Blogging from A to Z Day 3: COUP D’ETAT

C is for COUP D’ETAT!

COf the albums that came out last year, G-Dragon’s “COUP D’ETAT” has to be one of my favorites (not my #1 favorite though. You’ll find out which one that is later this month 😉 ).

It showcased just how talented G-Dragon is, in rapping, singing, writing, and composing. It blows my mind to know that G-Dragon wrote every single song on this album. Some of them were collaborations of course, but he took part in every single one and is the exclusive writer of at least half of the songs.

If you read my review of the music video for COUP D’ETAT, you already know how much I love the song. TL;DR: I LOVE THIS SONG.

I don’t particularly like Niliria, but it is still noteworthy. First of all, Missy Elliott, a famous American rapper, is featured in it, which itself is impressive. I’m not into American rap at all, so just the fact that I know her name shows how famous she is. It’s really cool seeing reputable American artists collaborating with Korean artists.

One of my favorites on this album is R.O.D. featuring Lydia Paek. It featured good ole GD rapping, followed by a wonderfully sing-able chorus. I really love how Lydia Paek’s voice in this, and it’s really cool to hear GD’s own slow rap version of her chorus partway through the song.

Black is the perfect song for when you’re in a mood. You know, one of those moods where you just need to put those headphones in and sway your head to the rhythm of the song. I don’t know the exact meaning of the lyrics, but just the way it is sung and rapped, you can feel the darkness.

Who knew a song like Who You? would end up on an album like this? After the slowness of Black, Who You? picks the mood back up and gives us the fun G-Dragon that we know and love.

Now for my absolute favorite song on the album: Shake the World. This is probably one of my favorite songs of 2013. It really shows off G-Dragon’s skill as a rapper. The lyrics flow together with such an entertaining rhythm and the chorus is just addicting. Seriously, I could listen to this song over and over again and never get tired of it. (P.S. This is my workout JAM!)

Okay, I admit that I really didn’t like Michi GO! when I first heard it. After giving it a few more listens, however, I’ve grown to really like it. The funny, quirky, crazy style of G-Dragon’s rapping is just too addicting.

Crooked is the song we shout out to the world when we’ve just given up. I can’t explain exactly why, but I have always gotten an inspiring, “you can do it” feel from listening to the song. It’s G-Dragon’s “F*** the world” song, and it’s really his live performances of the song that has really made me grow to love it.

As soon as I heard Runaway, I loved it. G-Dragon’s careless singing throughout just grabs my attention. The pace of the song just makes it so much fun to listen to. It’s not soulful singing, but this style of “careless” singing has its own charm, and G-Dragon pulls it off really well in Runaway.

I honestly have never heard a K-pop song like I love It. It brings in yet another style in this album, but it still fits the indie sound of the rest of the songs. This is actually the one song that I don’t really like on the album, but it’s there for the people who like it.

You Do is another one of my favorites on the album, not for the sound of the song, but for the lyrics. After all of these “I hate everyone. Screw the system” songs, G-Dragon, in a very dark and almost mocking way raps about how you too can become famous like G-Dragon, Big Bang, or Lil Wayne. It’s the “Outro” of the album, and a perfect way to end G-Dragon’s ground-breaking album.

Window. This song completely took me by surprise. After all of this intense rapping and free singing, this song comes on. Who knew? Who knew that G-Dragon could produce such a soft voice and sing such a deep song?

It’s the perfect way to wind down from the roller coaster ride of COUP D’ETAT. Seriously, after I go through the whole album, Window ends and I just don’t know what to do with myself anymore.

G-Dragon has such a variety of talents, and we get to see all of them in one solid album.

2 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 3: COUP D’ETAT

What are your thoughts?

