May 2014 in Review

Initially, this was looking like another slow month, but I feel we suddenly got a bunch of music videos in just a couple of weeks!

This was a happy month for me, music-wise. 🙂 A lot of really highly anticipated music videos came out, and thankfully the ones I was looking forward to were not disappointing.

Unfortunately, it seems like May came in with a sad cloud hanging over it with the whole Kris drama. For those who don’t know, Kris of EXO filed to have his contract terminated with S.M Entertainment. As a fan of EXO, this has just been a really sad time. As a fan of a lot of S.M artists, this also made me remember all of the crap that SM artists have to go through and made me so mad at the company for living up to their reputation of worst company to work for ever. (Excuse my anger and language. After Hangeng and JYJ, I am just disgusted that this is going on YET AGAIN with EXO.)

But, I digress. This post is about the music videos of May 2014.

I tried cutting down on the number of videos I would talk about in this post, but it’s hard. While I wouldn’t say that any of these music videos are particularly amazing, they each have something really good about them. (The ones that I thought were amazing got their own posts 😉 )

So, I’ll be ending this month with Akdong Musician, Seo In Guk, Megan Lee, Orange Caramel, Baek Ji Young, and N.Sonic.

AKMU “Give Love”

AKMU Give Love

  • Song: 3/5
  • Video – Story: 4/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3/5

CUTEST SIBLINGS EVER! This is a really cute video and song. I am officially in love with Soohyun’s (the girl’s) voice. This song doe not fit my personal taste, but it is nice and cute. The story follows Soohyun as she stalks her crush and the girl who she assumes is his girlfriend. After countless tries of breaking them up, she finds out that the two are siblings and not lovers. In a funny twist at the end, we find out that Soohyun’s brother, Chanhyuk has also been following the girl around. I really like how they used Soohyun’s knowledge of origami and math as analogies for how she can get rid of the other girl to be with her crush. There are just so many cute scenes in this, especially between Soohyun and Chanhyuk. I repeat: Cutest siblings ever!!

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

Seo In Guk “Bomtanaba”

seoingukbamtanba2

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Video – Story: 3/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5

This was a simple and sweet video about a man who can’t fall asleep at night because he keeps thinking about a girl, so he drinks coffee all day to stay awake.Ironically in the end, when she does finally call, she asks to go out for coffee. I find it hilarious because he is literally doing exactly what you are not supposed to do when trying to fall asleep: drink coffee all day and keep your phone in front of your face at night. I really like how present the theme of coffee is in the video. The song itself is really nice. I have never heard Seo In Guk sing before, and I was pleasantly surprised to hear such a smooth voice from him.

Exciting sidenote: I actually understood almost all of the talking parts without subtitles! Fluency in Korean, here I come!

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Megan Lee “8dayz” (featuring Junhyung of B2ST)

meganlee8dayz2

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5

I believe this is Megan Lee’s debut video, and I have to say that it’s pretty good! She is an American YouTuber, and that definitely shows in this music video. I’m not quite sure how to describe it, but this video has a Youtuber feel to it. It actually reminds me a lot of Sam Tsui’s “Make It Up.” I like how there are so many colors in this, but it is not overstimulating like other colorful K-pop videos. I really like a lot of her outfits and her natural cuteness. Overall, it’s just a really fun and light-hearted video. My favorite part is Junhyung’s subtle entrance. I like how they don’t give him this grand entrance just because he is famous.

Again, it’s not my type of song, but it is there for those who like it.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

Orange Caramel “Abing Abing”

abingabing

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 2.5/5
  • Dance: 1.5/5

Okay, I have extremely mixed feelings about this comeback. First of all, I absolutely love the song. It has such a good beat and in my opinion sounds much better than Catallena. The music video on the other hand…I feel like I got cavities just by watching that. It is so sickeningly sweet! The cuteness is just too much in your face. It is so forced that it doesn’t look real at all. The wardrobe and dance are also just too cheesy and childish for me. It’s really a shame that such a good song has such a disappointing video. 😦

Overall Final Score: 3/5

Baek Ji Young “Still in Love”

baekjiyoung2

  • Song: 3.5/5
  • Video – Story: 3.5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

I’m not one to enjoy slow songs like this, but I can at least admit that Baek Ji Young has a beautiful voice, and the video is done really well. It tells the incredibly sad story of an old man reminiscing on a past relationship that he lost by treating his lover poorly. He relives the memories as he throws dust into the fire he tends, and when he runs out of dust, he falls asleep and dreams that she comes back. When he sees her, he becomes young again, giving him another chance at love, but in the end it is just a dream. I love how he is turned back into a young man when she reappears. The whole video is put together really nicely with all the smoke and fire ever present, even in the flashbacks. It is beautiful.

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

N.Sonic “Crazy”

nsoniccrazy

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Story: 3/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 3/5

Finally, a Springtime song that I like. There are always a couple that grab my attention, and this is one of them. It is jazzy and cheerful, and the main vocalist’s singing style in this is really good. The video reminds me a lot of Big Bang’s “Lies” from back in the day. The members of N.Sonic follow a girl as she goes about her day, singing to both her and the camera without actually interacting with her. I personally am a fan of this type of video.  Breaking the fourth wall is a great way to engage the audience in a story. At the end of the day, they surprise her with a performance…as she climbs out of her pool. I don’t know about you, but I would be extremely uncomfortable if my six boyfriends showed up in suits and a whole band to sing for me while I’m just standing there dripping wet in my underwear. But maybe that’s just me…

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

Yup, the Spring songs are here and in full bloom! I’m not a fan of these songs, but I have to say that I am absolutely loving AKMU. They are so talented!

That’s it for May! Have a good end of the year for those of you still in school!

Question of the Day:

What are your favorite “members of the group follow the girl around” videos like the N.Sonic one or Big Bang’s “Lies”?

What are your thoughts?

