Teen Top “Missing” Music Video Review

I swear, Teen Top just keeps getting better and better. I wasn’t that interested in their debut, Crazy was a catchy song, Miss Right helped me establish my bias, Rocking blew my mind, and now Missing pulls at my heartstrings.

Song

Objectively, this is a good song. Everything sounds nice together and there isn’t anything in particular that is bad. However, I just can’t bring myself to like it. It would be great as background music in a mall or coffee shop, but by itself, there isn’t anything for me in this. The instrumental remains the same for the majority of the song, making the whole thing sound a bit dull. Again, there isn’t anything specifically wrong with the song; I just don’t find it very interesting.

To put it simply, it is an okay song.

Score: 3.5/5

Story

Pretty much the entire comment section of this video is questions about what exactly is going on in this plot. Here is what I got:

CAP, L.Joe, and Lee Ho Jung (the actress) are all friends, with CAP and Ho Jung together in a relationship. CAP and Ho Jung like to drink and party, and CAP ends up spending more of his time getting wasted than spending time with his girlfriend, causingmissing5 them to break up. L.Joe finds Ho Jung alone in her room while CAP lays wasted in the basement and tries to cheer her up. Later, Ho Jung tries to get CAP back, but he is too far gone down the road of drugs. L.Joe comforts her and together they cry over the loss of their friend.

I love this story. It does have the typical best friend love-triangle, but this video highlights both the friendship and the romance. L.Joe’s character gives the story depth. When he cries in the end, it is reasonable to think that he is both sad about CAP, but also emotional thinking about everything Ho Jung has been through. The mourning mixed with love makes for one interesting story. I am missing3also very happy that CAP’s problem is drugs. Usually in these types of videos, the cliché story is that the boyfriend is abusive or unfaithful. In this story, he suffers from his own addiction, making his abandonment in the end his own fault.

While I think L.Joe’s acting is superb in this, I think the directors made him cry way too much. I understand the crying in the end, but with the scenes in the beginning and middle of the video as well, it starts to feel like all L.Joe’s character does is cry.

Score: 4.9/5

Cinematography

A story is only as interesting as the editing allows, and this video definitely makes for a good story. The colors give it such a dramatic feel. I love all of the reds and blues, reflecting the moods of each scene.

In addition to the colors, the pace of the scenes also adds to the mood. During the scenes in which L.Joe is looking for Ho Jung, the scenes are much slower, giving off the sad, dramatic feel, while they go by much faster in the scenes of Ho Jung and CAP partying.

missing8I really like that the friendship aspect between L.Joe and CAP is highlighted in the end. It is so easy to make the entire video about romance, but those two scenes of CAP and L.Joe smiling at each other gives the story a whole new element of friendship and disappointment.

In terms of cinematography, the very last scene is definitely worth pointing out. While L.Joe and Ho Jung embrace in the bathroom, directly below them in the basement, the water from missing9the bathtub is dripping on CAP, who is lying on the ground. This just highlights the bitter ending of CAP by himself all drugged up in the basement while his best friend and girlfriend move on without him just a floor above him. Moral of the story: Stay away from drugs, kids. It will ruin your relationships.

I am not giving the cinematography a perfect score because we never see exactly when or how Ho Jung and CAP break up. Even though the idea is there, that it had to do with CAP’s bad habits, one clip of them fighting would have been very helpful in fully understanding the story.

Score: 4.9/5

missing4Wardrobe

Overall, the wardrobe is pretty good. The suits in the dance scene are great (I love the splashes of red!), and the wardrobe in the story scenes portrays each character perspective perfectly. The other scenes showing the individual members, however, could be better. A few of them are wearing shirts with very vivid patterns that do not really go well with the rest of the outfits. I’m not sure what concept the stylists were going for in those scenes.

Score: 4/5

Dance

I love the use of the chairs in this dance. Having some members sitting while others stand is a really nice touch. It missingmakes the dance much more interesting than one in which everyone is doing the exact same thing. Overall, the movements fit the pace and sound of this song really well.

Score: 4.5/5

Overall, I am just shocked at how good this video is. Teen Top has tried these sad videos before, but they have never been that great (in my opinion). This video however has just the right elements to a sad, but interesting story. To be honest, when I watched the video for the very first time, I thought L.Joe and CAP were brothers, which made the story all the more complicated and heartbreaking.

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5


Favorite moment:

Because he's my bias and watching this literally makes my heart hurt

He’s my bias and watching this literally makes my heart hurt.


Question of the day:

What do you think of Teen Top’s Missing?


#NowPlaying: Sugar Free by T-Ara (I’m not writing a full review of the video, but I just can’t get enough of this song.)


What are your thoughts?

