September 2014 in Review

Wow this has been a crazy month. I haven’t been very active this month, and it’s about time I explained why. I just started a new semester of college, so I’m still trying to balance blogging with my school work. I started working again and took on a second job, which takes time away outside of school.

Aside from all that adult-responsibility stuff, I have also been busying myself with other things. As you all know, Super Junior came back last month, so I’ve been lost in ELF wonderland all month. Oh how I missed them. ❤

I have also been doing A LOT of writing. Fanfiction writing. Back in April, I mentioned in a post that I write fanfiction, and over the summer I came up with this whole, multi-chapter story that I’ve been planning and writing ever since. I’ve literally written almost 20 pages of this thing and it’s just the beginning. It is VIXX fanfiction, but I won’t say yet what it’s about because I don’t want to reveal anything until I’m completely finished (which at the rate I’m going will take about a year :/). I’m really excited though. I’ve started so many stories that I haven’t finished, but I actually planned this one out all the way to the end, so hopefully I won’t lose focus. I already have ideas for a sequel and a triquel.

But enough about my life. Let’s get to the videos that I missed last month. It feels like there was a lull of slow activity in the K-pop world for a couple of weeks, and then just in the last two weeks of September we were hit with a bunch of comebacks. For this month, I’ll be talking about 2pm, T-ara, Girls’ Generation-TTS (TaeTiSeo), F.Cuz, Ailee, and BeatBurger.

(Click the picture to watch the music video)

2pm “go crazy”

sept gocrazy2Song: 4.5/5

Cinematography: 3/5

Wardrobe: 3/5

Dance: 3.9/5

I said this in my review of Come Back When You Hear This Song, but again I’m noticing that the voices of each member of 2pm complement each other so nicely. I truly have never seen a group with better vocal chemistry, that sounds like one unit rather than seven different voices.

That being said, while this is a pretty good song, I am disappointed with the video. It is fun, and there are aspects to enjoy from it, but as a whole it doesn’t live up to expectations. The dance scene looks very Japanese, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but that coupled with all of the crazy party scenes makes this video really chaotic. The moon scenes and the wardrobe are really what initially turned me off from this video.

It isn’t all bad though. There are really nice transitions and the song is much better than expected. I just don’t think it lives up to 2pm or JYP standards.

overall final score: 3.6/5

T-ara “sugar free”

sept sugarfreeSong: 4.5/5

Cinematography: 2.5/5

Wardrobe: 3/5

Dance: 4/5

I have literally been playing this video nonstop every day this week. I can’t get enough of the song. There are some odd sounds in certain parts of it, but it has that general addictiveness that T-ara songs are known for. I actually like this video, which mostly showcases the dance, much more than most female comebacks. Granted, there are way too many transitions and flashing colors, enough to give someone an epileptic seizure. Aside from the editing though, I really like the dance and a lot of the wardrobe.

And I just can’t get over how adorable Boram looks in that picture! It’s hard to believe she is the oldest member.

overall final score: 3.5/5

Girls’ generation-tts

sept hollerSong: 3/5

Cinematography: 4/5

Wardrobe: 3.5/5

Dance: 2/5

They may be my favorite girl group, but as far as subgroups go, I’m not a fan of TaeTiSeo. Yes, my bias of Girls’ Generation is in it, but I just am not a fan of their sound. I prefer songs with more of a beat. This song does have a beat, but it is interrupted too many times for me to be able to appreciate it. The dance is also unimpressive in my opinion, but that is to be expected of a vocal group. This video is very strong cinematography-wise. They are clearly paying homage to Indian culture and interior design with this video, which is…kind of weird for me to be honest (I’m of Indian-descent). Everything does look very nice however. The girls themselves look absolutely gorgeous in this.

overall final score: 3.1/5

f.cuz “cha ga wa”

sept chagawaSong: 4.5/5

Story: 2.9/5

Cinematography: 2/5

Wardrobe: 2.5/5

Dance: 4/5

I don’t think I’ve ever talked about F.Cuz on this blog. I have only ever heard one song by them, No. 1, which I really like, so I was looking forward to this when it showed up in my subscriptions. It is a pretty good song. I particularly like the background instrumental. The video on the other hand is pretty dull to be honest. The dance is great. With all of these recent female comebacks, it is refreshing to see a nice energetic boy group dance. However, the cinematography and wardrobe are just all over the place. There are too many different styles of scenes and no one outfit goes with the next. It’s a shame that such a good song is hidden behind a boring video.

overall final score: 3.2/5

ailee “don’t touch me”

sept donttouchmeSong: 4/5

Cinematography: 4.5/5

Wardrobe: 3.9/5

Dance: 3.5/5

As usual, Ailee does not disappoint. Her voice can do no wrong, and this song is further proof of that. I am not a fan of this style of song, but her voice gives the song personality. All of the vocalizations and ad-libs are what keeps me hooked, which is a real compliment to her vocal talent because often I find that ad-libs are distracting. In this song however, they enhance the experience and really make the song fun.

I actually really like the wardrobe to this video. The wardrobe has a clear concept, in a way that I very rarely see in K-pop music videos. It is full of bright colors and bold patterns. I love the styling of nearly all of Ailee’s outfits in this video. (Of course I still wish she would wear longer pants/skirts…) While it is super short, I really like the idea of that main yellow outfit.

Her poor backup dancers however just look ridiculous in their outfits.

overall final score: 4/5

beatburger “She So high”

sept shesohighSong: 4.5/5

Cinematography: 4.5/5

Wardrobe: 4.5/5

I’ll be honest: I really did not want to like this when I first watched it. I had no idea who BeatBurger was, and I have never been a fan of Goo Hye Sun (I’m sorry, but I despised her character in Boys Over Flowers). However, as I kept watching the video, I couldn’t help but fall in love with it. The song is amazing. I’m still not sure who BeatBurger is (I know they’ve done remixes to SM artists’ songs), whether they/he is a singer or DJ, but this song is really nice to listen to, especially for the instrumental.

I wouldn’t necessarily say that there is a story to this video, but the idea that I got from it is very poetic. It is as though Goo Hye Sun are not only in love, but their love transcends the physical world and they are tied to each other through space and time. Together, they create dance and music together, even though they may not necessarily be in the same room. I absolutely love the scenes of the two of them dancing together. As much as the actress annoys me, watching her and Changmin in this video makes me so happy, which truly shows just how good the video is.

overall final score: 4.5/5

That’s it for September! I still have Song Ji Eun’s review to post (Spoiler alert: I LOVE IT), and then it’s off to October comebacks!

Eid Mubarak to my Muslim followers! Hope you all have a good holiday! 🙂


#NowPlaying: Beautiful by Donghae (I was in a really sad mood the other day, and nothing made me feel better than my ultimate bias’s song)

What are your thoughts?

