MR.MR. “Big Man” Music Video Review

I just looked up Mr. Mr. and learned that they only debuted two years ago! I’m shocked! I thought they were a lot older than that. They definitely perform like experienced singers.

Song

This song has a really nice feel to it. It sounds very retro. The chorus is great. Every time I listen to it, I can’t help but passionately lip-sync along to the “Baby your sweetness, I’m always Big Man!” The background instrumental throughout is a great complement to the flow of the lyrics. Overall, it is a pretty solid song. It’s not outstanding by any means, but it’s pretty good.

The chorus of this song reminds me of a song I used to listen to, but for the life of me I can’t pinpoint what it is and it’s killing me! It’s not even a K-pop song. Anyone know of another song that sounds like this one?

Score: 4/5

Video – Story

The video begins with all of the members doing different “manly” things, like fighting, cooking, fixing cars, and…ironing? mrmr3Meanwhile, we see a girl playing with a doll, and in the end we realize that she is a puppeteer and they are really her dolls and pawns. None of it made sense until the end, but that very last scene pulls everything together very nicely. Even though they are Big Men, they are victim to whatever she wants of them. She both fuels their energy as well as keeps them under her control. The dots could have been connected a little more for us to understand the story, but what it becomes in the end is very interesting.

Score: 4/5

Video – Cinematography

There is something really artistic about this video and it’s hard to pinpoint exactly what that is. There are a lot of different kinds of scenes in this video, but it is very clever how they all come together in the end, connecting mrmrthe animated silhouette girl with the puppeteer with the elegant maiden lying in the water. The contrast between the scenes with the members to her with the doll is chilling and mysterious at first, but in the end we realize that they are all related in one final image, which just makes it all the more chilling.

mrmr6While the story is carried out nicely in the end, I feel that there are just too many characters and scenes in this video. Many of the potential storylines in the beginning don’t really make any other appearance in the video outside of the first minute. I am also not a fan of the main dancing room. It has a very old feel to it, but instead of glorifying an older style of video, it just highlights the bad quality. The room is so dark and blurry that it is difficult to watch the dance.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe

mrmr5The wardrobe of the dance scene is a really good style for MR. MR.. I love all of the different jackets. The suits are also nice, and I am really impressed with the makeup in that scene. It is so clever to give them the style the body art like the drawings the girl makes on the doll. It connects the members to the story in a very chilling way. I am not giving them a perfect score for wardrobe because I personally think that some of the body art has too much shimmer and glitter that is too glamorous for this type of video. I love everything else though. Everything matches the feel of the song really well.

Score: 4.9/5

Dance

I like this dance a lot. It incorporates both the “manly” fighting and the marionette effect of being controlled by strings. The best part for me is in the second half of the chorus when the members have their fighting poses and the backup dancers amrmr4re leaning forward in front of them, incorporating the two themes within the same dance move. The rest of the dance is also entertaining. I’m not sure about how to feel about the body-waving though. On one hand, it fits the theme of being confident Big Men, but it is also a more feminine type of move. Clearly, the dance is not what is most emphasized in this comeback, but I appreciate the effort that was made in putting it together.

Score: 4/5

Overall, I am a bit torn about this video. There are some really good elements to it, but it’s just missing that “wow” factor for me to really love it. And I just can’t place exactly what type of concept they were going for. I definitely like “Do You Feel Me” better.

Overall Final Score: 4.1/5

Question of the Day:

What are your thoughts on this video? What did you think the concept was?

What are your thoughts?

