Blogging from A to Z Day 4: Donghae & Eunhyuk

D is for Donghae & Eunhyuk!

dFirst of all: Happy birthday Eunhyuk!!!!!!! 😀

Donghae & Eunhyuk is the best thing that has ever happened to K-pop.

Come on, am I right or am I right?

Okay, it may not be the best thing that has happened to K-pop, but it’s the best thing that has happened to me. Donghae and Eunhyuk are my two ultimate biases, my absolute favorite people in K-pop, and when it was announced that they were going to be in a subgroup together, it was just too much for my fangirl heart to handle!

True to who they are, they released the hilarious “Oppa Oppa” and then surprised everyone by coming out with a soft and sweet “Still You.” After those two came out, I didn’t really expect anything else from my beloved EunHae, because it’s very characteristic of SM to promote a fun subgroup like this and then forget about them.

eunhae-21But then it was announced that they would have their own full Japanese album, which pretty much made my year. They came out with “Motorcycle,” which is probably the funniest thing I have ever seen from them. I just love how it’s almost like a parody of itself.

Now I wasn’t that crazy about song itself for “Motorcycle,” but when I heard the other songs on the album, I was blown away. They are all so good! It doesn’t sound like Super Junior. It sounds like Donghae & Eunhyuk. There is something about those songs that makes it distinctly EunHae’s own style, which is amazing! They aren’t just carbon copies of their group!

I like literally every single song on the album, but I’ll highlight the two that really represent how I feel about this whole comeback:

君が泣いたら (When You Cry)

This one does sound very Super Junior – but if it was the full group, this is a song KRY would sing, and maybe Donghae too, but definitely not Eunhyuk. Never in a million years would I have expected Donghae and Eunhyuk to sing a soft song like this. If they ever did, Donghae would have done all of the singing and Eunhyuk would rap. But listen to this! They are both singing, and so beautifully! I teared up the first time hearing this song. Not only is it a beautiful song, but Donghae and Eunhyuk both hold their voices so well in this and hit all of the notes perfectly! They even had Eunhyuk singing the highest note in the song. I said this in my post about “Still You,” but I am so incredibly proud of Eunhyuk. He has really come such a long way from this:

(Eunhyuk is in the darker hat. At 2:14 you can see Leeteuk trying to get Eunhyuk to sing and just how shy he is about singing. At this point in their career, he would only rap in their songs.)

Let It Go

No, this isn’t another Frozen cover. It’s Donghae & Eunhyuk singing a fun, exciting party song! This is one of my favorite songs on the album, because it is so different from the usual Super Junior song. That whole “Dee-dee-dee diddy-bang-bang” is something trendy enough that Super Junior would never use in one of their songs. I love how this so EunHae. They add the spice to Super Junior, and showcase it in their songs on this album. This song sounds like they are genuinely having a good time, in a way that is different from “Oppa Oppa” and “Motorcycle,” where they are more trying to entertain us and make us laugh than put forward a song that they actually have fun singing. I absolutely love seeing this side of EunHae.

The only drawback to this whole thing is that the title of their album, Ride Me, just sounds so wrong, especially coming from them.

I can only hope for now that they come out with a full Korean album. I would love to see these two perform on the music shows together again.

eunhae_gif_by_bloodplusrocks-d53g2ib

One thought on “Blogging from A to Z Day 4: Donghae & Eunhyuk

What are your thoughts?

