Super Junior “Mamacita” Music Video Review

I wanted to have this out days ago, but I found this post to be extremely difficult to write.

I’ve learned something interesting about myself while blogging: The more I like a group, the harder it is for me to write about them because I don’t want to do them injustice, but I also want to make sure I’m fair and unbiased. I don’t know how I was able to stay unbiased for this one. Sometimes I was too nice, and sometimes I think I was too hard on them so as not to appear biased. So, take what I say here with a grain of salt.

Official MV:

Song

One of my favorite parts of this song is how unpredictable it is. It doesn’t follow the typical formula that most pop songs follow. The bridge and ending are done in a creative way that I really like.

I really like the chorus to this song. It has a nice melody, and Kyuhyun’s adlibs during the “ayayaya” are really nice. That “ayayaya” is super addicting!

This song is nothing spectacular however. To me, some of the lyrics seem a bit rushed, particularly the lines before each chorus.

Score: 3.5/5

Story

Story breakdown: Leeteuk, the town’s local crook, escapes from prison and with the help of Shindong and Kyuhyun, steals Sungmin’s prized crown, destroying Kangin’s precious watermelon in the process. Siwon, the sheriff, so depressed at hearing of Leeteuk’mamacita2s escape from prison, drowns out his sorrows in Heechul’s bar, paying absolutely no attention to what is going on outside.

Meanwhile, Donghae is searching for Leeteuk, hoping to win the reward money for finding him, and tries to get help from Eunhyuk, who is too busy being in his own world to be of any help. Shindong, Leeteuk’s accomplice, also sabotages Donghae’s attempts to find Leeteuk.

Ryeowook sees all of this happening and being the good citizen he is, calls Siwon out to catch Leeteuk. The two have a shoot-out andmamacita3 Leeteuk shoots Siwon, killing him. He then goes into the bar and sells the crown to Heechul, but as he proudly walks out of the bar with the money, he is faced with Donghae and Sungmin, eager to catch him.

I really like how every member plays a different character and contributes to the overall story. Even though we are only given three minutes of story interrupted by dance scenes, it is pretty easy and straightforward to follow. Overall, it is really cute and fun to watch.

The one drawback: There is no ending! How could they leave us at such a cliffhanger like that?!

(Another small nitpicky point – did anyone else notice that Leeteuk shot Siwon right in his badge? Wouldn’t the bullet have rebounded? 😉 )

Note: I’m not taking the drama version of the video into account when I score this. I haven’t even watched it yet.

Score: 4.5/5

Cinematography

So I actually did a bit of research before judging the cinematography of this video! The story does in fact take place in the Mexican Wild West. I looked into this a little bit and found out that there was both Mexican bull fighting and the use of “Arizona gold” along the Mexican/Arizona border back in the Wild West days, so this is not a mix of two cultures! The original “cowboys” were in fact Mexican. (At least according to my quick internet search…)

mamacita4The video looks pretty nice. The story scene is set up well enough to be interesting and entertaining. The patterns and colors of the dance scenes all go really nicely together.

I do wish there were more scenes to flush the story out a little bit, as well as a real end scene.

I particularly appreciate that while they do have the funny story scenes, we also are given a serious dance scene.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

I love the costumes in this. Each character has their own fun style. I am not nearly as educated about what the dress was like in that era, but I thought they mamacita5all represent the time period nicely.

The red suits are okay. I am not a particular fan of them, but they do bring across the bull fighter look. I like the blue version of those outfits much better.

As a sidenote, I really like the hairstyles of most of the members. Eunhyuk in particular looks really nice with his blonde hair and headband.

Score: 3.5/5

Dance

Note: This is just a compilation video I put together of the MV and their live performances. It’s not an official dance version.


There are specific moments that I love in this dance, but overall, it definitely isn’t Super Junior’s best. I feel like the majority of it is clapping and arm raises without the members actually moving around a whole lot. The moves themselves feel a bit disconnected from the actual music and sometimes look awkward when certain members do it, particularly during the bridge when Kyuhyun and Ryeowook sing.

The two moves that I absolutely love are the head hitting and the pinky spinning during the “ayayaya” parts of the chorus. They are fun, unique, and fit the song perfectly.

I am pretty disappointed that there is no dance break. Not all dances necessarily need a dance break, but that is Super Junior’s signature. If I’m correct, I think this is one of their only upbeat music videos without a dance break.

Score: 3/5

Overall, this video may not have been their best, but I still love it. The story is fun for all, but for me the reason why I like it is more for the meaning behind it and the timing. The fact that they went for a funnier concept is perfect for a fanbase that was sorely missing seeing these dorks.

I may be a super fan and this may be my favorite thing to happen this year, but I think the following score pretty accurately reflects the objective quality of the video. It’s not the best, but it is decent.

Overall Final Score: 3.7/5

Now can we take a moment of happiness to welcome back Leeteuk and Heechul:

mamacita heeteuk

They have made me realize that absence really does make the heart grow fonder. ❤


Favorite Moment:

mamacitagif

Poor Ryeowook. He was just trying to be a good citizen.


Question of the Day:

Who was your favorite character in this video?


#NowPlaying: Dracula by f(X) (Their whole Red Light album has been playing nonstop, but this is my favorite song from it)


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

3 thoughts on “Super Junior “Mamacita” Music Video Review

  1. Wow, there was bullfighting in the Wild West? I really didn’t know! I just assumed that Eunhyuk had gotten lost… And my favorite character was for sure Kangin! He was fabulous.

    Like

  2. MY OPINION MAMACITA VERY CATCHY SONG ALL RANGE OF AGE CAN ENJOY THIS SONG – THIS IS TYPICAL OF AMERICAN LATIN SONG I DONT KNOW WHETHER OR NOT A CUP OF TEA OF KOREAN PEOPLE BUT REALLY CATCHY SONG FOR ME . I LOVE THEM A LOT. tHAT IS WHY SUPER JUNIOR LOVE BY ALMOST OF FUN FROM ALL OVER THE WORD BECAUSE MOST HIS SONG SO CATCHY, FUN, AND EASY TO FOLLOW AND TO OBSERVE, THEY ARE TALENTED AND GREAT ENTERTAINER , THEY HAVE THREE GREAT VOCALIST I THINK IS THE BEST AMONG IDOL THEY HAVE GREAT DANCERS , THEY ARE HANDSOME AND CHARMING. THEY ALREADY PROVE IT TO BE A KING OF HALLYU WAVE FOR 10 YEARS NON STOP.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

