Blogging from A to Z Day 2: [The] Beat Goes On

B is for [The] Beat Goes On!

B

Donghae and Eunhyuk. My loves. My ultimate biases. My two favorite people in all of entertainment. Last month Super Junior D&E, Donghae the Ultimate Bias #1 and Eunhyuk the Ultimate Bias #2, completely made my year by releasing their first ever full-length Korean album, The Beat Goes On. And it is amazing!

Now, I’m not just saying that simply because of who they are. I was actually genuinely surprised at how good the album is because to be honest, I didn’t expect it to be this good. Not that they aren’t talented, but their Japanese albums together have been just okay, but nothing amazing, especially compared to the rest of K-pop. However this album is without a doubt my favorite Eunhae album, and quite possibly one of Super Junior’s best albums as a whole. It’s one thing to love an album because you love the singers, but my love for this album comes more from a place of pride, at how well Donghae and Eunhyuk did with this. Compared to Super Junior’s other songs and albums, this one is really exceptional. Let’s go through the track list, shall we?

The Beat Goes On


My first reaction was happiness at all of the raps in this. While I am overjoyed at how much Eunhyuk has been singing these days, he is the main rapper of Super Junior and I really like him as a rapper. They say “The beat goes on and it never ends” and let’s be honest: this is definitely a beat I don’t ever want to end.

Growing Pains (너는 나만큼)


I already reviewed both the song and music video, so you can check that out for my full thoughts. I’ll just say that to this day, the effects of this song still haven’t worn off. I still love it and think it is one of Super Junior’s best title tracks ever. The singing, the background instrumental, the rap, the composition…

Sweater & Jeans


Hands down, my favorite song on the album. This is seriously going down on the list of my favorite songs ever. I could get lost in this melody. This song is so different from any of Super Junior’s songs, and even the songs Donghae & Eunhyuk have sung, but it was made for their voices. Neoneun nae vintage sweater and jeans~

Breaking Up


Here is the classically Super Junior song on the album. While the verses and raps may sound like every other song out there, I really like the long, drawn out notes in the chorus. Again, I am so impressed at how good Donghae and Eunhyuk’s voices sound. This entire album has made me realize that their parts in Super Junior’s songs as a group have never done them any justice.

Lights, Camera, Action!


And this is where Donghae & Eunhyuk find their own sound outside of Super Junior. This reminds me so much of their Japanese songs like Motorcycle and I Wanna Dance. This loud, fast-paced, techno-heavy song is literally what I love in music. I know, all you non-mainstream people probably look down on people like me, but I can’t help it. I love this sound. If I ever get to go to a Super Show in my life, this is a song I would really want them to perform.

Can You Feel It? (촉이와)


This is one catchy song. This is also where both Donghae’s and Eunhyuk’s rapping ability shine. I just can’t get enough of all of the “Yo chingu, ne chingu? Ani nae chingu.” It has that Super Junior silliness in the lyrics (reminding me of their hilarious Oops!), but even regardless of the lyrics, this is song is just an experience from beginning to end.

If you didn’t catch it, a couple of days ago they released a hilarious video for this song, featuring a bunch of SM artists doing the dance. I swear, no one is a bigger fan of Donghae & Eunhyuk than Heechul.

Mother


I’ll admit, this is the one song I consistently skip. It is nice and has a beautiful message, but the melody just isn’t for me. I’m sure there are others who would appreciate this sound, but I personally am more into the faster-paced songs. It was written by Donghae though which makes it very special, especially considering that for the past 8 years he has only had a mom. The lyrics are really very touching, and really makes me think about how thankful I am for my own mom.

I’m ordering my album today and I’m just so excited. After watching the music video, the minute I heard the first track, I knew this is one I would be buying.

BONUS: While getting the links to the songs, I found this video of EunHae singing “Oppa Oppa” at Kyuhyun’s sister’s wedding. I can’t believe they actually did this. Apparently Kyu’s dad specifically requested for it. LOL


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Thoughts on Eunhae’s album?


#NowPlaying: Still You by Eunhae. Throwback to their first Korean music video that gave me a whole other wonder of feels.

4 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 2: [The] Beat Goes On

  1. You spend a lot of time listening to music. K pop reminds me of NSinc and Backstreet Boys. What makes me curious is how many young people in the midwest listen to Korean pop music. It is obvious that you like the sound of the music over the lyrics.

    Like

    1. Yes, yes, and yes! I grew up listening to those 90s boy bands, although for me K-pop reminded me much more of Bollywood dance songs, which I also love. And it is definitely the sound that draws me in. Reading the lyrics afterwards can make me appreciate the song more, but even if the song is in English, if it has a catchy beat I’ll like it regardless of the lyrics.

      As for K-pop fans in the Midwest, there are over a thousand members on a Facebook group I am part of, and we have enough fans here to have had several concerts here last year. It’s surprising how many people I find who secretly like K-pop. It’s nowhere near mainstream, but especially around Chicago there are a lot of K-pop fans and nearly everyone has at least heard of it.

      Like

  2. OMG “the beat goes on” is AMAZING! high-five for having the same favorite song from the album as me!
    i watched “oppa oppa” again with my best friend after we watched “growing pains” together (she is very emotional and donghae is also her bias so she almost cried during the mv) and we couldn’t stop laughing, especially when d&e bring out the afro wigs. i can’t believe how much they’ve changed, but i’ve always loved them! and yes, the video for “can you feel it” is hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

