks. He is really handsome on his own, but the stylists keep ruining him by giving him these outrageous styles again and again.

Score: 2/5

Dance

They just can’t seem to keep their hands away from their pelvis area, can they? Honestly, they look like they are trying so hard to be suggestive in their movements that it takes away from what could have been an actual good dance.

The dance fits the beat pretty well, and shifting the formation around like they did in Growl is always creative, but as for the actual choreography, I am not impressed. The moves don’t flow together or draw me in at all.

And then they had moves like this:

callmebaby6

callmebaby3There is a nice moment during D.O.’s line right after the first chorus where all of the members are doing their own little shimmy around him, and I wish we could have seen more of that. Rather than constantly watching the fan’s reaction, they appear to really enjoy moments like those.

Score: 3/5

Overall, I was really surprised by this. I expected something much better. I know EXO, and they are capable of so much more than this. This is a video I would have expected from a lesser known group, not EXO. On the plus side, I have noticed that they all have gotten much better in their stage presence with this comeback, but as far as the music video itself goes, this is probably my least favorite EXO music video.

Overall Final Score: 3.1/5


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What did you think of the outfits in this music video? Any guesses as to what the concept was?


#NowPlaying: Paradise Lost by Gain. I am obsessed with this song.


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86!

3 thoughts on “EXO “Call Me Baby” Music Video Review

  1. Agreed, though ironically it was this song that sort of made me become more interested in EXO (before I liked them, but didn’t really stan them).

    The teasers made this whole mv underwhelming, though I still enjoyed the dance a lot.

    LAY THO.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did expect more from the video, given the teasers, but except for that I’m actually very pleased with this comeback! I love the song, and I think the majority of the members look really really good. Yes, there are some questionable hair and outfit choices (what the hell did Kai ever do to you, stylists?) but many of the members look better than I’ve ever seen them look. Lay and Baekhyun, especially, look absolutely gorgeous.

    I’m expecting a second music video that actually has something, anything, to do with the teasers, and as long as I get that, I’m really pleased!

    Like

  3. The music did make me want to dance. Naturally, I can’t understand the words, except at the beginning. I dislike it when singers grab his/her pelvic. It looks stupid & dirty. Don’t get me started on the wardrobe! lol I love seeing sharpy dressed men & women. The rap portion could be dropped altogether and I wouldn’t miss it. I am not a rap fan. Exo has talent as a whole. Thanks for the introduction!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

