June 2014 in Review

Wow, only four mv reviews in one month. I think that’s my worst record yet! It’s been pretty busy though. I took a one week trip with my family this month, so I just didn’t have time to be on top of all of the recent music video comebacks. There were also A LOT of comebacks this month, and to be honest, I just got a bit overwhelmed. I also did a lot more reactions than usual this month.

But here I am to talk about a lot of MVs that were released this month that I did not give proper attention to. Now I know for a fact that I’m still missing a lot even after this post, but I just don’t have the time to cover everything.

This was really Boyfriend and B2ST’s month. Two music videos from each group within the same month! And they were both pretty good music videos! I’ll be talking about both of those, comebacks from B.A.P, N-Sonic and Tahiti, as well as BIGFLO’s debut. Let’s go!

Note: Yes, Psy did come back this month with “Hangover” featuring Snoop Dogg, but I don’t want to waste the brain cells trying to review this one. It was barely even K-pop anyway.

B.A.P “Where are you? What are you doing?”

where are you

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5

If you like light, acoustic songs, this new B.A.P album is definitely for you! While I personally am not a fan of these softer songs, I actually really like this one. The best way I can describe it is that it is really good for soothing a headache (I speak from experience). The video shows the B.A.P members walking around London, being their silly, goofy, not-so-natural cute selves. Seriously, I was cringing a bit from the cheesiness. There were some genuinely cute moments though that I’m not even sure were intentional, like Daehyun randomly glaring at the camera or exchanging funny faces with Himchan while the rest of them look at the camera like they are supposed to. It does take a few watches to get past the cheesiness.

Overall Final Score: 3.5/5

Boyfriend “Obsession”

obsession2

  • Song: 3/5
  • Video – Story: 4.9/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 3.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 4.9/5

Now I may have understood this story completely wrong, but if I’m right, this is a pretty darn interesting story! The girl, who I’ll call Wendy, opens up a Peter Pan book, setting the story in motion. It tells of the Boyfriend members living in Neverland. They realize that they are part of a story and find the Peter Pan book. After reading what happens to them, they try to sabotage the ending by finding Captain Hook and ruining his plan, however they run into Wendy and Captain Hook in the process. Captain Hook ends up blowing Wendy up, but it turns out that it was all according to Boyfriend’s plan because now she and Captain Hook are both gone and the members can continue to live their life in peace in Neverland. It’s confusing as heck, but really interesting in the end. Aside from the story, the song and dance are both pretty good. They give the bad boy sound a funky style with their unique style of singing and showcase just how talented they are as dancers.

Now tell me the girl in this video does not look exactly like B.A.P’s Youngjae:

youngjaeeeeee

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

N-Sonic “Pop Beyond”

nsonic

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 2.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

It’s a shame that N-Sonic isn’t more popular because they consistently come back with good songs and entertaining dances. Pop Beyond definitely did not disappoint. I have no idea what “Pop Beyond” is supposed to mean, but it sounds cool coming from them. I loved the word play of “Let’s Pop Beyond” followed by “Hey I’m a Pappiyong,” pronounced like “papillon” which means “butterfly” in French. The dance is also really cool to watch with all of the creepy, spider-like movements. Unfortunately, with an amazing song and dance, N-Sonic was given a pretty boring music video.

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

Beast “No More”

nomore

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Story: 5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

I really wanted to write a full review of this video, but my trip just got in the way. It was a really good video though. I love how they incorporated the “Beastagram” alongside the story. The story itself is an interesting one. I know there is much more to it than I was able to gather since I can’t read the Korean captions of the Beastagram pictures, but what I got was the following truth: Technology ruins romances. In our age of constant access and attention to technology, it’s inevitable that our real-life relationships will suffer, just like that between Junhyung and Lee Yubi. The whole video was just put together really well with a refreshing and soft song.

Overall Final Score: 4.5/5

Boyfriend “Alarm”

boyfriendalarm2

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Video – Story: 3/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

This video was shot in Chicago!! For those who don’t know, I live around Chicago, so it was such a treat for me to see a music video featuring my city. Regardless of the location, this was a pretty good video in and of itself. The song is really nice. You should know by now that I’m not one for softer songs, but I found myself falling in love with this one. The video showed the typical story of the members of Boyfriend sadly walking around in the wake of heartbreak, ending with them throwing away the memorabilia of their past loves. It was a simple video, but it was perfect in showing Chicago at its every day best.

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

Tahiti “Oppa, you are mine”

tahiti3

  • Song: 5/5
  • Video – Story: 3.5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 3/5

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Tahiti video before, but this one caught my attention because the actor in it is Jinwoon from 2AM! The video has a really funny and cute story. The girls of Tahiti kidnap Jinwoon and dress him up like a doll. Jinwoon’s acting is perfect in this. At first, he just looks at the girls like they’re crazy, but slowly loses his composure and goes from screaming in fear to reluctantly playing along with Tahiti’s dress-up game. The song is really great. As is the case with most girl group videos, I was not a fan of the dance, but as usual, I’ll just ignore that and continue to listen to this song over and over again without watching the video.

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

Beast “Good Luck”

goodluck2

  • Song: 5/5
  • Video – Story: 2/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

Junhyung said that he would rank “Good Luck” as one of his top three best tracks ever, and he is completely right. I think this is one of BEAST’s best songs. Ever. The flow of the lyrics against the addicting instrumental is perfect. Every time I listen to this song I just lose myself in Dongwoon’s “Hold you tight, make you mine, never leave me alone.” To make things ever better, the song is accompanied by an amazing dance. I really hope to see the full dance practice of this because it is just so entertaining. The story on the other hand…to be honest I think they would have been fine just taking the story out completely. It just showed all of the members missing the girl, leaving the girl, or watching the girl leave them. They did have an interesting climax when Junhyung’s girl commits the ultimate heartless act of stabbing him and stealing his money, but as a whole the story was kind of pointless to me. However, I’m glad that the story was at least minimized in the video, leaving most of the screen time for the dance and the members.

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

BIGFLO “Delilah”

bigflo2

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 2/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 4.5/5

This is BIGFLO’s very first music video, and while the actual video is a bit plain, I am completely addicted to this song. It brings hard rock and K-pop together really nicely. It has its fun dance parts, but also includes some intense head-banger moments which I absolutely love. It does definitely take a person with a particular liking for chaotic rock to appreciate this song though, which is why I’m not giving it a higher score (If it was based on my totally subjective opinion, I would give this song a 5 without hesitation). Like N-Sonic, the song and dance were both great, but the video was extremely boring. I’m not sure what kind of message we are supposed to get from the members climbing up metal structures in front of obvious green screen.

Overall Final Score: 3.5/5

That’s it for June! I know, I only talked about one female comeback. I kind of forced myself to include that one. The reason why I barely talk about girl groups is because I just end up spending most of the post criticizing them. I’ve decided that in an effort to save us all from the negativity, I will only talk about the female comebacks that I really like, resulting in not a lot of talk about female artists on this blog.

And honestly, do you really want to see me criticizing the artists that you like just for the sake of gender equality? I don’t think so.

As always, thank you so much for reading, liking, and commenting! Your comments always make my day!

I have an important announcement coming tomorrow regarding this blog so keep an eye out for that!


Question of the Day:

What did you think of any of these videos? Are you a fan of Beast or Boyfriend? What did you think of their comebacks? How did BIGFLO do in their debut? (Did anyone recognize that main singer in BIGFLO from NTrain?)

One thought on “June 2014 in Review

What are your thoughts?

