March 2015 in Review

Of course. The one month that is the busiest for me in school is the month in which everyone decides to come back. So many music videos came out this past month, and I was barely able to keep up. You saw how many reviews I was posting last week. Including that and the ten in this post, I still had to cut out some videos because there were just too many.

I am also going to be participating in the Blogging from A to Z Challenge, which involves blogging every day in April, on both of my blogs, so in preparation for that I just didn’t have time to write longer reviews for any of these videos. I did go through and rate them though! So if you want to quickly see what I thought of the music videos that came out this month, read on. This is one of my longer posts, so for your reference, the artists that I include on here are Lovelyz, XIA, Eric Nam, B.I.G, Stellar, MADTOWN, Red Velvet, Davichi, MFBTY, NS Yoon-G, Rap Monster, FT Island, N.SONIC, K.Will, LABOUM, and Taeil.

Lovelyz – Hi~

hi

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 2/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5
  • Dance: 4/5

Another cute video from Lovelyz. With this video, I faced the same problem I had in Candy Jelly Love: the video is just too sickeningly sweet. I think I just can’t handle Lovelyz’s concept, because that much sweetness is just too much for me. The dance is pretty good though.

Overalll Final Score: 3.1/5

XIA – Flower

flower

  • Song: 5/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 5/5

This music video could really be extended into a full length movie. First off, the song and dance are both amazing. There is such an epic quality to every part of this music video. There is so much to say about the story, but I’m saving that for another post, so I’ll just leave it at that.

Overall Final Score: 4.8/5

Eric Nam – I’m OK

imok

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 3.9/5
  • Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5

Oh Eric Nam. This song is so pleasantly characteristic of Eric Nam. It is really nice. The video had a nice story, but was a bit dull in my opinion. After the excitement that was Ooh Ooh, this one left me slightly disappointed, but that’s alright. I am just happy to see him finally making a comeback.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

B.I.G – Between Night n Music

betweenmusicnnight

  • Song: 3.9/5
  • Story: 2/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5
  • Dance: 4/5

I believe this is B.I.G’s third single, and they definitely played it safe with this one. B.I.G really drew me in with their debut video, but since then their second and now third music video has been pretty generic. Don’t get me wrong, the song is pretty good, but it doesn’t offer anything new. That dance break though. That’s a whole other story.

Overall Final Score: 3.2/5

MADTOWN – New World

newowlrd

  • Song: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

Similar to B.I.G’s video, this is another generic boy group, tough-guy image music video. There isn’t any spectacular singing in the song, but it is catchy enough. The video and dance are okay, but nothing I would watch again.

Overall Final Score: 3.3/5

Red Velvet – Automatic

automatic

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

Honestly, I really have no idea what is going on in this video. I like the song and dance, and the video looks good, but I can’t figure out what the meaning is supposed to be. Red Velvet is definitely proving again that they are different from the average girl group with this comeback.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

Davichi – Two Lovers

twolovers

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

Damn you Choi Ho! Sorry, excuse my language. The actor in this plays my least favorite character in It’s Okay, That’s Love, and he proved in this video as well just how much of a scumbag he is. The video is about the interesting story of one guy dating two girls, who happen to be best friends, and the video ends with his lies being revealed. It’s actually pretty well-done for a cliche story.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

MFBTY – Bang Diggy Bang Bang

bangdiggybangbang

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.9/5
  • Dance: 4/5

This song has been my jam all week. I love this video and how fun and carefree it is. I am loving MFBTY’s entire comeback with this new album, and Bang Diggy Bang Bang is a pretty good representation of the album as a whole. It has that fun, addicting chorus, surrounded by amazing raps.

Overall Final Score: 4.5/5

NS Yoon-G – Wifey

wifey

  • Song: 3.9/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 4/5

I have never heard so much English in a song, and it all sound perfect. This song and video are not quite my style, but everything is put together pretty well. I think this is my first real exposure to NS Yoon-G as a singer, and I am happily surprised. She is pretty talented all around.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Rap Monster – Do You

doyou

  • Song: 5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

THIS SONG. This is one of my favorite songs of the year. I just can’t get enough of that beat, and Rap Monster’s rap is on point. Even if there isn’t a whole lot to this video, I still find it really entertaining. It really allows for the song to speak for itself without being boring at all.

Overall Final Score: 4.7/5

FT Island – Pray

pray

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

This is also my first review of FT Island, which is surprising, because I’ve heard quite a few of their songs in my exposure to K-pop. Regardless, this is a pretty good video. I love the song, and the video seems to carry a similar meaning to Yong Jung Hwa’s Checkmate.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

N.SONIC – Black Out

blackout

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

I was really surprised when I watched this video for the first time. It is so…different. I’m not sure what to call the concept of this video (is it 90s?) but I really like it. The colors and chaotic song go together really well and make the video really entertaining.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

K.Will – Growing

growing

  • Song: 3/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

Growing is another sad, break-up music video. As far as K.Will’s music videos go, this one is definitely not his best. There is nothing particularly wrong about it, but the storyline has been done countless times before and this rendition doesn’t offer anything new. The song is also pretty generic for K.Will.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

LABOUM – Sugar Sugar

sugarsugar

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 2.5/5

Okay. I’m not big on the cutesy concept that girl groups love to do, but this is actually a really cute video. In the midst of all of the rap and dark videos that we have been getting lately, I really missed my bright and colorful videos, and this one is perfectly colorful and happy. There is also a really cute story involving little dolls falling in love with each other.

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

Taeil – 흔들린다 (Shaking)

shaking

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5

I have mixed feelings about this video. While I am happy that Taeil got a solo, I am disappointed at how simple the music video is. The camerawork is pretty interesting and there is a good amount of story development, but for the first half of the video, I found myself bored simply watching the girl smile and walk around.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

*sits back in exhaustion* Finally, that’s it for March. I think it’s safe to say that this has been one of the busiest months of my life. I’m actually kind of relieved that it’s over. Now that it’s April, I’m almost done with my semester! Guys, I’m getting close to finishing college. How did that happen?


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Which was your favorite comeback this month? It could be something not on this list because we all know I didn’t include everything.


#NowPlaying: Can I just make EXO’s entire EXODUS album on today’s Now Playing? It is really amazing. I may just make an entire post about it, but I’m not sure yet. For now, I’ll share one of my two favorites from the album: Exodus. The title track. The beat is really catchy, and I honestly think this would have made a really cool music video. (I haven’t listened to Call Me Baby yet. I’m going to watch the music video tomorrow and I want the song to be surprise. Review for that will be coming on Sunday.)


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

One thought on “March 2015 in Review

What are your thoughts?

