Jonghyun “Crazy” Music Video Review

We’re starting off the new year strong with Jonghyun’s solo debut! This will be a shorter review since there is not a whole lot to the video, but fear not. I have good things to say. 🙂

Song

This song is so good. So good. I didn’t expect Jonghyun’s solo song to sound like this, but now I can’t think of a better song to fit his voice. The entire song is composed so well. I’m not sure what to call this sound (blues? R&B? I could be totally off…) but it is so different from the average K-pop song. The flow of the lyrics is perfect. This is the type of song in which one can lose oneself.

Score: 5/5

Cinematography

guiltypleasure2As I said in my reaction, there are a lot of really cool scenes in this video. My two favorite rooms are the dark room where Jonghyun is singing with his band and the dark room with all of the spotted lights shining on him. The overall darkness of the video fits the sound of the song and the whole dark concept of Jonghyun going crazy over a dangerous girl.

There are a lot of references to danger in this video, which I really appreciate as it relates the lyrics of the song to the video. The scene with Jonghyun sitting in front of a black silhouette with random staircases behind him gives off the message of guiltypleasurethumbhow crazy it is inside Jonghyun’s head, both figuratively and literally. I also like how the excitement builds up in the end with the rapid change of scenes, making his attraction to the girl not just a feeling, but a dangerous addiction. That scene of the spider attached to Jonghyun’s chains shows that it is the girl who has captured Jonghyun’s heart, literally holding him hostage.

Because I am me, I have to point out that I did not at all like how much of the video was spent simply showing off Jonghyun’s body. The video is about his voice and the feeling of the lyrics. Flashing abs here and there doesn’t do anything for the song and frankly, I find it unimaginative and uncreative.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe

guiltypleasure5As always with videos in which I have very mixed opinions, the wardrobe gets a score right down the middle. While I really like Jonghyun’s suit in the scene in which he is chained up and the red suit when he is singing with the band, all of the intense eye makeup, the white scarf around his neck in the scene with the head silhouette, and the gas mask just don’t fit this concept in my opinion. Iron’s outfit looks pretty good though.

And I realize that this is an unpopular opinion… but please… someone put a shirt on Jonghyun.

Score: 3/5

Overall, I am reluctant to call this music video good or bad. There were some very good aspects to it (the song and imagery) and other aspects, or lack thereof, that I found boring. Everyone is going to have a different opinion, so this video is there for those who appreciate it. Again, I am in love with the song; I just didn’t get a whole lot out of the video.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

Side point: Is it just me, or has Jonghyun been looking extremely thin lately, like in an unhealthy way? I know for some people it is simply the structure of their face, but I don’t remember Jonghyun’s cheeks always looking so sunken in. I’ve been noticing this since last year that his face is starting to look scarily thin. I really hope everything is alright and he isn’t sacrificing his health for his appearance.


Favorite Moment:

crazygif


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What do you think of Jonghyun’s debut? How did it compare to SM’s other recent solo debuts?


#NowPlaying: Best Luck by EXO’s Chen. I have never loved an OST so much. It is featured in the drama It’s Okay, That’s Love, which by the way is an amazing, amazing, AMAZING drama! I just finished watching it and it is really one of the best dramas I have ever seen. I recommend it to everyone.


Want to talk K-pop? Follow me on twitter @mystification86.

2 thoughts on “Jonghyun “Crazy” Music Video Review

  1. Best solo debut from SM, ever. And yes, that’s my completely biased opinion. Taemin did extremely well, and I like Henry’s solo stuff but Jonghyun just killed it.

    I do agree that he’s been looking a little thin, but I don’t think it’s that extreme. (Not that extreme for a kpop star, that is). There’s always been a sort of sunken in thing to his cheeks, and I think it’s gotten more extreme as he’s aged. I might be wrong though, and if he isn’t well SM better let, no make, him get help. I need my beautiful bias healthy.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

