BTOB “You’re So Fly” Music Video Review

Long story short: This is basically Beep Beep but better.

Song

This song is very 90s, very old school, similar to Beep Beep. It is sung pretty well and I think the members’ voices sound particularly smooth in this song. I really like the “la lalala” part, but overall, this is a pretty generic song. There isn’t anything super special to make me say “Wow, this is a great song.”

For some reason, I really like that “How’d you like to hang with me tonight” that Peniel does in the beginning. I’m not sure why, maybe it’s the rhythm or the way he says it, but it’s one of my favorite parts of the song. All of Peniel’s parts are actually really well-done. He has a clear rap style in this song, even if it is just for a couple of lines.

Score: 3.5/5

Story

When I first watched this video, I wasn’t really paying attention to the story so I didn’t understand what was going on, but now that I’ve watched it a couple of times, it is actually a pretty fun and creative story.

Quick summary: The guys are all hanging out, fawning over the “pretty girl” and ignoring the “ugly girl.”youresofly6 The ugly girl secretly slips them a drink that makes them instead go crazy over ugly girls, but Sungjae didn’t get any so isn’t fazed by it at all. Throughout the story, all of the members, besides Sungjae, literally go crazy when they see an ugly girl, landing them in the hospital the next day. After they get out, they are back in front of the store from the beginning and again all fall in love with the ugly girl, youresofly10leaving Sungjae and the pretty girl to enjoy a date together. So in the end, everyone wins.

I really like the humor of this. Their acting is clearly over-exaggerated, but that is part of what makes it funny.

I am also happy about how clear the storyline is. It was a good choice on the director’s part to have Sungjae left out of drinking the mystery drink, because we then get to see the difference between the members who drank it and the one who didn’t, making the connection between the drink and behavior very clear. I didn’t really have to do a whole lot of guessing at all when figuring out this story.

I am hesitant to say that the story is all good considering that the main storyline involves the clear objectification of beauty. It’s hard to avoid, but I just had to put that out there. I’m not too comfortable with the fact that the supposedly only way any of the guys would have cared about the “ugly girl” would be if they had been essentially poisoned.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography

The sets in this video are very simple, but that is part of the beauty. youresofly9There are only three or four sets, which makes it easier to keep up with the storyline. The doctor scene was a bit unrelated in terms of appearance and I think could actually have been taken out altogether.

I like how the camera and editing always comes back to Sungjae’s reactions to the events going on. It always adds to the humor to see him utterly confused at how his members are behaving.

Overall there is a pretty good balance between story and dance scenes. Some of the scenes get a bit chaotic, but in general it isn’t too distracting.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

youresofly4Like the story, the wardrobe of this video is very fun. I really like Changsub’s outfits in this. He is always a hit or a miss for me when it comes to the wardrobe, but I think this particular casual look really suits him. Minhyuk’s jean jacket outfit works wonders for him, particularly with that haircut. Other favorites of mine are Ilhoon’s outfit when he is rapping youresofly8in the store and Peniel’s highlighted hair.

Some of the outfits are a little strange (Ilhoon’s silver shirt, the scarf thing Peniel has around his shoulders) but overall all of the outfits fit together nicely.

Score: 4/5

Dance

youresofly7BTOB excels at these fun stages, and You’re So Fly is no exception. The beginning is really well done with all of them popping up from the chairs. I also really like the “meori eokkae” line when they touch their heads and shoulders while moving forwards. It is done in a really smooth way.

My favorite part however is the whole “la lalala” part. The way they move is so carefree and the whole part is just fun and easy to dance along to.

Again, like the song, it is nothing mind-blowing, but it is good. The one moment that I find completely doesn’t fit is the folded hands move in the chorus. Too much aegyo for this type of song.

Score: 3.5/5

Overall, the video is pretty good, but just good. It is definitely enjoyable, but also easy to forget in my opinion. Insane, Thriller, and 2nd Confession are always the BTOB videos that stand out in my mind because I think those types of concepts suit them the best. I hope that this 90s style music is just a phase that BTOB is going through.

Sidenote: I noticed both in this video and one of their performances of the song that Peniel’s confidence has improved so much! Compared to the past, he seems much more comfortable on stage, and I like it. 🙂

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5


Favorite moment:

The flow of those moves...

The flow of those moves…


Question of the Day:

What do you think of this crazy story?


#NowPlaying: C-ClownLet’s Love. This is seriously one catchy song.


What are your thoughts?

