Amber “Shake That Brass” Music Video Review

I was super excited about this, but it didn’t really live up to expectation. The rest of her album is amazing though.

Song

Let’s start with the good. I love the raps to this song. Like the true rapper she is, Amber gives life and personality to her raps. The transitions between English and Korean are done flawlessly. I also love the lines Amber and Taeyeon do together in the second set of verses. That is my favorite part of the song.

Now I wish the rest of the song could have had the same momentum as the raps. The chorus doesn’t offer anything special in the realm of music, and frankly, I think the “nana na nana” part should be taken out completely. Overall, the chorus is too repetitive and monotonous to make this song memorable.

You all know I am a fan of Taeyeon. She sings her parts perfectly, but regardless I don’t think she was the best choice to be featured in this song. Her voice doesn’t really go with Amber’s. That is just my opinion of course.

It is worth noting that the main instruments used in this song are brass instruments. After some researching, the phrase “shake that brass” finally makes sense to me.

Score: 3/5

Story

shakethatbrass3This story reminds me a lot of that one Spongebob episode where everyone in Bikini Bottom gets together to form a band. It features Amber with all of her friends as she attempts to get them to perform for her, but we find out that they are all pretty horrible at playing instruments. In the end, they all abandon the instruments, let loose, and dance together.

There are also other mini stories, of Amber on the basketball court and in the Laundromat, but the overall theme of this video is Amber being surrounded by dull people and bringing the life and fun to them. It is good in that there is a beginning and end to the story, but I did not find it to be that interesting. This also doesn’t seem like the type of story that would grab anyone’s attention who is not already a fan of Amber. It would have been nice if they just stuck with the band story and developed it a bit more.

Score: 3.5/5

Cinematography

Colors, colors, and more colors! Visually, this is a really fun video. It is also always exciting to have a bunch of cameos. I absolutely love all of Amber’s and Taeyeon’s solo scenes.

shakethatbrass2As for the story scenes, as I said above, I wish they could have been more developed. There doesn’t seem to be one main concept in this video, just a bunch of partially-planned concepts. The Laundromat did not physically look like the same video as the rest of the scenes, and I don’t think the dance scenes and solo shots of Amber complement each other very well. A little bit more focus could have gone a long way.

Score: 2.5/5

shakethatbrassthumb3Wardrobe

The concept of the wardrobe is great in this video. It picks up on the best of Amber’s tomboy and girl-group qualities. I can’t emphasize enough how much I love her black outfit. That look suits Amber so well. She also looks really cute as a band director.

shakethatbrass1While the overall scheme of the wardrobe is good, there are some individual outfits that I just can’t bring myself to appreciate. The orange hoodie and the outfit with the bedazzled green shorts both need to go. They are both perfect examples of SM’s trying-to-be-edgy-but-just-looks-strange outfits. I was too naïve in thinking that Amber wouldn’t be subject to them as well.

Score: 3.5/5

Dance

The dance is interesting. There are some really interesting parts in the choreography. The beginning grabs my attention right away. The chorus however is disappointingly dull. I know Amber is capable of elaborate dancing, as seen from her f(x) videos, so it really throws me off how simple the majority of this dance is. In the chorus, she doesn’t seem that into it, which is so surprising to me. I really wish she could have put more energy and enthusiasm into this dance because while it is good, it could have really been amazing.

Score: 3.5/5

Overall, I admit myself disappointed. I am really surprised though. When I found out that Amber would be SM’s next solo artist, I knew that we would be seeing something big. She is such a talented rapper and singer and has a lot of good ideas about entertainment. Yet what we were given with Shake That Brass is just…mediocre. I’m sorry, Amber, but I was really expecting more.

Overall Final Score: 3.2/5

Question for you all: Does anyone know a safe way to make gifs from youtube videos? The website I used to use doesn’t work anymore.


Question of the Day:

What did you think about Amber’s solo debut?


#NowPlaying: Heights by Amber. Now this is the song that should have gotten the music video! It is so much better than Shake That Brass! Contrary to all of the negativity in this review, I love Amber’s album. All of the rest of the songs are so good. It makes me almost wish she debuted as a soloist instead of in a girl group because she has so much talent that just isn’t recognized when she is part of the group.


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86.

3 thoughts on “Amber “Shake That Brass” Music Video Review

  1. Wow this is interesting! I’m not sure if I’ve ever disagreed with you this much haha. I loved the song and the video and don’t think any changes are necessary. It’s aaaaall good.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I don’t know. I guess I had higher expectations. Maybe I’m in a mood lol.

      See, now here is a perfect example of two people disagreeing and not getting angry or emotional about it. 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

