Blogging from A to Z Day 19: Shut Up Flower Boy Band

S is for Shut Up Flower Boy Band!

s

First and foremost, I want to thank coffeenlucia for suggesting this kdrama to me. I loved it!

As I have mentioned before, I am not that experienced when it comes to dramas, so I end up thinking that every drama I watch is the best thing ever. Of course, now that I am finished with Shut Up Flower Boy Band, I think that it is now better than any other drama I have seen…to an extent. I’ll get to why I have mixed feelings later.

img_128It is about this group of poor, gangster friends who get transferred to a posh rich school where they struggle to adjust to the new environment as well as keep their rock band together and successful. I really grew to love each member of Eye Candy, the name of their band. Each character is so different, and even though they start the drama in the exact same positions, slowly we find out that each person has a completely different back-story.

I always love when a plot has many subplots. It did take a while for the subplots to develop in this story, but it was very interesting to see how each band member’s own side stories slowly began to affect the main plot of the story and how they all play out in the end.

Since the characters are in a boy band, I found that literally each member reminded me of an actual celebrity:

Byunghee and NUE’ST JR:

tumblr_lzs1a3xLO61qgwih4o1_500JR-nuest-32724571-500-280

Ji Hyuk and B.A.P’s Yongguk:

Photo Apr 20, 10 59 22 AM

Do Il and Tokio Hotel’s Georg Listings:

DoIl15

Kyung Jong and Heo Young Saeng:

1556826808

Ha Jin and EXO’s Chanyeol:

sufbb-206

Hyun Soo and…well, INFINITE’s L 😛

fcqvzp

For you INFINITE fans, I thought Myungsoo’s acting was great in this. He ended up being my favorite character in the end. If you’re a fan of L, you should definitely watch this. He is one of the main characters and I found myself so emotionally invested in his storyline and character development. (One of the two times that I cried while watching this drama was during one of Myungsoo’s parts.)

Sidenote: BTS fans, if you’ve gone and read the English translation of BTS songs, you know how they sing about how difficult it is to be a kid in school? This drama is basically like an acted out version of No More Dream and Boy in Luv.

I absolutely loved seeing the dark, tough singer fall in love with the sweet, innocent girl

I absolutely loved seeing the dark and tough guy fall in love with the sweet, innocent girl

Okay, now for the serious talk. As much as I enjoyed this drama and loved the ending, I can’t honestly call it one of my favorite dramas for one reason: the big event that happens in episode 2. If you haven’t seen the drama, I won’t spoil it. If you have seen the drama, you know exactly what I’m talking about. That nearly made me stop watching the drama altogether. When I first started watching the drama, the story had so much potential to be an absolutely incredible drama with incredible characters and character development, but it all went down the drain in that episode. The potential plot points that pulled me into the first episode ended up not going anywhere and that really disappointed me. Even after completing the drama, while it was entertaining, I still can’t forgive the producers for completely changing the story like that.

So while Shut Up Flower Boy Band didn’t end up being the story I was hoping for, it was still a really good drama about friendship and following your dreams.

4095_1If any of you have Netflix, this drama is actually on there, but it is under the name Shut Up & Let’s Go.


Question of the Day:

Have you seen Shut Up Flower Boy Band? What was your favorite part about it?

 

One thought on “Blogging from A to Z Day 19: Shut Up Flower Boy Band

  1. Yesssssssssssssssss SUFBB! Totally agree about episode 2. Man I remember bawling my eyes out. T-T

    But I forgave the drama writers because the drama was just too awesome overall.

    lollipops…. 😀

    Like

What are your thoughts?

