Blogging from A to Z Day 21: Utada

U is for Utada!

uHave any of you heard of Utada Hikaru? (Or Hikaru Utada. I’m not sure which is the actual way to say it.)

She isn’t a K-pop artist, but her songs keep coming up on my Super Junior Pandora station, and I love them! From the quick little research I did, she is a Japanese singer who has released music in both Japanese and English. I have only heard songs from her English album, and I have to say that I am impressed! She has such a clear, steady voice, and I just love the flow of the lines in these songs.

Apples and Cinnamon

Exodus ’04

Simple and Clean

I’m not sure why, but her songs are really hard to find on youtube, especially Simple and Clean.

utada hikaruCheck her out! I definitely recommend these songs. I have not heard all of the songs on the album, This Is the One, but I’m sure they are just as great as these three. Once again I have discovered a really good new artists through Pandora. This is also how I discovered A-JAX, and some other really good K-pop songs. Thank you Pandora!

I should really put together a playlist of the songs I have discovered on Pandora…would you guys appreciate that?

Are any of you a fan of Utada? Any of her Japanese songs that you would recommend? I have only heard her English ones.

What are your thoughts?

