January 2015 in Review

It’s my first monthly review of 2015!

If January is any indication of how this year will be, I think we’re in for some greatness this year. There were quite a few music videos to come out this past month, and I was pretty impressed with almost every one. I have a lot of music videos to talk about in this post, so let’s not waste any more time. For my January review, I will be talking about JJCC, Davichi, 9MUSES, After School’s Lizzy, INFINITE H, Jung Yong Hwa, and Mr.Mr’s Tey.

JJCC “Fire

januaryjjcc

  • Song: 3/5
  • Story: 3/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5
  • Dance: 5/5

This video hit me right in the B.A.P feels. It’s a really good video though. Saying it is like B.A.P is not a criticism; it’s a complement. I love the sound of the song and the feel of the video. While the song by itself is a little bit messy, when coupled with the video it gets infinitely better. The dance is the highlight for me. I also love any dance battle between the boys and the girls. Again, some parts of the video are a bit cheesy and gimmicky, but overall it’s great. JJCC finally got my attention.

Overall Final Score: 3.7/5

Davichi “Cry Again

januarydavichicry

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5

Oh Davichi. They have been there for me almost since the very beginning of this blog. Some of my first reviews were of their music videos, and even though they only do ballads, which are not my thing, they are pretty consistently good. This is such a pretty song. I have heard quite a few Davichi songs, and their voices sound particularly nice in this song compared to their others. I found two possible interpretations of the story. The basic plot is Min Young’s boyfriend breaking up with her, but her not being able to accept it. Throughout the video, we see Haeri following the couple and comforting Min Young when she cries. I think this could either be a story of a friend helping another friend, or this could be Haeri watching herself and wanting to convince herself to let the boy go.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

Davichi “Sorry, I’m Happy

januarydavichihappy

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

Another Davichi video! I really enjoyed this one. It is a slightly upbeat song featuring Min Young and Haeri walking around Budapest, Hungary, fooling around and having fun with each other. There are some beautiful shots of Budapest in this, which alone makes this video worth watching. We also get a lot of really cute moments between Min Young and Haeri. Watching this video now makes me want to go on a trip abroad with my best friend.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

9mUSES “Drama

january9muses

  • Song: 2.9/5
  • Story: 3.5/5
  • Cinematography: 2.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5
  • Dance: 3.9/5

This video is about the ladies of 9MUSES in their drama, each literally going through their own drama with each other or other people. I really like the concept of the video, and I really wish they could have included more of the story scenes or at least released a drama version. I feel that too much of the video was focused on the members’ faces rather than the dance or story. I do like this dance a lot. Some parts are a bit slow, but overall it’s pretty good, especially for a girl group.

This is totally random, but a lot of this song reminded me of Genie’s “Friend Like Me” song from Aladdin. Never in my life would I have expected to find any connection between 9MUSES and Aladdin, but every time I hear Kyungri’s first line that begins “You and me…” I can’t help but think of the Genie song.

Overall Final Score: 3.2/5

Lizzy “Not An Easy Girl

januarylizzy

  • Song: 4/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

I think I love trot music. Super Junior-T was my favorite of Super Junior’s subgroups and now, whenever I hear anyone cover a trot song, I love it. And I love this song. The video is also done really well. The whole story is done like an old historical drama. I am happy that they actually make it look really old. It’s not like those videos that have an “old” concept but still look current. I’m sure someone who knows more about Korean culture and history could say more about this, so I won’t pretend to be an expert on the story or video, but I just really like it. It’s unique and I think it deserves some love.

Maybe this is part of trot style, but I don’t really like how breathy her voice gets at certain parts of the song. Does anyone know if she was doing it on purpose?

Overall Final score: 4.3/5

INFINITE H “Pretty

januaryinfiniteh

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 2.5/5
  • Dance: 4/5

Again and again I am impressed with Hoya and Dongwoo. It is rare that a group’s rapper can also be skilled at singing, but both of the members of INFINITE H are crazy talented at both. They both sound really good in this song. The composition could have been better; I feel that the raps lack enough rhythm, but the video makes up for it. It is a funny story of Hoya the prosecutor going head to head with Dongwoo the defense. The fact that the crime itself is being so distractingly pretty is enough of a laugh, but the little quirky moments between Dongwoo and Hoya make this video really entertaining. INFINITE H definitely has their own style to their music videos and it is so much fun.

Overall Final Score: 3.7/5

Jung Yong Hwa “Checkmate

januaryyonghwa2

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

My immediate thought the moment the song started playing: OMGYESFINALLY! This is the song I have been waiting for from Yong Hwa. This song and video are both hands down my favorite of Yong Hwa’s solo debut. I am so impressed at how they mixed Korean and Mandarin. It is a really amazing collaboration between Yong Hwa and JJ Lin. As for the story, I may not understand the whole thing, but I love it. Here is what I got: Yong Hwa hates his monotonous office life, meanwhile JJ Lin has been given a job that he does not want to complete. Both of them break away from their jobs and are liberated, but their other co-workers, still stuck in the life of following orders come after them. I know there is more to the story, so if someone could leave me a comment explaining it to me, I would really appreciate it.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

Tey “Dangerous

januarytey

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Story: 4/5
  • Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

We are ending this month with Tey’s solo debut. The song, video, and dance are all great, but there is something I just can’t shake. I’m not one for conspiracy theories, but this video is WAY to similar to Taemin’s “Danger.” I know, everyone has been saying it, but for once I actually agree. It’s not just that the concept and title is similar, because if that was all, it wouldn’t be worth making a fuss over. However the logo, the wardrobe, the backgrounds, and even specific parts of the dance all directly reference Taemin’s video. I know Mr.Mr’s company had some beef with SM for naming SNSD’s song “Mr. Mr” but this just isn’t cool. Of course, I in no way blame Tey himself for this. It’s all part of the inter-company game. I am still docking his score by .1, just because I think it was way too obvious and uncool.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

That’s it for January! I am looking forward to talking about February’s music videos. I don’t think anything has come out yet, has it?

I can’t wait for my VIXX to be back in just a couple of weeks. You know I’m going to be all over that. 😉


Question of the Day:

Any thoughts on any of these videos or one that I didn’t talk about?


#NowPlaying: Pretty Girl by MBLAQ. This is one of my favorite songs by MBLAQ. It’s nothing like any of their singles, but it is just a really nice song. The composition is so sweet. God, I am really going to miss them if the remaining three members disband…


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86.

One thought on “January 2015 in Review

  1. I definitely see Taemin in Tey’s video, but I don’t think it’s nearly as good. If you’re going to copy someone, you have to do it better, otherwise you just look like a fool. He looks great though.

    Oh and about Lizzy, my very limited experience with trot music tells me that that kind of singing is quite standard. I haven’t heard a lot of trot, but I’ve definitely heard that technique before.

    I wasn’t very impressed with 9MUSES this time around, but I was very happy to see Sojin as a new member. I grew very fond of her during the Nasty Nasty promotions, so I’m glad I’ll be seeing more of her. Plus that means I know one more member, and that’s always something! Free knowledge for the win!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

