Jung Yong Hwa “Mileage” Music Video Review

This is super late, but for those who still are interested, I really wanted to acknowledge Yonghwa’s solo debut. I really like this video.

Song

This is pretty much my first encounter with Yong Hwa as a singer, and I must admit myself impressed! His voice is lovely in this song. The whole thing has a very light and smooth sound. He really nails the high parts of the chorus. The rap at times sounds a bit dull, but as a whole it sounds nice next to the singing.

Is there a name for those types of songs that would sound great in a coffee shop? This is definitely one of them.

Score: 4/5

Story

This is a really cute story. The husband (Yong Hwa and YDG) works all day as the male equivalent to a housewife, and now is finally asking his wife if he can take a break and go hang out with his friends. He is using his “mileage” mileage5points to be able to take a break and just let loose with his friends.

It is so much fun watching Yong Hwa and YDG slave away taking care of their “wives” and “sons,” cleaning the house and going grocery shopping, and then seeing them acting like goofs with each other on their nights off. It may be exaggerated, but I’m sure this is something that actually happens to whoever the homemaker in a marriage is. After spending all day working on the house and the kids, he just wants to let loose and essentially act like a kid himself.

Score: 4.5/5

Cinematography

mileage6I absolutely love the props used in this video. Everything is “fake,” even down to the wife and son. The video is fun and colorful and just a joy to watch. I love how none of it actually had to be that way. The producers could have just made Yong Hwa and YDG in a normal house and store, but the fake mileage2theater theme gives the video an added fun and creative element. Is there a reason why they are not actually lying on top of the bed but standing up in front of it? No, but it’s more fun to watch like this.

The scenes they choose to include of Yong Hwa and YDG slaving away at home coupled with their quirky way of enjoying each other’s company on their nights off are also really fun to watch.

Score: 5/5

Wardrobe

Everyone looks pretty good in this video. While some of the outfits may seem over the top for their specific characters, like Yong Hwamileage supposedly wearing a furry sweater over a polo shirt to bed, it all fits with the colorful theme of the video as a whole. Yong Hwa looks really sharp in the night scene and in his blue outfit. That giant fur coat has got to go though.

I really like how YDG looks in the house scenes. He looks like such a typical Mr. Mom.

Score: 4/5

Overall, this video was put together really well. It told a story that may be common in the real world, but is not told hardly ever in the music industry. They made the video super fun and entertaining and I really loved it.

I’m really surprised that Yong Hwa, of all people, singing about needing a break from his wife and kids, considering he isn’t even married, however it’s interesting to see someone sing about being married rather than dating. I imagine this is what Lee Hwijae’s actual life is like, right down to how he parties once he’s with his friends. 😛

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5

I am really liking Yong Hwa’s solo debut! I’m thinking about posting a review for One Fine Day as well maybe some time this weekend.

I’m sorry I haven’t really been around this month. I had stuff going on at home earlier this month and I’m now trying to adjust to the new semester of school, so naturally I haven’t had a whole lot of time to blog.


Favorite Moment:

mileagegif

I just can’t get enough of this dance


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What is your favorite part of this video? Do you know anyone who could relate to this story?


#NowPlaying: Raining Spell For Love by Super Junior. Another hidden gem from Super Junior’s recent Mamacita album. Every time I listen to this song, I just love it even more.


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86.

2 thoughts on “Jung Yong Hwa “Mileage” Music Video Review

  1. I think Yonghwa could have done better. He sounds, and looks great, in both of his solo videos, but as a huge fan of both CNBLUE and him personally, I wanted to be blown away, and sadly, I wasn’t. It’s not bad, but I wanted more. I LOVE all the dancing he does in this video though, you can definitely tell that he ain’t no ordinary idol star lol.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

