2NE1 “Gotta Be You” Music Video Review

2NE1 songs and videos are always really hit or miss for me, and this one was definitely a hit!

Song

This has to be one of my favorite 2NE1 songs. The singing parts all have a really nice melody. This song has a really solid chorus that is really nice to listen to. I also particularly like Minzy’s fast part transitioning from the rap to the chorus. Now, I know that they have to include a rap in this song, since it is a 2NE1 song, but I personally think the song would have been much better if the whole thing was sung without the raps. The way CL raps in this particular song is too slow for the pace of the rest of the singing parts. The feel of the rap and singing don’t quite fit together. Other than that, I think this is a really great song.

Score: 4.5/5

Video – Story

It was so hard for me to figure out a story for this video. Here is what I got: Mr. Boyfriend is saying all of these things to gottabeyou6CL, that he loves her and that she is the only girl for him, yet in reality, he distances himself from her. While we read the words he says to her, we see him abandoning her for his fame. He “takes care” of her by giving her money, but he does so in such an indirect and cold way. In one scene, we see him open a locker, and then in another scene, Dara opens that locker and is showered with the money, indicating that he is the one who provided it for her, but is not willing to give it to her in person. He does everything he is “supposed” to do as a male partner, but he does it all with no emotion or sincerity. However, in the end, CL can’t help but love him.

The story, if that even is the story, is told in a very simple way. From what we see, there is absolutely no reason why CL should stay with him in the end. In a story, we have to develop sympathy with the main character’s decisions, yet because so little of the story is told, the ending is not satisfying at all. I would have liked a deeper and more developed story. For me personally, it was just too hard to follow.

Score: 2.5/5

Video – Cinematography

Where the story falls short, the cinematography makes up for it…to an extent. I have to say, this is one of the most gottabeyou7visually-pleasing videos I have ever seen. The colors are very bold, which makes it so interesting to watch. I love all of the mazes and rooms, and giving each member a section of the maze in the group shot looks really nice. The words written in the background and as captions in the story scenes are also very clever.

Yet, amidst all of this greatness, there are still those random scenes that don’t quite make sense. Why is Minzy singing in what looks a closet of cleaning products? Why is CL crying in front of the car in a shower (or is it a swimming pool…)? We just barely get a story out of this because of the unexplainable scenes. Connect the dots a little for us, YG.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

gottabeyou8The wardrobe in this video is just superb. I love that they each have their own styles to a similar concept. CL is edgy, Minzy is cute and funky, Dara is punkish, and Bom is all glamorous and girly. They all wear the same kind of design on their clothes, but each outfit gottabeyou3matches their individual style. Minzy’s outfit is my favorite (I realized that I almost always like her style the best, and I think it’s because her style is the closest to my own personal style). I also absolutely love all of CL’s accessories in this. Those are some of the coolest and most creative earrings I have ever seen.

The design itself on the outfits, while bold to match the colors of the sets, is so vivid without any apparent reason. Why are they sporting images of a monster? I also would have liked to see Bom wearing actual pants or a longer skirt than that tiny strip of cloth under her shirt.

Score: 4.5/5

Overall, I like this video. It’s simple, but that is part of the reason why I like it. Often, 2NE1 tries to do something really edgy and crazy that just turns me off, but this one was nice. I always like when a group I’m not a particular fan of released a song that I like. 🙂

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

Sidenote: There are some seriously angry blackjacks in the comments of this video! If any of you are reading this, please don’t kill me! Take a chill pill. Enjoy the music. Spread the love. Don’t feed the hate.

Question of the Day:

Can someone do a better job of explaining the story for me? I tried really hard to find a solid story in there, and I still don’t know exactly what the message was supposed to be.

One thought on “2NE1 “Gotta Be You” Music Video Review

  1. Song was good, costume was good…the MV though, was shit. After the upbeat lively Live performance at SBS Inkigayo and other shows, we were expecting a nice rompy dance choreography but we get something straight out of a funeral service. Sure the theme of the song is about heart break and shit but sad song doesn’t necessarily needs a sad story arc to the MV. It should suit the music, the beat etc etc

    Like

What are your thoughts?

