4Minute “Cold Rain” Music Video Review

Wow, it’s been a long time since I talked about 4Minute. For once I am so happy to be reviewing a music video by them! I missed them! I admit, I almost didn’t recognize them when I first watched this video.

Song

This is such a beautiful song. It is so soft and delicate. The composition is so good; there was not a single moment where I didn’t feel totally connected to this song. I absolutely love all of the “doodoodoos.”

My favorite part of the song is Hyuna’s rap and singing. She really sounds beautiful in this. I have never thought of 4Minute, and especially Hyuna as “delicate” before, but when she isn’t trying so hard to be cute, Hyuna can really be beautiful.

The only thing stopping me from saying this song is perfect is Jiyoon’s “I cannot live without you. No life” during the chorus. I feel that line disrupts Gayoon’s soft singing.

Score: 4.9/5

Cinematography

coldrain1Cold Rain portrays the sad theme of the song pretty well without getting too boring. We see the members appearing sad, but to make things interesting, as each member sings, we also get glimpses of the other members in the background. coldrain2The transitions are done really smoothly in this video, shifting from one member’s part to the next. I love how they all come together in the end. The frequent appearance of rain is also very fitting and great at setting the mood.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

coldrain4

We get a mix of good and slightly ridiculous with this video’s wardrobe. Hyuna and Gayoon look the best in my opinion. The overall concept of the wardrobe is nice and elegant. Sometimes however, the huge fur accessories just become too over the top. Jihyun’s…I don’t even know what to call it looks ridiculous, and poor Sohyun looks like she is being strangled by her neck warmer.

As a whole, I like this concept more than I dislike particular outfits. It fits the mood of the song really well.

Sidenote: I would put Jiyoon’s outfit in my favorites as well if it weren’t for that damn hat! It seems I just can’t escape the hat. I am just going to sit here and grit my teeth, waiting for this trend to end.

Score: 3.5/5

Overall, I cannot thank CUBE enough for finally switching up 4Minute’s style. All of their videos were starting to look the same, and now seeing them release Cold Rain is the refreshing change I have been waiting for. Only my older readers may have noticed this, but I kind of swore off 4Minute after 2013. The way CUBE promotes them goes against my personal beliefs, so I made the decision to just not watch them or talk about them on this blog (but never outright hate on them). This video I can definitely like though. 🙂

But boy did I miss my Jiyoon. I was so happy to see and hear her in this. 🙂 (She used to be my female ultimate bias.)

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

I’m looking forward to 4Minutes next video! (I really hope I’m not disappointed.)


Favorite Moment:

This was the moment where I really started paying attention to the video. Her walking all alone and singing is dramatic in the most perfect way.

This was the moment where I really started paying attention to the video. Gayoon walking all alone and singing is dramatic in the most perfect way.


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

How do you think 4Minute did with a style like this? It is definitely new for them.


#NowPlaying: Obsession by G-Dragon. It’s hard to explain, but there is just something about this song that I can’t get enough of.


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86.

What are your thoughts?

