Eric Nam “Ooh Ooh” Music Video Review

As if I didn’t already love him enough…

Song

This is a really fun song. From the teaser alone I could tell I was going to like this song. It’s really fun to sing along to, and it showcases Eric’s voice really well. The lines before each chorus have a really nice melody and his voice sounds particularly great there. As much as I enjoyed this song, I feel it did miss that little something extra to give it a perfect score, but that doesn’t stop it from being a great song as is. It’s different from his previous songs, but it still fits Eric’s style.

Score: 4.5/5

Cinematography

eric5Like the song, the video is also a lot of fun. It shows off Eric as a top singer, living the high life as his fans go crazy over his song. We see him acting all cool and confident in front of the camera next to scenes of him acting like his funny and crazy self. I love the glamour mixed with humor. It reflects the two sides of his personality: suave entertainer onstage and hilarious eric6dork offstage. The scene where he wears the green outfit looks the best in my opinion in terms of lighting and the actual faces he makes in that scene. His charisma just overflows in this video. All of the different scenes did make the video a bit chaotic at times, but overall it is an enjoyable video. I loved the cameo of Kevin, Brad, and Boa!

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

eric3I love the wardrobe of this video. A lot of K-pop artists have been using this 50s suit concept, but Eric Nam seems to be the first person to really pull it off and look natural with it. The green outfit looks amazing on him. I also really like the blue jacket with white pants and the white suit he wears when he and Hoya are sharing a drink. He looks eric1comfortable with this look, not like he’s putting on a character. The colors and patterns look great on him. It also reflects the image of Eric Nam as a high class performer.

I would give the wardrobe a perfect score, but I just can’t get myself to like that main plaid outfit. It looks too plain in comparison to the rest of the outfits and the busy pattern makes Eric Nam look like a blur in front of all of the flashing lights.

Score: 4.5/5

Dance

eric7Compared to other K-pop groups like VIXX or 100%, Eric Nam doesn’t give us a whole lot to look at in the dance. There is a lot of swaying and snapping, which does fit the genre of the song, but it really isn’t that interesting to watch. I love the main “ooh ooh” move though. It is creative and fun, and he almost literally spells out “ooh ooh” with his hands. Other than that one move, I would have liked to see more than just generic bouncing, but I understand that it’s hard with this style of song to get a really dynamic dance. I’m just happy that Eric branched out and tried dancing.

Score: 3/5

Overall, I really enjoyed this video. You can see from my reaction just how much fun I had while watching the video. I am also super proud of Eric Nam for including dance in his video. Just last year he made the comment, “Hopefully in the near future I can have different styles…we’ll see if dance comes in because I’m awful.” Eric, you’re definitely not awful. 🙂

Overall Final Score: 4/5


Question of the Day:

Have you seen EatYourKimchi’s review of this song? If you haven’t, especially if you’re a fan of Eric Nam, YOU HAVE TO WATCH IT! Seriously, you won’t regret it. It’s the best thing on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Eric Nam “Ooh Ooh” Music Video Review

  1. Very indepth review! Watching your reaction made me feel like I was talking to a good friend. (Plus I love how you tied your scarf). Keep the reactions!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

