October 2014 in Review

I feel like I start every month-in-review post the same way, but WOW this was a crazy month. Much busier for me than September was. I feel like I barely posted anything this month, and I apologize! I hope I didn’t lose any of you. To be honest, I just had a lot going on with my family (all good things, thank God), and the craziness of midterms.

Hopefully I should be better about keeping up to date with reviews and posts in November. All of the family drama is hopefully out of the way and I shouldn’t have a whole lot of exams until December. I actually have quite a few non-review posts I’ve been meaning to write, so hopefully within the next couple of months I can get those out and bring some diversity to this blog.

Now without further ado, the music videos of October. This is by no means a complete list of everything that has been released this month. There are over ten other videos I considered for this list, and probably even more that I never got around to watching, so keep in mind that this list is just of the highlights of the month for me. I really had to narrow it down to the five videos about which I know I would have a lot to say.

Boyfriend “Witch”

octoberwitchSong: 4/5

Story: 4/5

Cinematography: 4.5/5

Wardrobe: 4/5

Dance: 5/5

Like their past few music videos, Boyfriend came back again with a very interesting concept. Witch takes place in a fantasy world of witches and vampires. The boys are vampires who live with a witch, and while they try to learn how to be good humans, their witch friend goes in the opposite direction and becomes even more evil. The video ends with an epic battle between the Boyfriend vampires and their old witch friend, and in the end, the witch wins. The cinematography of the video is great in putting together the dark fantasy mood. I especially love the use of the curtains. Not only do they look cool, but they make for a unique and interesting dance. Everything about this comeback is very together and cohesive, and again I am just blown away at their dancing ability.

They are so far from their original cute image from their debut, but I’m not complaining at all. I really admire how versatile Boyfriend can be with their concepts. I still think Janus was the best.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

Girls’ Day “I Miss You”

octoberimissyouSong: 5/5

Cinematography: 5/5

Wardrobe: 3/5

I have never been a fan of Girls’ Day, but I have to appreciate how beautiful this song is. Their voices are so sweet and delicate and the composition is really well done. I am also surprised at how good the video is. Their acting is great in this. Of all of the sad, post-break up music videos I’ve seen, I found this video to be the most realistic.

To be clear, I have never experienced a break-up, but I have experienced loss and the feeling of yearning to see someone who is gone, and I think this video portrays that feeling perfectly. The scenes of the girls doing ordinary things, sitting in bed, making coffee, doing work, and suddenly feeling those intense sad thoughts is what actually happens when one experiences a loss. The specific scene of the member sitting on the floor (sorry, I don’t know her name), trying to drink her coffee but slowly becoming sadder and sadder until she has to put the drink down and curl into a ball and cry really spoke to me. Their acting really surprises me in this. Nice job, Girls’ Day!

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

BEAST “12:30”

october12300Song: 5/5

Story: 4/5

Cinematography: 4.9/5

Wardrobe: 4/5

Dance: 5/5

I didn’t think I would like this comeback considering the song is on the slower side, but I think this is actually one of BEAST’s best comebacks! The song is amazing. The lyrics flow really nicely and I absolutely love the pace of the rap. The story took me a few watches to really understand, but with the lyrics, it is actually pretty poetic. Doojoon and his girlfriend are like the hands on a clock, in the beginning (12:00), facing the same direction, but slowly in their relationship, they become more disconnected until they are face completely opposite directions when the hands on the clock are the farthest from each other (12:30). I love how while the time is symbolic of how close they are in their relationship, in the video, there are shots of the two of them literally facing the same direction, then sitting at a 90 degree angle, and then finally opposite to each other. The ending is extremely poetic when Doojoon realizes that in order for the clock to continue moving (making them close together again), he has to face her. They are still in the position of the hands of a clock at 12:30, but instead of facing opposite directions, they are facing each other, beginning their pathway to healing the relationship.

This is also quite possibly one of BEAST’s best dances ever. The movements match the beat and flow of the song perfectly, and the fact that there is always movement makes for a really interesting, amazing, and beautiful dance. I didn’t even expect them to add a dance to a slow song like this, but the one they gave us is just perfect.

I have so much to say about this video. This is one in particular that I wish I could have written  full review for.

Overall Final Score: 4.6/5

Epik High “Spoiler”

octoberspoilerSong: 4/5

Story: 4/5

Cinematography: 4.5/5

Wardrobe: 4/5

I was really happy to finally see Epik High come out with a new song. It’s been about two years since “Don’t Hate Me” came out, which was one of my favorite music videos of 2012. Spoiler is a pretty good video. The song screams YG. I know Epik High writes their own songs, but this one reminds me so much of WINNER’s debut, which doesn’t mean it isn’t a good song, but it doesn’t offer a whole lot new. I like the story though. It depicts the crumbling of a relationship pretty realistically in my opinion. I love that the video starts out from the girl’s perspective, of her slowly getting fed up with her boyfriend until she finally has had enough and breaks up with him, and then it switches to the boy’s perspective, unable to move on from her. The use of flashbacks is great in this video. First we see the scenes from the girl’s perspective, and then we see the same scenes again when the video switches to the boy, but this time the idea is that he is realizing how she was feeling when he showed little interest in her.

Overall, there really isn’t anything to complain about, except for one thing. Tablo, what’s with the hat? You’re better than that. (Seriously though, I really hate that those giant hats are actually becoming a trend in K-pop. I can’t wait for it to be over)

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

2AM “Days Like Today”

octoberdaysliketheseSong: 4/5

Story: 4/5

Cinematography: 4.5/5

Wardrobe: 5/5

Another post-break up video, but with a different take than the average video. This video is told from the perspective of an old man (I believe he is singing about his dead wife…? That is totally just an assumption on my part). The video follows him as he goes through an ordinary day and sings about how much he misses his girl. While it is clearly the members of 2AM singing the song, we see the old man lipsyncing it, really connecting his story to the lyrics of the song. I like how while the story is focused on him, the four members of 2AM can be seen throughout the video, taking on minor roles, but still clearly in the video. They are prominent enough to establish that it is their song, but they in no way overshadow the story. There is not a whole lot to make me come back and watch this video again, but it is put together very nicely.

Now I know I can’t have been the only one getting Dream High 2 flashbacks seeing Jinwoon playing in a street band.

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5

Note: I was planning on talking about BTS’s “War of Hormone,” but after reading the lyrics I’ve decided not to. I personally do not like when male singers spend the whole song talking about how crazy a woman’s body makes them, so as a personal choice, I won’t be giving that particular music video a review nor be posting my reaction.

And that wraps it up for October! Again, there were a lot of other videos that came out this month, but I just didn’t have the time to write about all of them. Actually, most of the videos from this post are ones I had wanted to write full reviews of, but life got in the way and I didn’t have time. I will be posting a couple of full reviews later this week though of October videos. Overall though, I’d say this was a pretty good month for comebacks.


#NowPlaying: Are You Ready? by B.I.G. (Another song that came out this past month. The video isn’t worth writing a whole lot about, but the song is great!)

2 thoughts on “October 2014 in Review

What are your thoughts?

