April 2014 in Review

First and foremost, I want to send my deepest condolences to the families and loved ones of the victims of the Sewol Ferry tragedy. I have been keeping a close eye on the story for the entire month, and each story and event that unfolds just breaks my heart more and more. I am continuously praying for strength and patience for all of the people affected by this tragedy.

Because of all of this, April was a pretty slow month for comebacks. Apparently there were a lot of comebacks planned for this past month that have now been pushed back to May and June. Since April was my month of blogging every day, I am sort of glad that we had a break in K-pop, although I admit, I am really missing all of the new music. EXO finally released their new video yesterday and more big groups are coming back soon, so I’m super excited for May!

I only have three videos to talk about today from the month of April. Two of them came out way early in the month, so they aren’t really relevant anymore, but they are here for anyone who might be interested. This month I am going to talk about Park Hyo Shin, Toheart, and Chad Future.

Park Hyo Shin “Wild Flower”

ParkHyoshinSong: 4.5/5

Video – Cinematography: 2.5/5

Wardrobe: 4/5

He’s my VIXX bias’s idol. I had to check him out. After watching the video, it is no wonder why Park Hyo Shin is Hongbin’s inspiration. He has such a soothing voice. This song is really nice to listen to. The lyrics flow nicely and the whole song is extremely passionate, but at the same time his voice is relaxing. Park Hyo Shin shows an extremely passionate side in this video. His presence toward the end of the song is simply captivating. You can tell that he is absolutely pouring his heart out. The camerawork is dramatic, but the single take and empty scenery makes the video itself boring to watch. Also, all of the focusing and unfocusing of the camera is not very easy on the eyes. It would have been nice to see some flashbacks or at least something more that what we are given.

Seriously though, Hongbin’s obsession with Park Hyo Shin is just too cute. Somewhat creepy at first, but really cute.

Overall Final Score: 3.7/5

Toheart “Tell Me Why”

toheartSong: 4/5

Video – Story: 2/5

Video – Cinematography: 2/5

Wardrobe: 3.5/5

I was not expecting another video from Toheart, and I have to say that this video is not nearly as good as “Delicious” was. The story is very empty and I find the effects to be overly dramatic and, well, cheesy. The guy is sad about a girl, then dreams about chasing her, and when he finally reaches her in the dream, he suddenly feels able to reach her in real life. That is some interesting logic you got there. The cinematography is also sadly lacking. There are a lot of clear color choices in the hue of each scene, but based on what is actually happening at each point of the video, the color tone of the scene doesn’t appear to have any significance. There are a couple of moments of total inconsistency in some of the story scenes. The song is nice, but the video just lacked creativity in my opinion and is not up to par with the other music videos out there.

Overall Final Score: 2.9/5

Chad Future “Rock the World” (featuring VIXX’s Ravi)

chad

Song: 4/5

Video – Cinematography: 4/5

Wardrobe: 4/5

Dance: 4/5

I was debating whether or not I should talk about Chad Future on this blog. For those who don’t know, Chad Future is an American singer who is attempting to become a K-pop singer. He primarily makes English covers of K-pop songs and a few original songs on his YouTube channel, but he has also released a couple of Korean K-pop music videos. I believe this is the first collaboration video he has ever done with an actual K-pop artist. Whether or not people consider him a “K-pop” artist, he is making music in Korean, so as far as I’m concerned, it’s K-pop. On to my review:

As far as the song goes, it is pretty solid and catchy. I must point out though that I do not approve of the lyrics of the chorus. I like the “Nobody in the world that ain’t gonna stand up,” but then he says “When this song comes on you gon’ shake your damn butt. Standing on the tables, get your f***ing hands up.” Okay, this is the part of American pop that needs to stay far away from K-pop. Objectification of women is what turns me off of American music, and I’d really like it never enter K-pop…ever. As much as I don’t like the lyrics though, it is a really addictive chorus. Both Chad’s and Ravi’s raps are also impressive, in their lyricism, speed, and rhythm. The repetition of “Rock” does get to be a bit much though. The video itself looks pretty cool. I personally think there is too much emphasis on breaking the car and not enough originality in the video, but the whole idea of it is fun and intense. They may not be taking over the world, but they are definitely kings of that warehouse. I also really like the wardrobe of this video. I love that Chad is wearing the South Korean flag on one arm and the American flag on the other arm. It is such a good and subtle touch. I also think the girls in the video look so cool with their masks, although the rest of their outfits again gives Chad Future a type of image I really don’t want to see.

Overall Final Score: 4/5

Now that April is over, are you ready for the COMEBACK PALOOZA that is about to hit us?? I know I’m not. I’m excited, but I have a feeling that we are about to be hit with a flood of new music videos and I don’t know how I’m going to be able to keep up. At least exams are over and I have more free time now…

Question of the Day:

Thoughts on Chad Future and Ravi’s collaboration? Honest and rational opinions are allowed. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

